We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel De Moc

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel De Moc
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel De Moc
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

They call it "vintage", but it's just old. It really needs some upgrades. One can see the potencial of it. It's overpriced and overrated. No hot water in bathroom. Everytime we asked about it, they sent maintenance and said "it would be fixed". It never was and we realized it was actually an internal management problem, once we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno P
Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Advantages of the hotel is that it is in a nice neighbourhood for the visit but not in a very busy road like khoa san. However it was very hard to enjoy our nights cause the wall between the rooms are very thin (and there was a communication door with another room) and the noise on the street was never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lili1607
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Lili1607, On behalf of all the staff at the Buddy Lodge I would like to offer my unreserved apologies for those parts of your stay which did not reach your expectations. We really appreciate your comments and our team always take careful note of customer feedback as an important way of improving the services we offer here. Thank you...

hamilton
Reviewed 1 week ago

This one of the two worst hotels i have ever experienced. And we travel a lot. Our tour company checked us in to this hotel, by the morning I had checked TA and found a better hotel down the street, which I was going to pay for even though we had already paid for this hotel. Another night of gagging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coppermike
sunshine coast
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here, found the staff to be very friendly and enjoyed the onsite Cafe/bar open 2pm to 11. The hotel is older style but clean and comfortable. The arranged taxi pick up from the airport for $800 baht, which was a relief to know we had someone waiting for us in a city we did not know. Communication...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janelle R
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Janelle R, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent time in Bangkok. Your positive feedback and tips are very much appreciated, as it will assist fellow travellers when they come to choose their city accommodation. Thank you also for your comments regarding to our staffs customer service. I am sure your kind words will encourage...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to Thailand and the end. If I had known that I could of cancelled the second visit with no charge I would of done it. This hotel is drastically tired and in need of a refresh. The rooms felt dusty and need a update. I think all rooms have balconies however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Ben W, Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and for pointing out areas where we need to improve our communication and service. We certainly value your comments and will take a look at how we can improve and make things simpler. Hopefully, we can welcome you back to experience this improvement in the not too distant future. Kind...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed a week before heading to Malaysia. Reasonably accessible for those with restricted mobility. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Free tuk tuk to Khao San Road. Breakfast was yummy and restuarant is great. Room service was handy and appreciated after a long day touring aroung Bangkok. Happily stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerrie B
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Kerrie B, Everyone at the Hotel De Moc really appreciates you taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback about your recent experiences here. It's always so rewarding to hear that our guests had a great stay and were able to take advantage of the amenities we have to offer. We hope to welcome you back again very soon....

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel describes itself as "retro sixties". A fancy word for outdated and in need for renovation. Rooms are clean, but bathroom can be smelly. Relatively quiet. Location is within walking distance from main sites

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walterrdam
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Walterrdam, Thank you for your brief, but informative review of your stay at the Buddy Lodge. We are sorry to hear about your average experience as we always aim to provide more memorable stays for all of our guests. Please rest assured that the Hotel Management will review each of your points and do whatever we can to help...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms are a bit expensive, nice staff and nice service. They clean the room every day and are quite helpful, but they over charge a lot so don't book anything (taxi, tuk tuk or trips) through the hotel. We ordered a taxi the the hotel and drove for like 15 minutes and pay 500 bath!!! The restaurant is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederikke E
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Frederikke E, Thank you for your brief, but informative review of your stay at the Hotel De Moc. We are sorry to hear about your average experience as we always aim to provide more memorable stays for all of our guests. Please rest assured that the Hotel Management will review each of your points and do whatever we can...

Reviewed 24 January 2017

This cost £15 for one night so considering I stay in hostels for £4-7 it wasn't that great. It wasn't dirty and had air con and swimming people friendly people, helped with luggage etc... Good location but just a bit prices for what it is

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Thank you for your brief, but informative review of your stay at the Hotel De Moc. We are sorry to hear about your average experience as we always aim to provide more memorable stays for all of our guests. Please rest assured that the Hotel Management will review each of your points and do whatever we can to help improve...

London
Reviewed 24 January 2017

That there is no hot water, I can live with. That the view from the room was of a wall, so no natural light was afforded, I can stomach. However, I booked this place as I needed the internet for work purposes, and despite advertising free hi-speed wi-fi in all areas, there is no internet. Most of the time this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiedor
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Fiedor, We are sorry you had such an unpleasant time at our hotel. The incidents you mention in your review will all be looked at thoroughly and we will do our best to try and stop such things happening in the future. We thank you once again for your stay and hope you had a better time elsewhere on...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#187 of 849 in Bangkok
1,213 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#438 of 849 in Bangkok
208 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#133 of 849 in Bangkok
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#183 of 849 in Bangkok
1,118 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#337 of 849 in Bangkok
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Banglamphu

Neighbourhood Profile
Banglamphu
While you’ll see skyscrapers in most parts of Bangkok, it’s the gilded roofs of ancient pagodas that adorn the skyline of Banglamphu, the city’s historical and most touristic district. Hordes of tourists flock to this area to tick quite a few must-see attractions off their to-do list, with the Grand Palace being the most spectacular of them all. Banglamphu is also home to Bangkok’s infamous tourist ghetto, centered around Khao San Road. Visit at night to feast on road-side pad thai, cheap beers and if you’re up for it, some dancing fueled by buckets of Thai whiskey.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel De Moc is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok, the perfect vacation destination and sightseeing attractions, such as Rattanakosin Island, Grand Palace and Golden Mount. Reflecting traditional standards of excellent service and hospitality, Hotel De Moc offers the most up to date facilities including Wi Fi Hot Spot Internet access, free 24 hr. bicycle service, free tuk tuk serviceHotel De MOC is also a gateway to Khao San Road, the world famous area of Bangkok, where you can buy anything from a College Degree to a Cartier Watch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel De Moc

Address: 78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Price Range: $52 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Moc 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Moc Hotel
De Moc Bangkok
Hotel Style:
#120 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel De Moc staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel De Moc staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the pool are quite ok.”
 of 5 bubbles brunop294, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“two rooms, Floor 2, above front entrance, extremely smelly and loud, by elevator”
 of 5 bubbles coppermike, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check your balcony is not facing a brick wall.”
 of 5 bubbles benwY5191MZ, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tips make them so happy... so give them some. A hundred Baht are just 2 pound, 2,50€... so leave some every day.”
  • Always like having a desk. Makes up an extra place to put things.
  • Nice and green but also a lot of skyscrapers. But I mean... you are in the middle of the city
 of 5 bubbles Carolina-Loeger, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are okay”
 of 5 bubbles arul2015, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5