Raya Heritage

Raya Heritage

Traveller (713)
Room & Suite (142)
High Tea Lanna
Dining (68)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#83 of 507 hotels in Chiang Mai
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Raya Heritage is an all-new 33 luxury suite property set in a lush green garden on the banks of the Ping River in Chiang Mai. Inspired by the spirit of Lanna life in former times, Raya Heritage offers a clean, contemporary take on local arts and crafts traditions with warm touches of handwoven textiles, artifacts & wood carvings featured throughout. Immersed in tranquil natural surroundings, Raya Heritage's serene atmosphere makes it the perfect base for discovering the unique charms of northern Thailand. All suites are river facing with the 75 sqm Rin Terrace Suites & Huen Bon Suites offering direct river views, while the 100 sqm Kraam Pool Suites boast a 7x3 meter private swimming pool. Khun Khao, the property's signature restaurant offers seasonal menus with locally-sourced ingredients & a crossroads theme drawing inspiration from neighboring Laos, Burma & China. Laan Cha Tea Terrace & Baan Ta Lounge offer river views as well. Ai Waan Spa features a herbal therapy steam room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Spa
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Great View
Languages Spoken
Thai
143Reviews3Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 22
  • 5
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kyra B wrote a review Feb 2020
138 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved Raya Heritage for multiple reasons. The staff are all incredibly attentive and nice, the grounds & various spaces (restaurant, pool, tea lounge, bar, spa) are all very inviting & well maintained, their included breakfast is truly delicious, and I highly recommend their massage & spa treatments. But the overall hotel + interior DESIGN is the biggest star imho. Folks, this is extremely thoughtful & meticulous design: no detail is overlooked, site-lines are all delightful, the interior decor of all neutrals (with accents of indigo, black, brown) is gorgeous, and the materials used and details like the burlap/textured white painted walls & even the runway-worthy hotel “uniforms” all contribute to a very cohesive & beautiful (zen-like) look & feel to this hotel. I think (?) we even had a standard room (whereas the bottom floor rooms have plunge pools) but it felt totally sumptuous. I was feeling under the weather one day & was very grateful to have / use the beautiful bathtub (with high quality bath salts & bath products). And normally we ignore hotel room tea & coffee offerings but this time I was so into them b/c they had an awesome tea caddy of dried teas and other ingredients like dried ginger, rose petals, etc. which were heaven on my sore throat—such a great touch. And then there’s the bed and PILLOWS. If I could marry an inanimate object it would be the pillows at this hotel—quite literally the best anywhere in the world we have ever stayed. If anyone at the hotel or elsewhere knows where to source those hotel linens & pillows from heaven I would be forever indebted and would outfit every room in our homes with them. What a truly great sleeping experience at this hotel!! The hotel is relatively new & is about a 10 ride from the very ctr of town but we loved that as it was extremely peaceful & located alongside the serene river. This is a fantastic hotel option for the area & I feel it offers most excellent bang for the buck. Thank you Raya Heritage!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rhhchiangmai, Management team at Raya Heritage
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Dear boogiewanderland, Greetings from Raya Heritage, A River Sanctuary! Thank so much for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at hotel with others. We truly appreciate all of your kind compliments and delight to know you appreciated all of small touches what makes Raya Heritage deserving of such praise. A huge thank you from the bottom our hears from Raya Heritage team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely yours, Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet C wrote a review Sept 2020
Hong Kong, China230 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment you walk in you’ll feel a complete sense of zen. The hotel is so peaceful and beautifully designed. Loved every detail but the service was what sets it apart. Staff are caring and friendly, helpful as always. The food at the hotel was amazing as well, I didn’t need to head out and explore. Such a wonderful experience that I’ve decided to visit their sister property in Krabi!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Verona wrote a review Apr 2020
mjm75288 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel property was superb: well laid out and decorated, with glass bottles of drinking water, which were replaced during morning clean-up and again in the evening. The bed was very comfortable, but I was mystified why a duvet/comforter was the covering on the bed. Practicality apparently has nothing to do with the selection. Hello, this is a tropical destination! As we were there is covid 19 was ramping up, the resort was not full so it was a bit like being in a palace, complete with staff ready to assist the minute they saw me. Spa and gym were closed. The cocktails were lovely and wine selection very good, particularly for a place that may not have many serious wine drinkers. The food was very good though not exclusively Thai. I fell in love with Yam Ped Krob, a salad with green mango and shredded duck breast plus other delicious ingredients. I can't wait to find a recipe.

