We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Soi 1 Guesthouse

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Soi 1 Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 29: English reviews
Cusco, Peru
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Those in the know stay at Soi 1. Soi 1 is not for everyone. This is why I love it. Every single detail about Dave's place is geared towards experience-seeking travelers. It's well-worn enough to keep out the tourists, and priced just high enough to keep out the hippies. Plenty of great restaurants/shopping/actitivies/bars around, and the location is absolutely perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vinay R
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My family - husband, 2 kids, age 9 and 7 went to Bangkok for a short vacation and we wanted to explore Bangkok on a tight budget. We found this hostel/backpacker's place on the net. We were given a family room. it has a shower room,, double deck queen-sized bed and the air con works. on the plus side, it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marvifromdasma
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Rooms - I stayed at the 10 bed dormitory, which was airconned and cost 400B. Aircon worked nicely, quiet and made the room nice and chilly. The beds where comfortable, the towels kind of stank. But nothing to stimulate a gag reflex. Staff - Some of them struggled to remove their eyes from the laptop when were approached. Some of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NimoDoodle
Korea
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I'm not sure why this place keeps touting how clean the bathrooms are, because they're not that clean. The dorm room was small and windowless, with the AC cranked to the limit. The bed were creaky and curved in the middle. The owner (?) was an expat was a kind man who had a lot of information for us, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brainsoup
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review

While true that Only our 3 bed PVT dorm has no window ( if it did we'd get complaints from the noise on the street from that side) Most people love the "Cranking" Air con. I can only assume that you did not see the remote control, which if you did could have adjusted it to a warmer setting. the...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed here in 4 bed dorm for 4 nights. The rate is uniform 400 baths. rooms are basic with AC only. Its a bit crappy place, though the behavior of staff is very good. The reception is on 2nd floor so when one arrives, s/he gets confused. There are many travel books available. The place is not easily connected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ImDrMD
Cayman Islands
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I've stayed here several times and it has become my home in Bangkok. It's close to the skytrain and canals taxis. Only a short hop and you're at the major shopping malls of Siam. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. Close to lots of nightlife. It's a great place to meet other people as I've made some good friends...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bex H
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your respected review, I say that because I see you have 21 reviews and 67 helpful votes. With your experience a review from you ,in my opinion, carries a bit more weight. I'm Sure I'll see you again.. We Love the Irish!! Soi1david

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2011

not sure how this has such high ratings as it is very poor value for money for what they offer. besides being relatively clean, the communal area is very dingy with a few fans blowing smokey air around as the staff and guests are able to smoke in the lounge area. it was ok for meeting people but the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lh1983
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review

Let me summarize your review, It was ok for meeting people, the staff are helpful and the dorms are clean. besides being relatively clean, the communal area is very dingy with a few fans blowing smokey air around as the staff and guests are able to smoke in the lounge area. for 80 baht more i moved to a new...

Suzhou, China
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We were disappointed in the location of this place. It was not near any of the tourist attractions and since we were only there for a few days, we spent a lot of time having to travel. We have stayed in a lot of hostels in China and even Phuket and this one was the dirtiest by far. I know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzhouLewis
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review

"We were disappointed in the location of this place. It was not near any of the tourist attractions and since we were only there for a few days, we spent a lot of time having to travel." We ARE the best Located Proper Hostel in Bangkok, No other can say the same or else they would. The problem you had...

Taiwan
Reviewed 26 January 2011

great location, only 3 min walk from the nearest ASOK skytrain station. The place is situated in a bit shabby lane but the interior is neat and the price is not bad! I was there alone and enjoyed my last night in BKK. The first staff who helped me to check in was a bit slow but the manager (whom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystalannie
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for mentioning our Great location! and the accessibility to public transport. Yes, some of the staff may not know as much as I about Bangkok and S.E. Asia in general, But they are learning. I myself, as I live on the property , am often around and if needed for info will happily answer your questions.( been awhile since...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 December 2010

As the title says, it's the only place I'd stay at in Bangkok, for a number of reasons. 1) Location - The location of this place is absolutely phenomenal. It's right off the Phloen Chit station of the BTS SkyTrain. It costs about 140 Baht to take the train to the guesthouse from Suvarnabhumi International Airport - a 15 min,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vthuppil
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful review of us!!! There are so many things I can comment on, But I'll just say this.. When you stay at Soi1guesthouse, You become family. And I'll do anything and everything to make anyone of my family Safe, Happy and Informed... In that order. I have a very big Family :) and it's growing...

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Skyy Hotel
Skyy Hotel
#451 of 858 in Bangkok
179 reviews
Banglamphu
The Street Hostel
The Street Hostel
#160 of 1,186 in Bangkok
61 reviews
Sukhumvit
FIRST 1 Boutique Hostel at Sukhumvit 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
De Talak Hostel
De Talak Hostel
#137 of 1,186 in Bangkok
127 reviews
Siam Journey Guesthouse
#83 of 1,186 in Bangkok
109 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,186 in Bangkok
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Sukhumvit

Neighbourhood Profile
Sukhumvit
With a mix of shopping malls, hip bars and food stalls lining both sides of Thailand’s longest road, you’ll rarely encounter a dull moment along Sukhumvit. While the main road itself doesn't offer a lot in terms of entertainment, it's the adjoining 'sois' (alleys) where the magic happens. Popular spots are soi 11 for a lively night out, soi 4 for naughty nightlife and soi 21 for world-class shopping at Terminal 21. It's hard to cover everything this area has to offer in on day, so be sure to take your time. Sukhumvit is heavily congested with traffic during day and night, so getting from A to B is most convenient using the BTS Skytrain right above it.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
'Soi 1 guesthouse' is an Australian/American influenced, Thai owned 24 hour, guesthouse, and youth hostel, now being over-seen by our diligent, on-site English speaking owner, Nai. The Friendships made and the Adventures shared are what we are about. It's partly but, more than just the Parties, Game-room, Bar, Live Sports from Satellites, Free Wi-Fi, Free maps, Hi speed internet, Clean rooms, New linen and Mattresses Plush towels and Hot showers (did we mention that 'Nai' keeps the place clean enough to walk bare-foot in?) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Soi 1 Guesthouse

Address: 220/7 Sukhumvit Soi 1, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Price Range: $58 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Soi 1 Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A smaller dorm can be less noisy as travellers come and go throughout the day and night.”
VernL_12, 1 Mar 2013 | Read review
1 of 1