We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lusaka Hotel

Hotels.comUS$49*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$62*
US$49*
US$62*
US$49*
US$62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lusaka Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of The Lusaka Hotel
 Click to rate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here as a stop over. Picked it because it was cheap and wasn't expecting much. Things that stood out, it wasn't very clean, bed and furniture was old. Bathroom wasn't very clean, didn't have a shower only a bath tub that was stained and damaged. Was only provide a bar of soap. wi-fi was only downstairs in the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamglenn
Stephen P, Manager at The Lusaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We have noted with gratitude your positive and honest comments and observations in respect of your brief stay at The Lusaka hotel. It is deeply regrettable that we did not meet your expectation. We wish to reassure you of our continued efforts to improve our services to be able to meet our customer’s...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 February 2017

My two night booking was not there( I booked three days in advance & it was confirmed): When they finally find it I was I can only stay one night because on the following day they're fully booked. The manager promised to "try" & find me somewhere for the same rate (was disappointing after a long trip). We were then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freedom N
Stephen P, Manager at The Lusaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued client, Management and staff at The Lusaka Hotel would like to appreciate your effort to make our hotel the best destination in the CBD. Your comments are very useful and deserve consideration. I’m encouraged that our internet was amazing and that breakfast was okay. However, we are seriously disturbed over the inconveniences that you experienced regards your booking...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Absolutely shocking experience,internet never works, Cockroaches all over, bathroom toilet does not work. outdated and sightly unpleasant rooms. TV does not have clear reception and the Beds were very uncomfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richie0711
Stephen P, Manager at The Lusaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of The Lusaka Hotel and indeed on my own, it is with regret to hear that your experience during your stay with us was below standard. May i begin by registering our gratitude to you for your honesty comments? It is through such constructive criticism and observation that we are helped us to improve our services....

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Room was clean but basic, had to sort the flush on the toilet as the water kept running.The breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful.Beware of location it is very central but traffic on Cairo road is a total nightmare at the rush hours. The taxi driver who seems to operate from the hotel is extremely helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skin12
Stephen P, Manager at The Lusaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is with great excitement that you took time to review your stay with The Lusaka Hotel. Management would like appreciate that you found our rooms clean, breakfast enjoyable and that our staff were very helpful. Additionally, we are happy that you found our central location convenient due to our proximity to the bus station and of course...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Booked for 2 nights in January and was confirmed by email, travelled over 10 hours from Malawi by road only to be told that they could not check me into my room as the person who has access to hotels internet bookings was not around. After half an hour , I was allocated a room. The room was basic and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Franciss132
Stephen P, Manager at The Lusaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The Lusaka Hotel management appreciates your time taken to review our property. It is however with great concern to know that your stay was marred with a number of challenges especially after taking a long journey by road. Management does not take pleasure in what transpired. We regret that this predicament started with the delayed check in process...

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Reliable basic and clean hotel in Lusaka at reasonable rate.The staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast is included. Noise from the street could be a problem as it is on a busy street and conversations from passers by seemed to carry into the room. Ask for a quiet room if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cb1002014
Stephen P, Manager at The Lusaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at The Lusaka Hotel. We are excited that our central location in the CBD was rewarding and worthy your next stay. It is unfortunate that street noise was a challenge. However, the streets are mainly busy during day time but empty in the evening which gives you a peaceful...

Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Nice! And not so expensive!! I'm sure next time I'm gonna stay again in same hotel. Parking, swimming pool, security. Nice bar. The food was great, you can even have lunch and dinner there. Hotel located on central road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evgeniy G
Stephen P, Manager at The Lusaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear our valued guest. Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your previous visit to Lusaka. Further, we are encouraged to know that you found our central location convenient and our comfortable rooms and fresh food to be of great value for your money....

Ahmedabad
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Average, we explored the possiiblity of staying at this hotel, but were not very happy with the location and the style so did not prefer to stay here, instead we chose another hotel which we found more appealing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank drrajnishpatel
Solwezi, Zambia
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Lusaka hotel is one of the oldest Hotels in the city for those who are not fussy and those that don't like traffic jams this is the ideal location to do your business and fly back to your own Town.The furniture and decor is dated and looks the part .The one thing that counts in its favour is the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Its looks god and specialy with good price. Its depends which room you would like. I took a room with double bed. The room good, only no freeze and tv not working. I did report to reception but got strange explanation :))) Anyway... The hotel on central road of Lusaka, you will not get lost:)) Any time atound available some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evgeniy G
Stephen P, Manager at The Lusaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The Lusaka Hotel team is delighted that you took time off your business schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you found our central location beneficial and the price for the room category of your choice to be of good value for your money. It is however regrettable...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.0 km away
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
7.6 km away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 31 in Lusaka
86 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Chamba Valley Exotic Hotel
2.1 km away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 31 in Lusaka
367 reviews
2.0 km away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lusaka Hotel is the oldest hotel in Lusaka, dating back to 1914. It is centrally located on Cairo Road, with a large secure car park. It boasts its own shopping mall, several boutiques, a business center, a hair salon and a pharmacy.The Hotel is conveniently close to banks, shops,bureaus and taxis.Our central location enables our customers to be well placed for business activities in any direction.The bustling Cairo Road empties at night leaving you to enjoy a quiet sleep in our specious neatly appointed eighty en-suit rooms.The Hotel has two well-loved restaurants, one indoors, one at the poolside affording a good meeting point and fine dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lusaka Hotel

Address: Cairo Rd | P.O. Box 30044, Lusaka, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Price Range: $74 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lusaka Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lusaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lusaka Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Harare, Zimbabwe
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Lusaka Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure that your air conditioner works, when you book in, particularly in spring and summer! And start your journey's 30 minutes early, as Cairo Road is very busy! Their are also great restaurants at Manda Hill Mall and Arcades Shopping Centre - a few minutes away by local taxi.”
BrianVMoore, 29 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Try to get a room towards the rear of the hotel”
Jamesww17, 29 Sep 2013 | Read review
“If you don't like the first room they show you, ask to look at others. The management is pragmatic and will price the room to attract your interest”
FulmerJohn, 16 Jul 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Hotels.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$49
Booking.comUS$62
TripAdvisorUS$49
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates