We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Chilli Hideaway

419 reviews
Save
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (18)
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good49%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“murchison falls”(46 reviews)
“red chili”(186 reviews)
“free shuttle”(14 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pool
Restaurant
Poolside Bar
Laundry Service
Shuttle Bus Service
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (419)Write a Review
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
125
181
57
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
125
181
57
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurchison fallsred chilifree shuttlefree nightbig safarirest campgreat safarishared facilitiesensuite roombackpacker hostelhot watersafari tripshared bathroompizza ovenback packersbunk bedsrooms are basic
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Used Red Chilli as a base. There are two wheelchair bathrooms-one at reception and one for double rooms with shared bath. A ramp into main building. Rooms with ensuite were suitable if you have assistance.There is a huge step to get to these units and...More

Thank wheeltraveller
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Red Chilli Hideaway for a couple of nights before our trip to Murchison. The hotel is fine - exactly as described. It was clean, we had an en suite room with a terrace, food was good and overall good value. The absolute...More

Thank echo10
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Twin room very basic with bedding that felt damp. Cold shower in a block outside. Food quality poor. Crocs restaurant round the corner an excellent option. Middle of nowhere. Staff friendly. No need to say much more reallyMore

1  Thank superscaryshadowman
Response from Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli HideawayResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear superscaryshadowman I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by Red Chilli. If you stayed in one of our twin rooms, I am not sure why you were showering in a block outside - we have hot showers at the end of...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Good facilities, great ambiance. Place to relax in chaotic and busy Africa. Swimmingpool, garden, bar and restaurant are helpfull for a good holiday feeling. Friendly staff and good value for money. Don't miss out on the tours they offer.

Thank Thijs v
Response from Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli HideawayResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Thijs v Thanks so much for taking the time to review Red Chilli. Happy that you were happy! All the best Debbie

Reviewed 27 December 2017

For those of us who travel for long periods of time, the Red Chilli Hideaway offers great value. It's quiet, has dependable, kind staff, and the food is good. It's a safe place to lay your head and prepare for the safari adventures of Uganda.

Thank Dean J
Response from Debbie W, Owner at Red Chilli HideawayResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dean J Thanks so much for your kind review - we always love having you stay! Please come back and visit us again soon! Best Debbie

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345678
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (18)
Dining (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ExploringKiwisNZ
10 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Debbie W | Property representative |
Dear SarahChan I am so sorry for the huge delay in replying to this question but I never received a notification from Trip Advisor about it! If you are booked on one of our Murchison or QE safaris, we provide a free nights... More
0
Votes
Taani312
16 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Debbie W | Property representative |
Hi Taani312! Thanks for the message. We provide a laundry service and we also have a laundry area if you prefer to do your own, but we don't have driers so drying time depends on the weather. Usually dry within the day... More
0
Votes
Mimi C
6 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Debbie W | Property representative |
Hi Mimi C Entebbe airport/town is around 50km from our place in Kampala. The journey can take anything from one hour to three, depending on time of arrival and city traffic. If you don't fancy public transport you can... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Pay the extra for a private ensuite room. It's worth it."
Read review
"En-suite private rooms at the end of the building nearest the pool have verandas/balconies and are a great..."
Read review
"Good to overlook the garden and swimming pool....."
Read review
"Get an "en suite" room. If none available, go somewhere else."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing