We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Africana

Save
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (9)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
Overview
  • Excellent11%
  • Very good37%
  • Average32%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
27
74
64
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
27
74
64
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are spacious and cleanroom service isairport transferenjoyed my staykampala cityinternet connectionshakiraprojectorgymsecuritytaxismaintenanceweekendsnets
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel should be avoided at all costs Menus and bills in local currency - UGX (Ugandan Shillings) At check out price converted to US$ at 10% below market rate - no notice that is the rate they use - just a rip off

Thank T L
Reviewed 1 week ago

The above is certainly more than true, in my experience over many years now. The staff are all exceedingly friendly and only too willing to help resolve any issue brought to the attention of management.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher W
Response from Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel AfricanaResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comment...we truly appreciate. Hoping to host you soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Africana is not very new. The rooms are clean but somewhat old-fashioned. The food is rather goos, but the service (in the restaurant) is very slow. The staff is not unfriendly but does not have a really client oriented attitude. I had to change...More

Thank geertv516
Response from Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel AfricanaResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings... Thank you for your above comment. First, kindly accept my apologies for the disturbed night you had from the leakage. As you mentioned, it was a severe rainfall that night, nevertheless, i wont blaming it on the rains but guarantee you that the area...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is fallen in the area which is between less than average to average, all hotel is non-smoking area even in an open air outlets. Food is average Rooms are less than average and need more effort to have a sufficient maintenanced and regular cleaning,...More

Thank Saint7266
Response from Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel AfricanaResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comment that is much appreciated. We are working in making changes in our rooms and hotel in general and once done, i believe you will be pleased with the outcome. Once again, we appreciate your comments.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel needs a serious update! Plush bedding? Now that I think of it I think we spent 3 nights on just a box spring. I have never slept in a more uncomfortable bed. The bathroom was in need of serious updating. The tile needed...More

Thank lisas1313
Response from Shali Priscilla S, Front Office Manager at Hotel AfricanaResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your views and do apologies in areas where we fell short in giving exemplary service. The hotel is doing some renovations but this is in bits and will take sometime. The cameras in place are actually for the...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Kampala
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$109 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kampala
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
US$109 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kampala
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (9)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nigel T
17 October 2016|
Answer
Response from José M |
The answer is nothing. It's 3.45am of a lovely Monday night Cannot sleep. Regards
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Stay somewhere else"
Read review
"Electrics should be checked more frequently, as often fridges don't work, light bulb don't work on..."
Read review
"Check the room carefully before checking in."
Read review
"beautiful view and nice amenities"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing