We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Chilli Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Red Chilli Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
warrnambool
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Red Chilli Hideaway. The meals were great with a lot of choices and the best brownie in town!!! The staff were friendly and the manager was able to help us . We went on a 3 day trip to Murchison Falls with viewing animals on the way once we got into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WarrnamboolBorneo
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I frequently travel to East Africa for work and as. I had previously stayed at their previous place (before they moved to the current location) I decided to stay here again. Firstly, Red Chilli is not your 3 or 4 star hotel in fact it is not a hotel at all! It's hostel-style venue with both dorm rooms, en-suites and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morts L
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As the first hostel I have stayed in, I was pleasantly surprised by the Red Chilli. There is an option to camp (own tent) stay in a dorm or upgrade to a private room. We did the latter. The room had a double bed and a single, complete with mosquito net, and a warm hot shower. The pool was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nichola S
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Nichola S I am fascinated - a shot of who?! Hopefully you are referring to our wonderful spirits of Uganda?! So glad you were pleasantly surprised by our Kampala hostel and hope to see you back here some day! All the best Debbie

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Red Chilies over two times during our stay in Uganda. Pretty basic hostel/hotel. Rooms are big and clean and the beds are comfortable. Cleanliness leaves noting to be desired. The pool is nice as well and very popular. The food is very average. Many options, not much flavor. Would stay again, the price is right.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amalie Schultz H
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Amalie Schultz H Many thanks for taking the time to review Red Chilli! Do please let us know via our website if you have any suggestions as to how to improve the food further as we do take pride in our menu. Best regards Debbie

Alexandria, Kentucky, United States
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Red Chili Hideaway in Kampala is By far a terrible place to stay. Here are some examples....The staff was abominably rude, except for one gentleman. We arrived post midnight, the desk staff was gone. The key was left with another guest and upon opening the door, we found the room was occupied by another guest. Yikes! We had to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeslieD73
DebbieHW17, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear LeslieD73 I am terribly sorry you were so disappointed by your stay with us at Red Chilli. As we are a budget lodge, up until now we have only had a member of staff "on call" throughout the night, rather than "on duty". Due to a couple of comments on Trip Advisor regarding this, we are now looking to...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I arrived from Amsterdam after midnight to start a tour the next morning, and the place was closed up tight. The gate guard showed me to my room where I realized water wasn't supplied. I didn't have much coming off the international flight at night, so this helpful man walked me all around the complex, waking someone up, until he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat9699
DebbieHW17, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Kat9699 Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. As we are a budget lodge, up until now we have had a member of staff "on call", rather than actually "on duty" for middle of the night arrivals - this was the person who was woken up by the guard. Due to a couple of comments...

Hanoi
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The stay was very comfortable and very chill for a backpacker hostel (which by now I often rather try to avoid). The Safari was a great deal and very enjoyable (great value for money!) We did the big five Safari tour with them and enjoyed it a great deal... Try the bean chilli and add Avocado...yumm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DowntownHanoi
DebbieHW17, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear DowntownHanoi Thanks very much for the great feedback - so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and safari with us! All the best Debbie

Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Expected a hotel based on a colleague's recommendation. Disappointed in that light... acceptable as a hostel. Definitely go for the en suite rooms... shared bathrooms were grungy, poorly lit and lacked hot water. Make sure you bring your own towels and wash cloths. Free wifi was available, but too weak in room or on first floor... had to sit in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EMCSALC
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear EMCSALC I am so sorry you had higher expectations of what we provide at Red Chilli but over the last 17 years of operations, we have never tried to present ourselves as a hotel. We are proud of our budget market and strive to provide friendly, value for money service for all those on a budget. Our prices range...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

First, this is a hostel, not a hotel. There are a few rooms with "in-suite baths" but most guests will be finding toilet and shower facilities down the hall. If you need a bath towel for a shower or a dip in the refreshing outdoor pool, you will need to "hire" one. Second, the food is very reasonable in cost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FunkyWanderer
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear FunkyWanderer Thanks so much for taking the time to review Red Chilli and also to explain for others a bit about what we do here! Towels are provided for those staying in ensuite rooms but as we are a budget hostel, for those staying in the more basic rooms with shared bathrooms or in dormitories, towels are extra. Glad...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

We went on the 3 day safari to Murchison falls and it was the highlight of the time I spent in Uganda. Great value, great guide and incredible scenery and wildlife. I would recommend this to anyone travelling to Uganda who wants to do a Safari. We were much less impressed with the red chilli accommodation in Kampala, where we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emi D
Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Emi D So great that you enjoyed your Murchison safari with us, but I was of course disappointed to hear you didn't think more of our Kampala Hideaway. July-September is our busiest time of year and I'm sure when you were feeling sick the last thing you needed was hoards of people. I wish you had been able to...

