We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
This hotel should be avoided at all costs
Menus and bills in local currency - UGX (Ugandan Shillings)
At check out price converted to US$ at 10% below market rate - no notice that is the rate they use - just a rip off
The above is certainly more than true, in my experience over many years now. The staff are all exceedingly friendly and only too willing to help resolve any issue brought to the attention of management.
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This business uses tools provided by TripAdvisor (or one of its official Review Collection Partners) to encourage and collect guest reviews, including this one.
Thank Christopher W
Response from Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel AfricanaResponded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comment...we truly appreciate.
Hoping to host you soon.
Hotel Africana is not very new. The rooms are clean but somewhat old-fashioned. The food is rather goos, but the service (in the restaurant) is very slow. The staff is not unfriendly but does not have a really client oriented attitude. I had to change...More
Response from Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel AfricanaResponded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your above comment.
First, kindly accept my apologies for the disturbed night you had from the leakage. As you mentioned, it was a severe rainfall that night, nevertheless, i wont blaming it on the rains but guarantee you that the area...More
Hotel is fallen in the area which is between less than average to average, all hotel is non-smoking area even in an open air outlets.
Food is average
Rooms are less than average and need more effort to have a sufficient maintenanced and regular cleaning,...More
Response from Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel AfricanaResponded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comment that is much appreciated.
We are working in making changes in our rooms and hotel in general and once done, i believe you will be pleased with the outcome.
Once again, we appreciate your comments.
This hotel needs a serious update! Plush bedding? Now that I think of it I think we spent 3 nights on just a box spring. I have never slept in a more uncomfortable bed. The bathroom was in need of serious updating. The tile needed...More
Response from Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel AfricanaResponded 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for your comments.
We appreciate your views and do apologies in areas where we fell short in giving exemplary service.
The hotel is doing some renovations but this is in bits and will take sometime.
The cameras in place are actually for the...More