We left with a guide each day, so proximity to anything else did not matter. The airport convenience was a plus. If it weren't so far to the destination from East Coast USA, it could become an extravagant habit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: A room on the second or third story has an airy comfort. The ground level units may have a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Quijanotango wrote a review Jul 2020
Bangkok, Thailand196 contributions90 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful property, well designed with very spacious rooms. In spite of liking this kind of deco very much, there's actually nothing luxurious about it. Average materials that can be found in any Indonesian 3 star hotel have been very well chosen and well matched. No 'luxury' bathroom fittings apart from the free standing bath (quite common in many hotels these days), the cheapest sockets in the market and a 'no brand' TV. In any case, we did enjoy the general feeling of the place very much. Breakfast is a la carte and really delicious.
What we did not like was the lack of flexibility of the staff in general I assume as instructed by the GM. Let's pretend the current Covid situation is not affecting the hospitality sector and making hotels care for their few customers more than ever. The way this hotel responds to the customers requests shows a total lack of 5 star PR acumen.
We emailed the hotel to ask about checking in time and we were told that it was 2pm. When we asked if we could check in any earlier, we were told to book an extra night. OK...not a great start.
On arrival, later than 2pm, we were presented with an extra 200USD bill to cover the cost of an extra bed and breakfast for our daughter. The breakfast bill was a whopping 30USD per day, the same as an adult rate. 5 star hotels routinely waive the cost of breakfast or charge it at 50% for children. Not this one.
We enquired about an upgrade (it was my husband's birthday) and we were indeed offered one if we were willing to pay the difference in room rate. Fair enough, not very good PR though, considering the low occupancy in the hotel.
Our flight was in the early afternoon and we requested to check out at 1pm. We weren't surprised to be told that we could not.
I have stayed at many 5 star establishments and I have never ever seen this level of money grabbing strategies and lack of flexibility before. The current room rate is discounted from what it normally is but still higher than many other better located hotels in Chiang Mai. 300USD a night???If you're looking for more than an Instragramable location, don't waste your money here. If you're after 5 star service I would recommend the Anantara Siam which is much better located.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Annabelle Mijares, Other at Raya Heritage
Responded 27 Jul 2020
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on our hotel design and flexibility of our services. We really appreciated. And we would like to apologize for any inconveniences during your stay with us. For your information, we have not received any special request on your booking in advance especially early check in and extra bed for your daughter at all by Agoda, online Travel Agent channel that you booked through otherwise I am sure that we will communicate and find the way to serve you and your family better. For the late check out, accordingly to our hotel policy check out time is 2 pm however with a limited number of rooms in our hotel 38 rooms in total we always consider to offer late check out as per the hotel availability. We are having high occupancy average 75%-90% over weekend (Friday to Sunday) all year round even though this is the re-opening phase after we temporary close for Covid-19 few months. Once again thank you on your feedback which is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Warm regards, Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TTW wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time we came back to this hotel. The decoration and the interior is always flawless. We were greeted with a warm welcome back from the front office manager who also brought us a welcome back gift and a bottle of wine which was really nice of her. Also, when we came back from dinner We got an happy anniversary decorations surprised in room. It was so pretty and I was really impressed.

The breakfast tasted great like always and all the staff provided great service and were really attentive. The staff at the resturant “Jerd” recognized us and He was the truly a service minded person. He also recommended the place for us to travel in Chiang Mai and the information about the foods on the menu which was great.

The new souvenir shop open in front of the hotel had gorgeous stuff. Beautiful curated crafts. The lady at the store didnt impressed us. She did not even greet us. We were trying to ask for information about the bracelet that we were interested but she was on the phone all the time we were there. My husband wanted to buy a nice bracelet and wondered if they have another colors available but we couldn’t ask no one so we decided not to buy it. When we leave the shop we nicely said thank you but nothing to be respond even a smile on the face. We don’t think that the souvenir shop should be held against the hotel but just wanted to say about our experience there.

