We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Save
Share
Traveller (288)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (22)
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good47%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“nice hotel”(21 reviews)
“swimming pool”(15 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
5 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
91
194
103
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
91
194
103
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the gardennice hotelswimming poolclub roombreakfast spreadan oasisbusy streetnice staydustembassiestrekchaosrelaxationeverestretreat
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like most of the reviewers on this hotel, I too made the booking thinking it is a part of Shangril-La chain. Generally I read reviews on Trip Advisor but when booking this hotel, I was comfortable enough due to good experience of other Shangri-La properties...More

1  Thank Chamidissa
Response from Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel KathmanduResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. We are really glad to hear that you liked our rooms, food services and the landscaping of our Shambala Garden as well. Hope to see you back soon. Thank you. Samir

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were there for Resturant .It was raining in the afternoon and we were in the garden table having our dine. Eerything was perfect from services to relish . Though we were not nearby waiter everytime we had to call them , indication by waving...More

1  Thank Anish R
Response from Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel KathmanduResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel Shangri~La, Kathmandu! Thank you for a wonderful review and we are glad that you liked our landscaping, service and the food as well. We have also noted the issue and have already made an initiative in changing the situation as...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure how this hotel is listed as five star. Poor service and management. I had conversation with staffs and they said they do not get any holiday and many of them are intern who do not get single penny for their work also....More

1  Thank Johnath0n
Response from Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel KathmanduResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortfall in service during your stay with us. I have noted your inputs on hotel upkeep and the staff as well. We are working on the improvement process and assure you...More

Reviewed 6 July 2018

I stayed here with my family for 5 nights / 6 days, booked two adjacent rooms in their properties at Kathmandu and Pokhra. The WORST STAY of my life so far.... a) The hotel doesn’t belong to Shangri-la group. While, booking this fact was not...More

Thank Tarunkalra
Response from Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel KathmanduResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your comments are well noted from the time you have talked with the member of the senior staff and assure you that you experience the best on your next visit. Best Regards, Samir Banerjee

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We checked in late today at 11 not expecting what we will see in next few mins. Escorted to our room and what we saw is shocking. Tiny claustrophobic and stinking room with bugs and dirty toilet. We booked for 2 king size bedded rooms...More

Thank CHEF_AKSHAY
Response from Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel KathmanduResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Noted your comments. We always value our guest comment. So that we can look into improvements. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Best Regards, Samir Banerjee

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#37 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#37 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (288)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (22)
Pool & Beach (15)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
whirlwindexplorer
13 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Guildev-Paris | Reviewed this property |
Beautiful location and excellent restaurant.
1
Vote
Faith B
9 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Samir B | Property representative |
Dear Guest, Thank you for your query. Conferences at Shangri~La Hotel, Kathmandu offers facilities of video conferencing, internet access ,audio /visual equipment with technical support and 9x12 ft screen.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Book a room on the 4th Floor (Club Rooms) and request garden view. All equal numbered rooms are with garden..."
Read review
"Make sure your room does not have a rat. Get a room with the garden view."
Read review
"Be prepared to pay for WIFI extra"
Read review
"Garden view rooms are probably quieter than street view unless there's a party in the garden."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing