We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Moonlight

Show Prices
#48 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Moonlight
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Moonlight
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here before and after trekking. Very nice and helpful staff, arranged guided trip in the city, transfer to/from airport, as well as a good guidecompany for trekking. Clean and nice rooms, beutiful and quiet garden in the restaurant-area, central in Thamel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unn H
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Unn, We got impressed with your successful trekking. We hope sure you must have discovered our Kathmandu City as well. Thanks for making our garden a lovely place by your presence! see you again! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

A perfect hotel for some nights in Kathmandu. Central location and walking distance to all Thamel activities and shopping. Friendly staff that help you with all you could wish for. Nice quiet garden where you can relax with a tea or beer after a busy day in Kathmandu. Nice breakfast buffet and a standard menu for lunch and dinner. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olav A
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Olav, We are proud, you found a perfect Hotel for your stay. Thanks for discovering things around. We were honored to serve you with our hospitality. Wish you great days ahead! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the central tourist area of Thamel. Very enjoyable and quiet garden away from the loud and dusty streets. The food in the restaurant is very good, and since the kitchen is visible from the restaurant, you can follow the hectic activity there. The rooms are of good, european standard, and kept nice and clean like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dag H
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Dag Namaste, We wish you are having a great time. We are happy to know, you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight. You are right, the kitchen was designed in such a way, that every activities inside can be observed by the guest outside. We are really honored by your recommendation! See you soon and cheers' Dev Duwadi

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 4 November 2016

My group of 28 medical professionals traveling in Nepal doing mission work had reservations at this hotel that were made 8 months prior to our arrival. We arrived to be told that we were being booted out because another large group staying at the hotel had a cancelled flight and needed to extend their stay. Rather than moving the group...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joe G
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Joe and friends, We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience! We are proud of your missions and contributions to Nepal. We felt guilty rather than being shameful of not being able to accommodate you. Actually on the day of your arrival, there was a group accommodating with in 12 rooms to be checked out for their flight to Lukla....

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Everyone in this hotel: from MR. Utam, CEO to security guards, including driver, even tour guides hired by this hotel can only be summed up by one word: AMAZING. Nothing is too troublesome, nothing asking for too much of everyone! The head chef is so absolutely kind to us: as our stay includes dinner (4 dinners for 3 nights stay!!!),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aiko A
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Thanks Aiko for your lovely review on our Hotel. We are very happy to hear your words. We are greatly honored with your compliments. We would love to see you again at Hotel Moonlight. Have a great time ahead. Regards' Dev Duwadi

Bursins, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel when we arrived in Kathmandu and because we were very happy with it, we decided to come back there after our trek in Pokhara. Hotel and rooms are clean, wifi is fast, breakfast and coffees are very good. It is an excellent price / quality ratio. The fact that made this place so nice is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joelbernard718
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Thanks Joel Bernard for your great review on our hotel. We were very honored with your stay with us. We are very grateful with your words about Hotel Moonlight to the world. We are honored by your visit to Nepal and discovery to Kathmandu and nearby places. Thanks again for you time to Nepal and Hotel Moonlight itself. See you...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Basic accommodation but clean with comfortable bed. Breakfast spread was sufficient too. Visitors need to be careful/more alert when at the hotel's public areas to avoid injuries. Noisy in the morning due to traffic as it’s along a busy and dusty street; but close to shopping and dining areas (through a small lane opposite the hotel).

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bebe1969
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Bebe we are greatly honored with your experience at Kathmandu and Hotel Moonlight. We were grateful with your presence at Hotel Moonlight and overwhelming our Hospitality. Like you told not only the road on the way to Hotel Moonlight is busy,dusty and noisy but the whole of Kathmandu Valley do!! So its of course something we wanted to get...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel in Paknajol, Kathmandu. A short walk from Thamel which is no bad thing as it is quiet and like an oasis from the hustle and bustle. The staff are friendly and attentive. Rooms are clean and spacious with AC. Improvements are still happening but they do not disrupt your stay. The restaurant which is now...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kay B
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Kay B, thanks for your respectful words and we are very happy to deserve your response to our services and hospitality. We are so happy to know your experience with Moonlight and kathmandu was great. We look forward to see you again at Kathmandu. With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I was attending a summer school in Nepal and spent 7 days in Kathmandu, staying in Moonlight hotel. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The two rooms that I stayed are spacious (we first checked in 4 days then another 3 days after returning from Chitwan). The room in the older wing was bigger but the design of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hongching
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Hongching, thanks for your great experience with us, we are very happy to know your stay was memorable with Hotel Moonlight. Further to your complain of the room with glass door bathroom, actually this sort of rooms are designated for couples and might be due to the peak season your were provided with this room. Since we are getting...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Evening meal in the garden was an excellent experience of great food, service and very comfortable surroundings allowing for great conversation among the people I was sharing the meal with. There is also a wide variety of foods on the menu

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happy20100406
moonlight001, General Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Honorable Guest, we are very happy to know your felt the peace of our garden and essence of our services and taste of our foods. We are overwhelmed by your words. Thanks for staying with us. See you soon!! With Best Regards' Dev Duwadi

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 km away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#47 of 193 in Kathmandu
96 reviews
0.4 km away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 193 in Kathmandu
388 reviews
1.0 km away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#57 of 193 in Kathmandu
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,135 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
342 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#96 of 193 in Kathmandu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We at Hotel Moonlight would like to add another dimension to your memories of this wondrous Himalayan Kingdom. We not only provide you with comfortable accommodation, but also friendly service and right information for your safe and comfortable journey. The charms and delights of the fabled city of Kathmandu wait for you at Hotel Moonlight. Though situated in the heart of the bustling downtown area, Hotel Moonlight is an oasis of tranquility. There's a lobby on every floor to ensure personalized service. The hotel also has an adjoining annex with 17 Boutique rooms, with the same amenities and all luxuriously furnished. We have total 48 rooms in our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Moonlight

Address: Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: $84 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moonlight 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Moonlight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Moonlight staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Moonlight staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are allocated a room with a balcony check to make sure the room is a reasonable size.”
Parooba, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had superb views of Kathmandu from the top floor, as well as access to the rooftop.”
399FionaB399, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lift not in use in March 2017 so if difficulty with stairs request lower floor room.”
jasonhart1970, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it seems all very beautiful for me.”
, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony. Pref overlooking the garden”
claireswindale, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5