Anyway, other than this.. Raya Herritage is perfectly place to stay. All the reception, F&B and spa team was really nice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rhhchiangmai, Management team at Raya Heritage
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear thitaw2016, On behalf of team we would like to thank you for taking the time sharing expereience during stay at Raya Heritage. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us and loved our services. Thank you as well for your constructive feedback of staff we will try our best to development services for valued guest. We do hope to have chance to welcome you back in the near future. Wish you all the best :) Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lekker001 wrote a review Dec 2022
Toronto, Canada171 contributions160 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed the stunning design (with local materials but very modern twist) and great gardening. Rooms are spacious. Team has an excellent service attitude and GM is very present. Breakfast is nice but bread and pastries are not on right level (industrial).

Biggest issue is the location. It is far out and little to do / see in vicinity. Chiang Mai River Beach Club (a cheap and noise entertainment place just next door) is a real issue. Also a mastodon-tic ugly Villa that is being built on opposite bank of the river is annoying. Materials are local, so also not good quality

We recommend rooms on second floor (third floor has slightly better view but requires steps and is more expensive). We also recommend asking for room on opposite side of Chiang Mai River Beach (in order to suffer less from noise)

If you can afford it, then opt for Four Seasons (much more stunning location) or alternatively there are nice options next to river in center of Chiang Mai (for less than half the price.)

While we enjoyed it, we won’t come back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PeterQasr wrote a review Sept 2020
Wiesbaden, Germany52 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just stayed 2 nights at the Raya Heritage in Chiang Mai after spending 4 nights at their sister property in Chiang Mai, Old Town. The resort design is incredible, rooms are very well appointed and the balconies are with big daybeds and amazing river views. Staff is very friendly, yet they could have gone more out of their way, certainly have to consider the current situation and very low room rates. E.g. the bar has a very hip and fancy design yet no river view due to the planting and a very dark atmosphere. They do have a beautiful terrace overlooking the river just above the bar but no bar drinks can be served as policy, the staff got an exceptional approval from Management which was highly appreciated. Our airport transfer was at 3pm, got an 1 hour late check out which again was highly appreciated yet when check out no options were given where we could spend the remaining 2 hours, where to relax or even refresh, just a nice: See you at 3pm. Food in the restaurant was not what we expected, but to be fair it could be a personal taste/expectation issue, food at Tamarind Village was excellent. Anyway only small comments and overall an incredible stay. Will definitely recommend and come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raya Heritage, Other at Raya Heritage
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Dear PeterQasr, Thank you for your compliment and sharing experience during stay at Raya Heritage. We do hope to welcoming you in the near future. Warmly regards, Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chefemil wrote a review Dec 2022
austin texas30 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip back to Thailand after covid and after a few days at some of our other favorite hotels we decided to try something new. We looked at the Tamarind Village ( their sister hotel) but they were booked for our nights so we decided to venture a little further out of town to the Raya Heritage.

The hotel itself is very stylish with Thai handicrafts and designs everywhere. The grounds are beautiful, located on the Ping River and the place has a very calming effect. We chose the Huen Bon Suite which was on the third floor and had a nice view of the grounds leading to the Ping river. We were there for five nights so we also received some special "long stay perks" The Huen Bon suite was similar to the lower second floor " Rin Terrace" except that it had higher Thai rice barn style ceiling, which made the room feel like a palace. The bathroom and shower were large and roomy and there was plenty of storage for clothes and luggage.

The restaurant was pretty good with some dishes better than others but nothing that disappointed. What was really nice is that they would serve it in your room or patio balcony ( including breakfast) They had a nice Happy Hour but we found that on this trip it didn't seem to be popular anywhere we stayed.

Overall, this is a nice oasis to get away from the hustle of Chiang Mai . The only downside was that our terrace/balcony was only partially divided from the room next door but we were lucky that no one was in the room next to us.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Olivia S wrote a review Apr 2022
29 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was my favourite out of 5 luxury hotels I stayed in in Thailand. It was utterly magical.

