We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The location of this hotel is great, right downtown. So it is easy to walk, shop,etc. Lots of construction made accessing some of the governmental buildings a challenge. The hotel itself is nice enough. Rooms are decent sized. Bathroom is large but shower is a bit tight. Had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Buffet was disappointing and rather expensive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDhiker
Patricia P, Manager at AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We apologise for the extensive construction taking place opposite our building. However it is other companies and it thus out of our hands. We are happy that you were satisfied with the quality of the product and we continuously work towards improving all aspects of our offering. We look...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel has a very nice finish, the bedrooms are nice and the bathrooms are wonderful. Larger than normal TV and nice finishes all round, however where it fails for me is the restaurant and service, mainly the food got me down a lot. After visiting the Lesotho version of these hotels I have to say I expected more, rightfully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maldwyn G
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The hotel itself is situated in the city centre so is very convenient and surprisingly not noisy despite its location. The rooms are spacious and comfortable[I was booked into a king size room]. Free unlimited wifi available. Breakfast is okay - selection of fruits, pastries and hot food. The only option for dinner is a buffet - no a la...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MonetaR
Cascais, Portugal
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Very reasonable bedroom, affordable, and excellent breakfast, but the restaurant its expensive. Shares the building with a small mall where you can have fastfood, currency exchange, supermarket (shoprite), and ATMs. You can buy handcrafted item across the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NunoReisPT
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Would choose this place for business trip as the location is in the city centre in the shopping mall, has its own casino. Food at the breakfast is better than average but service is far away from great. There was no welcome "hello" neither at the reception not at the breakfast. Very little pool at the top of the building....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ELizaveta_23
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This hotel was nothing to write home about. Décor was pleasant, if bland. There was a persistent bad smell in my room. The only good thing was the separate stand-alone shower in the bathroom. It's located in the city centre - not the greatest ambiance. Service was atrocious - especially in the conference centre.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nto92
Monrovia, Liberia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The hotel (now called Avani Hotel) is right in the city centre and, oddly, is entered through a shopping centre. The rooms are modern, well fitted out and a reasonable size. Beds are comfortable but the push-buttons to control room lighting are odd and don't work 100%. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is excellent. The restaurant only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This hotel is located at the centre of Windhoek, two storeys up from a shopping centre. Rooms are confortable, clean and well kept. Bar is well attended, reasonably priced and intimate. Restaurant (buffet) has a good quality food, good choice and fast service. All in all, not an unforgettable stay, but a good hotel to wind down after 5000 km...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucaviMilan_Italy
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

At first a bit worried since you access the hotel through a small mall, but turned out to be very nice. Staff is very helpful and courteous. As checking in we were presented with nice tea cups of hot chocolate, which was welcomed after a long travel day from Cape Town. Room appear to be redone very recently and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
Norway
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Stayed three nights earlier this month. Good service. However, be aware that they only accept laundry for same day delivery. This means that you will have to get up before 8 am on Saturday to deliver laundry as they deny to collect it the evening before. Nice breakfast buffet. Only buffet dinner available, no a la carte. Generally the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neotraveller99

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,228 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
193 reviews
4.7 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
337 reviews
5.6 km away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
1.5 km away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the hub of the city center. The newly re-branded AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino offers you a place to pursue both business and pleasure. All rooms are decorated to blend into their earthy surroundings and there's only one aspiration: to give you an unparalleled hospitality experience. So wherever you're coming from and wherever you're going, let the AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino in Windhoek be your first port of call. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino

Address: 129 Independent Ave, Windhoek 9000, Namibia (Formerly Kalahari Sands Hotel & Casino)
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Price Range: $167 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Sands Hotel Windhoek
Kalahari Sands Hotel And Casino
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on top floor have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles marcellg2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Enjoyed the Namibian sunrise and sunsets - get a room with an East or West view.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher up in the hotel: better view - east (or North) facing rooms have the best views of city architecture.”
 of 5 bubbles GustavGous, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I had best views of Windhoek, Hilton Hotel and the Namibian Supreme Court.from 14th floor rooms facing East & S. East”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethlS146TE, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great place for Business..”
 of 5 bubbles augustusg2017, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5