Amara Bangkok

Amara Bangkok

Traveller (2798)
Club Cabana
Room & Suite (779)
Singapore Cuisine
Dining (393)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#121 of 1,236 hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Amara Bangkok is an exciting 250-room lifestyle hotel that offers spectacular views of the Bangkok skyline. Located on Surawong Road, parallel to the main Silom and Sathon roads, Amara Bangkok is a stone's throw away from the city’s main financial hubs. Nestled in the centre of the historic Bangrak district, travellers can find a host of restaurants, world-class bars and the colourful Patpong Night Market at our doorstep. Amara Bangkok is located on Surawong Road, parallel to the main Silom and Sathon roads. It is 10-mins walking distance to Chong Nonsi and Sala Daeng BTS Stations, and is nearby Patpong and ITF Markets. The hotel is located 30-mins drive away from Suvarnabhumi Airport and Don Mueang International Airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

180/1 Surawong Road Si Phraya, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Bangkok Intl Airport
24.3 km
See all flights
Don Muang Airport
21.6 km
See all flights
Sam Yan
6 minBangkok Metropolitan Rapid Transit
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,353 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Many travelers commend Amara Bangkok for its stellar location, which allows easy access to local attractions and transportation. Rooms are generally met with approval for their cleanliness and comfort, despite occasional space constraints and AC issues reported by some guests. The hotel's cleanliness and modern vibe are consistently praised, though opinions on service and value vary, with the staff's attentiveness being noted as inconsistent by a handful of reviewers. The rooftop pool's breathtaking views are a highlight, even if space can be limited, and the breakfast earns high marks for its variety.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,353Reviews96Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,648
  • 531
  • 94
  • 35
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Merwan1950 wrote a review Jul 2023
Phoenix, Arizona
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The well advertised infinity pool at this hotel is a scam. It is absolutely horrible. The decking is rotten and peeling horribly. It features theater seating like an airplane beause the space and pool are so small for the 250 rooms in this hotel. The hotel is very clean though. The beds have nice linens, but the rooms are cramped with AC malfunctions. The staff needs training. The breakfast buffet was a big carbohydrate nightmare featuring manily Asian food with very few western options. You have to beg for coffee from the waiter since there is no coffee urn. Breakfast and the hotel are over priced for what you get. Read the latest reviews. This hotel has not survived Covid well. Amara should be embarrassed to consider this hotel their flagship hotel. It is sinking! It is definitely not a four star hotel at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Poom Samkasat, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 2 Aug 2023
Dear Sir, Thank you for your time writing your reviews on your recent stay. I had discussion with the team to find out more details with regards to your stay. Your room was upgraded from our standard room to a higher room category due to unable to adjust the temperature as it was too cold. We also informed you on how to adjust our air con temperature. Our breakfast items are well prepared to serve all of our guests in which often we received more and more compliments. Our F&B team would like to serve our guests with care, therefore, we prefer to make coffee as per guests' preferences and serve as individually. We set our newly ordered sun loungers facing the swimming pool so all guests could get the same feeling and pattern. Thank you once again for your reviews. Regards, Poom Samkasat General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fang Chalermchai wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cozy pool side rooftop bar with view of Mahanakorn Building in the background. Staffs were nice and friendly. Menus are a bit limited in choices but are affordable and tastes good. Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Julajinda, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 8 Mar 2021
Dear Fang Chalermchai, Sawasdee krab. Thank you very much for visiting AkaAza; our rooftop bar, and leaving a nice comments here. Appreciate you providing constructive comments on the menus and we'll work on it. Trust that we would have a chance welcoming two of you again soon. Best Regards, Mark Julajinda General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Terry C wrote a review Mar 2023
Melbourne, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very dishonest hotel. We paid half a day rate to arrive 8am. I emailed the hotel a few days before arriving to confirm the half day rate for early check in would include breakfast. Was told via reply email it would include breakfast on Friday. Hotel then charged me over 1,000 baht for breakfast on Friday and said my package only included breakfast for the Saturday check out day. Showed hotel staff my email and still insisted on billing my credit card. I'll never stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Poom Samkasat, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 10 Mar 2023
Dear TCPATTO79, Thank you very much for your reviews. I personally read through all correspondences and please kindly accept my sincere apologies on behalf of reservation team that did not explain on clear communication prior to agreeing to process your payment with regards to early check in requirement. Our hotel work with honestly throughout. What we missed is explaining in details to ensure of having mutual understanding. Regards, Poom Samkasat General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hu Man wrote a review Mar 2020
Vienna, Austria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely Hotel near 2 Skytrain stations. The Hotel has a Rooftop bar with a fantastic view over Bangkok and an infinity pool. it‘s the perfect place to start or end the day. The breakfast buffet is fantastic, the personell very friendly and helpful. The beds are compfortable and huge.
The night market is basically around the corner, with the Skytrain you get to MBK and Siam
Paragon Shoppingcenters very quickly - but also to the River where you can catch the shuttle boat to Icon Siam. Lumphini Park is within walking distance (European standard!) The city is huge - i recommend a private guided tour to the palace and the numerous temples. I met a very good english speaking guide in Bangkok so i booked 2 tours with her.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Khitika C, Other at Amara Bangkok
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear HuManVie, Greetings from Amara Bangkok! Thank you for your time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback and have passed you kind words to our team who really do appreciate it. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely yours, Khitika C. Amara Bangkok
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
llyrvak wrote a review Sept 2022
Singapore, Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights on our weekend getaway to Bangkok. The rooms and the hotel are a little run down - room door was a little tricky and the pool is small for the size of the hotel. The lobby bar was not really functioning as a lobby bar but more of a place for guests to gather while waiting for transport.

On the plus side, the rooms are well priced and it’s perfect if you’re planning to be out exploring for most of your stay. It’s not a luxurious hotel but is clean and has all you need. They’d also give you more bottled water when you ask (no extra charge).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Poom Samkasat, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 12 Sept 2022
Dear llyrvak, Thank you very much for your time writing your review and highly appreicated. I did share your comments to my operational team. I hope that Amara Bangkok will still be your selected venue to accommodate your stay for your next visit to BKK. Thank you Poom Samkasat General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah L wrote a review Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at 15:30 to be advised that our room wasn’t ready, my reservation confirmed check in from 14:00 and I had advised on our arrival time. We were asked if they could have an hour to get the room ready. Having travelled from London and been travelling for 15+ hours I asked if another room was available which they found and we were able to check into. Once in the room there were no towels available and I was advised that they hadn’t yet been delivered. After travelling for that many hours and just wanting to have a shower it was very disappointing. I had booked this hotel on the basis we would be able to relax after a long journey.
To summarise I don’t feel this is truly a 4 star hotel as lacked any attention to detail and the rooms were basic. Overall expensive for what it was and I wouldn’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Poom Samkasat, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 2 Jan 2023
Dear Hannalondon1, Thank you for your time writing your review and I do apologize on unpleasant experience. We had very high occupancy on the night prior to your arrival with heavily checked out on your arrival date. We tried our best to clean all rooms within timely manner with limited resources. We seek for your kind understanding. Have a Happy New year Regards, Poom Samkasat General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coastal64480537829 wrote a review Mar 2024
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at the Amara Bangkok Hotel from December 29th to January 1st and overall had a pleasant experience. However, a significant issue arose during our New Year's evening at the hotel's Sky Bar that has compelled me to share my experience.

Upon receiving the bill for the night, my friends and I were shocked to find a substantial discrepancy between the charged amount and the prices listed on the Sky Bar menu. Despite my attempts to address this issue with the hotel, there has been no resolution or response.

The overcharging amounted has left a sour taste in an otherwise enjoyable stay. I informed the Hotel and even attached a copy of the menu and even calculated the correct total based on the listed prices, asking for an explanation.

To exacerbate matters, the hotel finally responded to my email (after a lot of chasers) by promising to transfer the overcharged amount back to me. However, after two months of waiting, all I have received are emails asking for patience and offering vague assurances of resolution.

What's more concerning is that someone from the hotel even suggested transferring the refund from their private account, which is highly irregular and non-compliant with professional standards. Not only have I been overcharged, but I have also been misled by false promises of resolution. This lack of accountability and transparency is extremely disappointing and unprofessional.

I hope Amara Bangkok takes this feedback seriously and addresses the matter promptly to uphold the trust of their patrons.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Dear Coastal64480537829, Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience at our Sky Bar during your recent stay over the New Year period at Amara Bangkok Hotel. I would like to clarify that on New Year's Eve, we hosted a special event at our rooftop bar. The event featured a unique menu and pricing structure which was distinct from our regular offerings. These event-specific details, including prices, were announced and displayed in advance to ensure that all our guests were made aware. We understand that this was a special night and the expectations were correspondingly high. I’m confident that our team intended to deliver a clear and informative message regarding the event-specific pricing, and we endeavored to communicate this to all who joined us for the evening’s festivities. If there are further details or specific queries that you would like to discuss, please feel free to reach out directly. We value your patronage and feedback, and welcome the opportunity to assist you further.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcus D wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All the staff provided an amazing experience, they have offered such great tips for getting around the city, so kind/attentive to our needs and just downright good people. We asked for lot's of help and was given great directions on how to see exactly what we wanted. The room is clean and has everything we look for in a hotel, the rooftop infinity pool and bar has fantastic views, the location is really good and feels safe to explore around the hotel, easy access to the MRT/BTS and the breakfast is really good. We are super impressed and will stay here everytime we come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Poom Samkasat, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 2 Sept 2022
Dear Marcus D, Thank you very much indeed for your reviews and giving Amara Bangkok 5 Bubbles. I am honored to read such a positive reiews. My team and I deliver our best services to all guests daily. I certaily look forward to welcoming you to stay with us in the near future. Regards, Poom Samkasat General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NKB wrote a review Feb 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful hotel. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable and staff were very welcoming. Buffet breakfast was 10/10, had a large variety of food and the coffee was good. The roof top pool was stunning and a great place to relax and enjoy Bangkok. The cocktails were awesome. Highly recommend, would stay again!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KhitikaC, Assistant Marketing Communications Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear Nicolekb98, Greetings from Amara Bangkok! Thank you for taking the time to leave the review. We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback and have passed you kind words to our team who really do appreciate it. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely yours, Khitika C. Amara Bangkok
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Muthu wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights in June for a short getaway.... location away from noisy & busy area , easily accessible to grab , tuk tuk & taxi , short walk from MRT , surrounded by great restaurants. Has a wonderful roof top bar - excellent to wind down in the evenings & infinity pool was great. Rooms were very clean , spacious enough with comfy beds. Breakfast was sufficient spread - Asian , Thai , Western & tasty.
Greatest asset of the hotel was their staff. Simply awesome , everyone single one of them we came across were so friendly be it at the reception , pool side , breakfast area & of course the doorman - amazing.
Kudos to the mgt for choosing such wonderful staff. Definitely a returning customer. Keep us the good work.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Poom Samkasat, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 19 Jun 2022
Dear Muthu, Thank you very much for your time writing review through here. Your positive feedback is highy appreciated and indeed, our greatest asset is our staff from all deparments which I am personally very proud of every one of them. We look forward to welcoming you to stay wit us again in the near future. Regards, Poom Samkasat GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tugce Bayindir asked a question Nov 2023
Eskisehir, Türkiye148 contributions392 helpful votes
Hello, what is the closing time of the pool?
Answer from AmaraBangkok
Bangkok, Thailand1 contribution1 helpful vote
The purpose is t stay over or just visiting. In case of stay over, name of that person should be provided upon arrival date.
Answer from Marcus D
21 contributions12 helpful votes
We got a taxi both ways about $50aus but train is very accessable.
Kabir G asked a question Feb 2020
Bhopal, India12 contributions
Is the Hotel Guest Friendly?
Answer from Chris ellinas
United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
Very much so
Chen L wrote a tip 22 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reception team!!!"
Read full review
Svmercy wrote a tip 22 Jul
New York29 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to the pool before 5 pm to take a space"
Read full review
Irfaan wrote a tip 19 Jul
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Accommodate halal food preferences"
Read full review
DazA wrote a tip Jun 2024
163 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to swim get there before 8pm. After that it's perfect to watch the view and have a drink. "
Read full review
Carl G wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s a great hotel to stay in, that’s pretty central to most things in BK. Its close to the train, shops and local markets on Patpong rd."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bangkok area.
PRICE RANGE
S$110 - S$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandBangkokBang Rak / Silom / Si Phraya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
250
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMARA BANGKOK (S̶$̶1̶4̶4̶) S$113: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 3,187 Photos (Thailand) - Tripadvisor

All Bangkok HotelsBangkok Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BangkokHotels near Amara Bangkok
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire