We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amara Bangkok

180/1, Surawong Road Si Phraya, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500 Thailand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2640)
Room & Suite (774)
Dining (392)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#138 of 1,213 hotels in Bangkok
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Amara Bangkok is an exciting 250-room lifestyle hotel that offers spectacular views of the Bangkok skyline. Located on Surawong Road, parallel to the main Silom and Sathon roads, Amara Bangkok is a stone's throw away from the city’s main financial hubs. Nestled in the centre of the historic Bangrak district, travellers can find a host of restaurants, world-class bars and the colourful Patpong Night Market at our doorstep. Amara Bangkok is located on Surawong Road, parallel to the main Silom and Sathon roads. It is 10-mins walking distance to Chong Nonsi and Sala Daeng BTS Stations, and is nearby Patpong and ITF Markets. The hotel is located 30-mins drive away from Suvarnabhumi Airport and Don Mueang International Airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

180/1, Surawong Road Si Phraya, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Amara Bangkok
2199Reviews94Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,518
  • 514
  • 91
  • 35
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Eva wrote a review Nov 2023
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany5 contributions
We were in 19th floor in the very clean and spacious hotel room „deluxe“ which had a very nice view on the skyline with a huge window. It had a good sound insolation and after a day or evening of vibrant Bangkok we could calmly rest without traffic or neighbors noises. The rooftop pool was very cool and the breakfast we had two times was also delicious. The location is good and we could easily get anywhere with taxi and/or MRT/subway with a station nearby (10-15 min walk). We were a bit sad that nearly all fitness equipment in the gym was out of service during the five days.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Thank you for such a positive review. We are glad that you had a great stay during your visit here in Bangkok. However, your comments on our gym equipment will be brought up at our next management meeting. In the meantime, should you plan to visit Bangkok soon please do choose Amara Bangkok as one of your first choices.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eoin O wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Hotel room was very clean and bed was a king size and very comfortable. The rooftop pool and bar is a great facility with long opening hours. Hotel was well looked after and staff were very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Thank you for your positive review as we value your contributions. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hoping that Amara Bangkok Hotel would be your number one choice to stay for your next visit to Bangkok.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hannah B wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Terrible place. First of all, the pictures are very deceiving, the pool is tinier than it looks and there are no sun beds which is crazy for Bangkok weather. We arrived around 11am, they told us a room was ready but we would have to pay 45€ for early check in, no good will at all. In addition they had closed the pool for the day and we were only staying for two nights. You would think they would maybe compensate for this and give us the room 3 hours earlier for free for not being able to use the amenities for half of our stay. To make a guest wait or pay extra especially when you cannot offer them what they pay is greedy and despicable. Just go somewhere else, there are better hotels for less money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Dear Hannah, Thank you for sharing your review. First of all, our standard check in time is 2 pm and you can enjoy our facilities while waiting for check-in time same as other hotels in Thailand and the rest of the world. Unfortunately, our pool will be closed for private event but it is from 16:30 onward on 24 Oct (3.30 hours ONLY) as our pool operates until 20:00. We honestly informed upon arrival and we would like to recommend you to enjoy our facilities from 11:00 - 16:00 (5 hours) on 24 Oct and from beginning of your day on 25 Oct from 06:00 - 20:00 (14 hours). We also have sunbeds for your information. Regards Amara Team Member
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chan J wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Hotel room is Big and comfortable. Front desk staffs are friendly and helpful. Expecially a young pretty lady Ms Bow. Her service was super good With her brilliant smile. She listened to all requests and did her best for guest. Such a wonderful hotel check in experience I never had before. Thank you very very much❣️
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Dear 560chanj, We are so happy to hear you had a great experience at Amara Bangkok. It gives us the motivation to continue developing our services. Regrds Amara Team Member
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sami wrote a review Oct 2023
Vantaa, Finland26 contributions5 helpful votes
Gym is out of order, no mention about that on Agoda or Amara website. Agoda website Club Double or Twin room does not include lounge access. Amara website Club room does have lounge access. Amara answered feedback Agoda's Club room is actually Deluxe room upgraded to Club, without lounge. go figure! So it's same same, but different ! I seeked hotels with good gym, but it was out of order. They didnt want to agree error there. In my opinion very misleading naming. Agoda said its because Amara and vice versa. Otherwise place was clean. Nice rooftop pool for dip. Not too far from patpong, but bit too far from metros.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 15 Oct 2023
