We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

571 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Kampala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 528: English reviews
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2015

This was my second stay at this hotel. Given that it had been about a year and "new management" had just taken over around my first stay, I thought I'd give it a shot again. Not much has changed. Rooms are still tired, bathrooms still old, and I had a welcome party in form of a baby cockroach in my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tjsmart
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, it is an extremely unfortunate experience that you had and not one that we aspire to provide to our guests. We do apologize for this and hope it does not tarnish you perception of the brand. Management is aware of the various concerns mentioned and renovation plans are in progress. Thank you... More 

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2015

My friend and self stayed here for 3 nights this month. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no porter or bell boy to help us with our luggage. No welcome drink was offered. When we commented on the same, it was sent to our room. We had requested for hard pillows at the time of booking, but these... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank khush79
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your great feedback. Complimentary welcome drinks and bottled water in the room are provided to every guest and it is regrettable that this was not the case during your stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and your comments shall be addressed to ensure a similar scenario is not repeated. Thank you for recognizing the particular... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2015

The hotel has recently changed the management and from the place you stay at just because your company booked you there, it has turned into an attractive experience with great service, nice staff and exquisite food offer. Among other improvements they have refurbished all public area toilets, which is one of important pieces of puzzle. Previous management team was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
Tendo L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, It is truly a pleasure have provided this transformed experience, indeed there were challenges in the past and there are still lots of challenges however we constantly work to improve things in order to provide a guest experience like yours to every single guest who stay with us. Thank you for the great review and we trust... More 

Glion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Since my last visit in 2001 I could see that the rooms have improved a lot - still small and with antiquated plumbing, but getting there. Breakfast felt chaotic and messy and certainly could be improved on. Traditionally it was one of the the few places in town where one could stay - I am not sure whether there are... More 

Helpful?
Thank CeesF
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for returning to the Sheraton Kampala Hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us continuously work on improving the property in order to provide a great experience to all of our guests. As you noted from your previous visit there were several improvements and we thrust that you will notice more improvements on your... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Stayed here in March 2015 for 2 nights/3 days for a work visit. Staff couldn't be more helpful, breakfast is awesome, restaurants, bar and in-room dining all very good. Swimming pool area and gym are also ideal. Men's and Ladies gym, fitness centre etc. Close to business district. Will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dougalai
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We greatly appreciate the positive review and although you mentioned you don't stay at Sheraton Hotel's very often but are an SPG Member, you can still earn points at other brands under the Starwood family. We hope you will visit Kampala again, Best regards, More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I have stayed in the Sheraton Hotel in Kampala a few times before, but not for a couple of years. It is a typical Sheraton: large hotel, good facilities, and so on. The rooms are spacious and clean, with a/c, TV, wifi, etc. There are various shops and restaurants, as well as business and leisure facilities. All in all, I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cas A
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great recommendation of the Sheraton Kampala. You did mention a couple of issues that were not to your satisfaction and we apologize for that, we have had a few challenges with the A/C systems recently however our technicians have been working to resolve the problem. Internet connectivity used to be a major challenge... More 

United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2015

I moved into the Sheraton after being robbed at the Golf Course Hotel. The Sheraton is within the same price range as the Golf Course Hotel, but definitely in a completely different league. The Sheraton has good security and I felt very safe. The rooms are comfortable. The service was good. The food was good. The Sheraton Hotel will be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review of the Sheraton Kampala. We are please your had a pleasurable experience after the unfortunate incident at another property. Guest security is very important to us and that is why we have safes installed in each room. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

Well, I've heard that Serena is the best hotel in Kampala but I would not rate Sheraton low. I haven't stayed in Serena but my stay in Sheraton was good. The staff was very friendly, good hospitality, good food in the restaurants and comfortable stay. No complaints! Buffet breakfast in Victoria restaurant was really good. In the evening you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Akhil7j
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience at Sheraton Kampala. We recently introduced a new Executive Chef to the Management team and this among many other changes is part of the reason the food at the hotel as improved tremendously. We now have arguably the best breakfast in town! Thank you once again... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2015

The hotel ran out of paper on their fax machine and I had to waste hours checking out because the payment details hadn't gone through and they hadn't bothered to put in a new roll. At the reception desk I was treated like a bill dodger by the smirking, unhelpful concierge who treated the whole experience as if it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wolveryeti13
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We wish to express our sincere apologies for the situation that unfolded and it is quite regrettable. A continued emphasis on training will help all our staff deliver on the service that is expected of us to prevent the recurrence of a similar situation. With regards, More 

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2015

This hotel is looking a little tired now and the common areas and rooms need a refresh. The staff are super friendly. However, there are a few negatives, food is average at best, the bar stays open late and can be noisy if you are on the wrong side of the hotel - I asked to move after the first... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your belated review, however some of the issues mentioned have been rectified. With a host of internationally trained chef's the Sheraton Kampala now has one of the most talked about breakfasts in town as well as dinner buffets with a selection of various cuisines from around the world. We sincerely hope you will stay... More 

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.5 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 93 in Kampala
583 reviews
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#13 of 93 in Kampala
198 reviews
0.2 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 93 in Kampala
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#10 of 93 in Kampala
170 reviews
0.9 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kampala
224 reviews
0.9 km away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#16 of 93 in Kampala
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $316 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Kampala Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Kampala Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Asked for renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles BWK823, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Absolutely go for Club room!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles ahanoubon, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't worry about it”
 of 5 bubbles 888shelbyd, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on lower floors are older and grungier while rooms on higher floors are newer, cleaner, and brighter.”
 of 5 bubbles kack13034, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles chikta2006, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay