We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Ruch

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Ruch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ruch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

The room was very nice and clean but I think a little over priced as it had no toiletries not even a small soap which was a little disappointing considering the price the room we had was 221.The breakfast was sparse and the service not very good or friendly.

Thank PerthJill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

The rooms look nice on the website but when you get there, the towels are dirty the bathroom in 207 wasn't very clean, very few sockets, terrible service. The rooms are spacious as shown on the website. It's too expensive for such sub standard services. We pay extra 10$ for breakfast that is stale

Thank julietStaines

Travellers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Budget hotel that reflects service, comfort and cleanliness in price. No desk in room, bathroom needs a good scrub, looks like an old run down hotel. Not the cleanest place. My last stay here for sure. Breakfast poor.

Thank joseph o
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You chose the most basic and cheapest room (with minimum amenities) at our Hotel and were shown this room before occupation. In fact, you insisted on the cheapest $50 room the moment you stepped into the Hotel. You demanded for a desk on the next day and were politely offered the option to upgrade to a room with a desk... More 

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2015

It's a nice hotel in the heart of Kampala close to the Intercontinental. I was staying there for a couple of nights prior to my volunteering project. The staff is delightful and always trying to do the best for you. There's also a small restaurant where you can order pizza or other dishes, not so expensive and good food. I... More 

Thank Hfinke
Level Contributor
209 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2015

When in Kampala, the Hotel Ruch is a good place to stay when looking for affordable, safe, clean and reliable lodgings. For travelers who leave early in the mornings and don't need breakfast and airconditioning, the hotel offers clean and comfortable basic rooms with en-suite functional toilets/shower at $50 per night. For those who spend more time outside the hotel... More 

1 Thank Luc V
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2014

This is a great central location near to Hotel Serena and the Imperial Hotel. It is a safe area and is also walking distance to 2 or 3 malls. The hotel is basic. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean but the sheets looked liked they'd had better days. So too did the curtains. But as I say it... More 

3 Thank Davidgirlinguk
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Clean hotel, good staff but pretty basic hotel with a high price tag for its amenities. Restaurant did not offer much, but mainly Indian food. Rooms were smaller and very basic but very clean. Hotel has good gardens for relaxing and is in a quiet and serene location. Good for a short stopover or just hiding and relaxing.

Thank Peter L
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review ; I believe you stayed in our standard rooms. These are rooms for single persons with double beds, and are our best value for money at only $65 per night keeping in mind the location and the surrounding security. We have a range of different rooms to suit different budgets, from $65 to $110... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good bits - Very large rooms with comfortable beds. Internet works quite well in certain areas around the hotel (for Ugandan standards). 15 minute walk to mall with a cafe that offers exceptional coffee and the best hot chips - Cafe Pap. The pizza served at the in-house restaurant was really really good, especially the spinach one. We had to... More 

2 Thank smwatts
Voronezh, Russia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The maint thing about it is location. Just behind Sheraton. Serena is close. It looks kinda old outside, but the rooms are in very good condition. Garden City Center, Bubbles, Mideterrano are 5-7 minutes driving.

1 Thank Maxim_Yakushev
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Not worth the money! When we arrived at the hotel, we have booked a room without AC. We went up to our room, and we found a very mediocre, relatively clean and very simplistic room. The washroom looked old, the towels were old too, and there was absolutely no garbage can in the room. First disappointment: even though the room... More 

1 Thank Timeless_Explorer
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You booked a simple Deluxe room without AC at $90 per night, and were given the option to view the room before checking in. On asking for a room with AC, your request was conveyed to the General Manager on whose instructions the reception upgraded you to a Super-Deluxe immediately at no extra cost. We find your claim of having... More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
View from Room (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (19)
Room/Suite (9)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
0.7 km away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 93 in Kampala
16 reviews
0.2 km away
Mosa Court Suites
Mosa Court Suites
#59 of 93 in Kampala
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Express Hotel
Holiday Express Hotel
#36 of 93 in Kampala
35 reviews
0.3 km away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#53 of 93 in Kampala
29 reviews
6.2 km away
Macsedo Resort Hotel
Macsedo Resort Hotel
#67 of 93 in Kampala
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ruch is a hotel in central Kampala where a warm welcome and a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed. Being a no-frills Hotel, we pride ourselves on providing hotel accommodation in central Kampala, Uganda at competitive rates starting from only $70 per night. We are only 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Kampala with easy access to public transport. Hotel Ruch is in between two 5* Hotels in Kampala, the Sheraton & Serena Hotels ; The city centre, super-markets and shopping centres are less than a 5 min's drive away. Unwind and relax in serene wild-life themed Uzuri Gardens. An experience unmatched by any hotel in central Kampala ; no noise, no distractions, Just you, your thoughts and nature. Excite your taste buds with delicious curries & naans baked in a clay Tandoor, YUM! With a 6-page menu & quality beyond any of the hotels in Kampala, you will be spoilt for choice! We are located in a safe, secure & central area of the Kampala CBD and has ample secure parking for over 30 cars. Relax, have a coffee or read a book all under a traditional hand-thatched roof. We are one of the few Hotels in Kampala giving back to the community by employing local crafts-men. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: $64 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ruch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay here, all rooms terrible”
 of 5 bubbles Vanessa_Pearce, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms near the réception for fast wifi”
 of 5 bubbles mangalataty, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I liked the North Wing”
 of 5 bubbles chrisodhiambo18, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“221 was clean”
 of 5 bubbles PerthJill, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you are not a fan of Indian Cuisine, take a stroll down to Sheraton or Fang Fang located about 300 metres.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterL693, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5