Dear Sami, Thank you for sharing. Even the gym is not fully equipped as your expectation but our treadmills and weight training zone are available. We are processing to order a new set and apologies that we can not fix it during your stay. From BTS Chong Non Si, and MRT Samyan, it is only 9 minutes walks from the hotel. For hotel promotions, we recommend you to book directly with us and we are sure that you will receive such a great deal. Regards Amara Team Member
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Artur P wrote a review Oct 2023
6 contributions
We visited the Amara Hotel for the second time because we had a very good experience during our first stay a year earlier. Now we leave with even better memories thanks to the fantastic hotel service. When we reached the hotel, it turned out that I had left my backpack in the taxi. Thanks to the commitment and help of the lovely receptionists, I had my luggage back in less than an hour. The receptionist named Bow was particularly committed, for which I am very grateful. The service did not disappoint also during small problems with our room. When we reported the problem, after 10 minutes we were given a new room on the initiative of the staff. Thank you very much! There were any problems to book one night more in this fantastic hotel. The rooms in the hotel have a beautiful view
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 8 Oct 2023
Dear Artur, Thanks for your positive feedback and rating. We are happy to see you again. You have always been generous and kind and looking forward to your next visit. Regards Amara Team Member
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Quest51516732618 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Great cocktails with big menu. A was our barkeeper, really kind guy and kwos what he does. Greate view with infinity pool. Tip was deserved. One of the best views in Bangkok. Sunset was really great. Strongly recommend a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 12 Sept 2023
Dear Sir/Ma'am, Thank you for your reviews and for being an amazing part of our journey. We can’t wait to welcome you back for another outstanding experience with us. Regards Amara Team Member
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pdmancs wrote a review Sept 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom643 contributions461 helpful votes
I’m no stranger to Bangkok but this is the first time I’ve stayed at the Amara, and I was very happy I gave them a go on this trip. Ideal location - so many things on the doorstep, good connections, and a simple, fast taxi transfer from Don Mueang. Spacious bedroom with everything you might need. Excellent housekeeping each day. Great view too. Very good breakfast in the basement restaurant. Plenty of options. Polite, friendly staff. Wi-Fi solid and dependable. Nice rooftop pool and bar. Good place for sunset (happy hour 5-7). Just one annoyance - the gym…. It was small (standard for most hotels) but there were several cardio machines and just about enough weights and machines for a holiday workout. Ok so far. But: - One of the weights machines was broken, and it was a
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amara Bangkok Bangkok, Marketing at Amara Bangkok
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Dear Sir/Ma'am, We are really grateful and appreciate you taking the time to share your rating and feedback with us. Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention. We will use your feedback to make some important changes. Regards Amara Team Member
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
달 리 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
hotel itself is nice and cozy. BTS located in nearby around 10 minute by walking. It was good memory of at the swimming pool. enjoy ourselves a lot. Special thanks for manager to take care of our honeymoon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Poom Samkasat, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Dear Sir/Ma'am, Thank you very much for your time writing your reviews on your recently memorable stay. We are happy to hear of your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again in the near future. Regards, Poom Samkasat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Merwan1950 wrote a review Jul 2023
Phoenix, Arizona5 contributions3 helpful votes
The well advertised infinity pool at this hotel is a scam. It is absolutely horrible. The decking is rotten and peeling horribly. It features theater seating like an airplane beause the space and pool are so small for the 250 rooms in this hotel. The hotel is very clean though. The beds have nice linens, but the rooms are cramped with AC malfunctions. The staff needs training. The breakfast buffet was a big carbohydrate nightmare featuring manily Asian food with very few western options. You have to beg for coffee from the waiter since there is no coffee urn. Breakfast and the hotel are over priced for what you get. Read the latest reviews. This hotel has not survived Covid well. Amara should be embarrassed to consider this hotel their flagship hotel. It is sinking!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Poom Samkasat, General Manager at Amara Bangkok
Responded 2 Aug 2023
Dear Sir, Thank you for your time writing your reviews on your recent stay. I had discussion with the team to find out more details with regards to your stay. Your room was upgraded from our standard room to a higher room category due to unable to adjust the temperature as it was too cold. We also informed you on how to adjust our air con temperature. Our breakfast items are well prepared to serve all of our guests in which often we received more and more compliments. Our F&B team would like to serve our guests with care, therefore, we prefer to make coffee as per guests' preferences and serve as individually. We set our newly ordered sun loungers facing the swimming pool so all guests could get the same feeling and pattern. Thank you once again for your reviews. Regards, Poom Samkasat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bangkok area.
PRICE RANGE
S$121 - S$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandBangkokBang Rak / Silom / Si Phraya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
250
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMARA BANGKOK (S̶$̶1̶5̶3̶) S$101: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 3,029 Photos (Thailand) - Tripadvisor