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
19.1 km away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 93 in Kampala
71 reviews
8.6 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 93 in Kampala
584 reviews
7.7 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#10 of 93 in Kampala
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#5 of 93 in Kampala
303 reviews
8.8 km away
Fat Cat Backpackers
Fat Cat Backpackers
#1 of 100 in Kampala
119 reviews
8.7 km away
Bushpig Backpackers
Bushpig Backpackers
#2 of 100 in Kampala
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Chilli Hideaway, Kampala Facilities: Great value accommodation: set in 5 leafy acres, in one of Kampala's quieter and safer suburbs (Butabika). We cater for self-campers and also provide dorm beds & private rooms (with or without en-suite facilities) Check-in from 2pm onwards and check-out by 10 am. Swimming Pool: 16m salt-water swimming pool with baby pool. Free of charge for our residents! Complimentary shuttle bus: operating between Red Chilli and the centre of town. We have a 10-seater minibus that departs Butabika at 9am, 12pm and 4pm daily and terminates at the Nakumatt Oasis Shopping Mall (next to Garden City Mall) on Kitante Road. Departs town at 10.30Am, 1.30Pm and 5.30Pm, also from Nakumatt Oasis. Please book ahead at reception or by email/phone to avoid disappointment as we can only take 10 passengers on each shuttle. Please note - the driver may not deviate from the set route! Special hire taxis can be arranged on request at any time and are available on site at Butabika. Fully stocked bar: open daily from 7am until midnight, with booze for sale from 10am. Lots of communal areas to kick back and relax - including a beer terrace and a separate pool-side bar. A la carte restaurant: serving excellent breakfasts, lunches, dinners and snacks from 6:45am until 9.30Pm. Sunday from 6:00pm -9:00pm, is a pool-side BBQ night. Mouth-watering pizzas are baked in our wood-burning pizza oven outside Mon - Sat, from 6:00pm- 9:00pm. We can offer special rates and incentives for group meals - please contact us for further details. Our inside bar, restaurant and all accommodation areas are non-smoking, however smoking is permitted on the beer terrace and at the pool bar. FREE wireless internet access (with connections available for laptops) in our reception/internet lounge area only. Available between the hours of 7am and 11pm and subject to connection. Our systems are on a timer and will shut down automatically at approx 11pm. We also have one public internet stations and a cable connection. Please understand that the internet connection in Uganda is far from perfect, and at times is very slow and erratic! Satellite TV: Offering sports and news updates in the bar area, and a choice of viewing in the residential TV room. Look out for special movie nights! Pool table, dart board and table tennis: available in return for a small (or large!) Donation to our chosen charity: The Steve Willis Memorial Fund & a security deposit of 20,000/= for the darts, balls, cues, paddles etc. The deposit is refundable, providing the items are returned in one piece and not damaged! Self-Catering Kitchen & laundry block: located in our campsite for those who would prefer to self-cater. We have a basic camp kitchen, equipped with sink, cooker, fridge & external barbecues and picnic tables - but please note, we do not provide cutlery and crockery. You must provide your own cooking utensils. Separate laundry room available next door. Library: We have a small library and welcome book swaps in return for a small donation to the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please ask at reception/bar. Board games: we have a small selection for use, free of charge, from behind the bar. Laundry: A hand-wash laundry service is available for residents for a small charge or there is a designated self-catering laundry block. Please ask at reception/bar for more details. No underwear, shoes or totally filthy clothing to be handed in to be washed! We cannot guarantee that the laundry will be dry on the same day, due to weather conditions. Please note that if you hand in white clothing, it will definitely be returned to you cleaner, but we cannot guarantee it will be whiter! Office Facility: we offer printing, scanning & photocopying facilities in the administration office for a donation to our charity- the Steve Willis Memorial Fund. Please note the office may not always be open - either outside of office hours or when we are out receiving deliveries etc. Just ask at the bar if the door's closed! Consumables: for sale at the bar, including cigarettes, snacks and drinks. We also sell shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste and brushes, mozzie spray, postcards, stamps and other useful items at reception. For more choice, you will find several shops, markets & restaurants located within a short walking distance from Red Chilli Hideaway. Back-up generator and inverter: these keep things ticking over when the power fails, as it so often does in Uganda! When we are running on inverter or generator, please note only the lights are connected to the back-up power supply; plug sockets and fans in the rooms and bar area are not. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Chilli Hideaway

Address: 13-23 Bukasa Hill View Road | Butabika, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $7 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Red Chilli Hideaway Hotel Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Chilli Hideaway staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Auckland, New Zealand
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Kampala, Uganda
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Red Chilli Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get an "en suite" room. If none available, go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles EMCSALC, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the courtyard caught the free lobby wifi. But this could also invite party noises from the courtyard and from neighbours.”
 of 5 bubbles FunkyWanderer, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Really great tours but poorly maintained, noisy and budget level accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles 496emid, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“go for an en-suite double room - they are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 139gregh, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“a few ensuite rooms have a porch as well.”
 of 5 bubbles 588erinh, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5