The entrance is stunning - you immediately feel transported into a state of utter calm.

The room was even more gorgeous than the photos. The attention to detail in the decor was immaculate. The bed could not have been more comfortable. Each day they leave an assortment of dried ingredients to make your own tea in the room (rosepetals, ginger, butterfly pea flower, etc).

The staff were so welcoming and receptive to every need. Thailand has such a notoriously amazing service culture but the employees in this hotel were so wonderful that they stood out across all other hotels for us.

The food was amazing. The massaman curry was the best I have ever had in my life.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raya Heritage, Other at Raya Heritage
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Olivia S, We thank you for choosing Raya Heritage for your recent vacation and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Warmly regards, Management team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Profiterole wrote a review Dec 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates151 contributions80 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a Quiet perfect stay. As coming to Chiangmai every year for past 10 years , this place is a nice change from other hotels we normally stayed . I understand it was full occupancy during Xmas yet the hotel was very quiet and peaceful . Away from the hustle and bustle and perfect for social distancing . Waking up in the morning 6.30am looking at sunrise on the river is a blessing and raise your inner vibration . Your spirit can feel total tranquility inside. Breakfast was a la carte buffet style and high quality ingredients to keep you light for your daily excursions.

The room (rin terrace) is big and perfect for 3 people. The king bed is big. There is enough space for Our 9 year old who can sleep in the middle of the bed comfortably.

The hotel is midway between Chiangmai city and Maerim so perfect to visit the city or maerim.

Piece of advice is that you should hire car or have transportation organized as this hotel is secluded . Or if you don’t hire car then the hotel has free shuttle bus to tamarind hotel (sister hotel) in the city about 4 times daily .

The hotel has a spa although a bit pricy. They also have some small activities like banana leaf folding activity and other minor paying activities .

There is elephant parade museum about 10 minutes drive away which is worth a visit . The restaurant “steak of the day” in maerim plaza (20 minutes drive) is also worth a visit

Have a great time in Chiangmai !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Tar K
Bangkok, Thailand102 contributions3 helpful votes
Sorry for late reply. Temple is nearby but waterfall is less than 1hour
Mei S asked a question May 2019
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Do you have elevators to rooms for people who have mobility issues? Thanks
Answer from Calvin Lai
Hong Kong, China165 contributions63 helpful votes
They have elevators that are accessible to the main area of each floor. I would strongly suggest you to request rooms located on the second floor, as some rooms on the third floor can only be accessed via staircases.
eolavarri wrote a tip Jan 2024
Mexico City, Mexico3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The size of the plates on the breakfast are to small, order at least 2 things from the menu. "
Read full review
Tara S wrote a tip Nov 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Is a little pricey but you get what you pay for and they provide excellent everything. "
Read full review
nipapan wrote a tip Oct 2023
Bangkok, Thailand108 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is not in the city. 15-20 min travel time. Good for ppl who want quiet time."
Read full review
Ket_Tasara wrote a tip Sept 2023
Bangkok, Thailand69 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel runs free shuttle van services between Raya Heritage and Tamarind Resort in the city center near the walking streets and shopping"
Read full review
Warren W wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Kram pool suites can be noisy with kids so I would recommend the Huon Bon Suite for a couple . breakfast ,day spa and pool are awesome "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiang Mai area.
PRICE RANGE
S$307 - S$449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAYA HERITAGE: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 779 Photos (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Raya Heritage
Which popular attractions are close to Raya Heritage?
Nearby attractions include Aniwat Gallery @Chiang Mai (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Raya Heritage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Raya Heritage?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Raya Heritage?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Raya Heritage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Raya Heritage?
Conveniently located restaurants include Keep in Touch, Baan Suan Restaurant, and Food For You.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Raya Heritage?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Raya Heritage have airport transportation?
Yes, Raya Heritage offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Raya Heritage?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Raya Heritage?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chiang Mai Gate (7.9 km), Fort of Ka-Tham (7.4 km), and Fort of Ku-Hueang (7.4 km).
Is Raya Heritage accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Chiang Mai HotelsChiang Mai Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chiang MaiHotels near Raya Heritage
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire