We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Road Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New Road Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for New Road Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I've been there with a friend, we stayed there three nights but in different time. The first night we stayed in the private bedroom and it was a real nightmare because it was really small, without windows and just with a fan..we couldn't sleep because of the hot!! But the other nights we stayed in the dorm and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prepolla
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Prepolla, Thank you for staying with us, and for taking your time to review our little guesthouse - we very much appreciate it. Not least, we are thrilled that you found our staff kind and helpful,our dorm fine, and our location good; close to the Main Train Station, the river boat piers, and the MRT subway (as well as...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We spent almost a month in Thailand and almost every weekend we came back to Bangkok and stayed at New Road. It was fantastic. Super friendly staff, great food, clean facilities, cute rooftop hangout. The lobby and restaurant looked absolutely incredible after the renovations (complete with AC, a necessity in that heat). I would highly recommend to everyone visiting Bangkok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MakaylaLynn
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear MakaylaLynn, Your kind words have made us beyond happy! They have already been shared with all of our staff, who are the ones that make a difference every day. We particularly love that you found our staff super friendly and our lobby, restaurant and hangout areas absolutely incredible after hour refurbishment. Thank you! We hope you have had a...

Graz, Austria
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Nice and cheap hostel in the center of the city. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful in giving free advice. The breakfast was good but too expensive. Laundry is also offered, but very expensive too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher2105
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, Thank you for the nice words, and for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate it! We are thrilled that you found our hostel nice, cheap and clean, and our staff very helpful. We put great emphasis on exactly the points you mention, and have already shared the feedback with our staff. A stay with us comes...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Don't trust the pictures of the rooms displayed on the website, they in no way resemble the shabby and unclean looking room we were given. A smell of sewage also began to come into out room on the second night, probably try avoid here? A lack of plugs that worked in the room was also irritating

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cormac B
Berit B, Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear traveller, Thank you for taking your time to review our little guesthouse. We always welcome constructive feedback as it helps us improve, and to stay on our toes. This said we are though very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations and that you feel the pictures you have seen, did...

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend. We had a double bed in an air con room. After a long travel from Norway, it was just perfect. We needed a place to sleep before we started traveling around the country. The restaurant at the guesthouse served an ok lunch. It took a while for the shower to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid E
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I wanted my teens to experience a hostel while travelling in Thailand. We booked a family suite with 4 of us in the same room and our own bathroom. The room was a little dated, but very clean with good a/c and a nice shower. The room was very spacious. The elevator did not go all the way to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Taishan
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Booked 5 nights in July. All was ok. Rooms, restaurant, possibility to have good advices regarding things to visit in Thailand. Many Service are proposed, and people are nice. 10 min to walk to the subway. I recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R A
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We booked two nights with Kilroy before we left. They didn't mention it was a dorm room for 10, so we weren't too happy about that. I don't mind that much, but we travelled so long, we wanted some privacy and comfort. The bunkbeds were very hard, the aircon very loud and the showers not clean. Breakfast on the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lise D
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Lise, Thank you for taking your time to review our little guesthouse. We greatly appreciate you feedback, so we can constantly stay on our toes, and improve where needed. We are very happy to see that you loved most of what we do - our Go Beyond Asia travel advisors on the spot to help you with questions, tours,...

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Due to booking with dutch travel agency we paid way more than we would if booked by ourselves. Shuttle pickup and drop off is a good service, breakfast good quality, had also nice dinner in restaurant but service was absent (servant was smoking outside all the time, couldn't pay hahaha). Rooms are small, wifi connection was good. If I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yara W
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for 2D/3N. We got the quadruple room with 2 queen size beds. It was well ventilated. We really liked our shower. It has soft spray even if we turn up the level. They have 24 hour reception service which can assist you even at the wee hours. Receptionist are very helpful. We got hungry at 2:30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craizyl
Berit B, Public Relations Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, thank you for your nice words. We are happy that you liked our place, your room, found everyone friendly and helpful, and not least, that you would recommend us to your friends! :) We always do our best to help travellers night and day, as you also experienced. We do not have our housekeeping with us 24/7 though,...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#29 of 606 in Bangkok
330 reviews
Bluefin Guesthouse
#154 of 606 in Bangkok
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#45 of 606 in Bangkok
283 reviews
Admire Thonburi
#74 of 606 in Bangkok
32 reviews
Banglamphu
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
#46 of 606 in Bangkok
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Silom

Neighbourhood Profile
Silom
Despite the lack of any major tourist attractions, this lively neighborhood is a favorite of many. Whether it's the (somewhat naughty) nightlife of Soi Patpong, the various handicraft night markets or the plethora of dining options that tickle your fancy, a night out in Silom is a must on every itinerary. It's worth a stop during daytime, too: join office workers on a quest to tasty street food during lunch and shop at Silom Complex for a great mix of Thai and international stores. After a day of strolling around the congested sidewalks, a visit to Silom's Lumphini Park, Bangkok's answer to NYC's Central Park, is a welcome change of scenery.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Road Guest House is a place with great atmosphere and homey surroundings. In the middle of hectic Bangkok you will find this nice hotel which is very popular among travelers all over the world. Next to the lobby you will find a Service Center that can provide you free travel advice from experienced European and local staff.The lobby, café area and most rooms just went through a comprehensive renovation leaving the guesthouse new and fresh. Despite the new interior the guesthouse have kept their budget rates with prices and rooms for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Road Guest House

Address: 1216/1 Charoen Krung Road | Between Soi 34 and 36, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Price Range: $22 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Road Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your New Road Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Road Guest House Hotel Bangkok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from New Road Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Grab a motorbike through Grab if possible *much cheaper than hailing one down”
 of 5 bubbles EuniceGM, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“maybe Air Condition, because we had none and just with a ventilator it can get very hot.”
 of 5 bubbles laurametke, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had an upper floor with a room to ourselves. It was very quiet. I've seen some comments about the dorms not being as nice.”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Definitely go for aircon!”
 of 5 bubbles baileyemma111, 10 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5