We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

PricelineUS$36*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$69*
US$36*
Great Deal
US$38*
US$38*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,093: English reviews
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Sadly this did not live up to our expectations. The rooms were old, sad and small. We booked the suite which was tiny and not the luxurious apartment that we had hoped for our daughter to celebrate her 16th birthday with friends. My husband and I stayed in a standard room, which was a smaller reflection of the suite. Sadly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ZhangWenBao
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your visit last October and your post on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to read of your disappointment and somehow believe the description of our hotel is some kind of exaggerated. The old is certainly not the youngest on the block but we offer value for money. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This hotel is centrally placed a 5 minute walk from the Night Market with other services such as Thai massage and laundromat nearby. The building has old world charm but could do with a bit of a tidy up. There was one lift being renovated, so sometimes there was a wait for the remaining two lifts. Our room had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan Thank you for your recent stay and your post on Trip Advisor. Your comments are really well and objectively written. We thank you for your kind understanding about the lift renovation and being patient about the wait. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you once again whenever your travel plans bring your back to Chiang Mai. We...

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We booked 3 room for 2 adults and 3 children as booking.com indicated a max room occupancy of 2. We found hotel rooms had 3 beds, booking.com allowed us to reduce room booking from 3 to 2 but hotel refused. Swimming pool closes at 6pm and pool attendant starts feeling us time is up from 5.30pm. Pool should be open...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary O
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for the shortcomings during your stay. The hotel has actually three lifts. One is not broken, but being replaced. The third one will be replaced once the second one is done. We constantly upgrade our hotel. Thank you for...

Mount Isa
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

This is the third time I have stayed here , the staff are friendly and really try hard to please . The only criticism I have is that the rooms are very much in need of modernising. On the other side of the coin , my room was clean and serviced daily and was comfortable . Breakfast had allot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBMountIsa
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your 3rd visit to our hotel. Your well written comments are highly appreciated. Rest assured, our owners are now planning a major renovation of our hotel and we are convinced it will turn out very nice. Our associates are certainly here to please our guests. By the way, the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Well this is the 4th time in 10 years that my partner and I have stayed here but sadly will be the last. The rooms are very tired they need to be refurbished beds are worn out and the bathrooms need updating. The pools are ok and breakfast is ok too but now days this hotel is no longer value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil B
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your 4th visit to our hotel. We are sorry to read that this was your last visit, however, our renovation planned by our owning company will surely rectify the shortcomings mentioned by you. The location is and will always be great. However, we quite disappointed that you cannot recommend...

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

What a great location, easy walk to markets,night bazaar etc. Unfortunately hotel has only two lifts working which are very very slow. Rooms are comfortable and clean, staff are pleasant. Downside...mosquitoes are rampant particularly in foyer and breakfast dining room. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you recommend our hotel and that you have had a good stay. Perhaps you have read the notice in front of the lift in the middle. We are upgrading, respectively installing news lifts. By end of this month the...

India
Reviewed 2 April 2017

The reception was excellent to agree to an early check in a tleast 4 hours before the normal check in time though I had not informed or requested an early check in. Perhaps because the rooms were ready and available. This Hotel is very centrally located near the Night Bazaar. It has over 350 rooms and many restaurants.Rooms were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoogleGuy
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Google Guy Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your stay with us. Your well written comments have been appreciated by all of us here and we do look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please let us know and we will be pleased to welcoming your back here. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We enjoyed many aspects of the hotel---great breakfast buffet, they offer a wide variety of dishes to appeal to their multi cultural clientele. The front desk staff were efficient and always answered our inquiries. The lobby is large, well lit and perfect for waiting for your tour. Wi-fi signal strong in lobby and in hotel room. The elevators---slow, only 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Boatlady70
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Boatlady Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your recent stay with us. We appreciate your well-written comments and are happy to know that you enjoyed your hotel in many aspects. The hotel is in the process of changing all the three lifts. Unfortunately this cannot be done within one week. Now the second one is being...

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

It is a nice hotel to stay for a few days. You had to be prepared to wait quite a while to get a lift as one of these were not working. Rooms had decent space although bathrooms were a bit outdated in my opinion but clean. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was amazing. Overall we had a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aminata K
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aminata Thank you for your stay with us and your post on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The compliment about our associates will be forwarded tot them and the chefs are happy to know that our breakfast served was...

Reviewed 31 March 2017

Stayed in the Imperial Mae Ping for 4 nights in March 2017 The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of both Thapae gate and the night bazaar. The outdated lifts were being replaced, about time! The internet was excellent in all areas Would stay again as excellent value for money in good location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pat Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would stay again. Please let us know when you intend to stay in Chiang Mai again. Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and peter – general manager

1,182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (822)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
4:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (434)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Ground Floor Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (92)
Viewed
Royal Suite (49)
Viewed
Second Floor Pool (8)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 379 in Chiang Mai
1,210 reviews
0.1 km away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 379 in Chiang Mai
1,874 reviews
0.2 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 379 in Chiang Mai
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 379 in Chiang Mai
1,793 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 379 in Chiang Mai
1,592 reviews
0.5 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 379 in Chiang Mai
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $53 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
KL
over a year ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's a crap shoot because they get a lot of bus tours and they are typically very noisy people.”
Greywolf8577, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better- Bring your own Ice”
worldtraveler255072, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Royal suites are a great size”
rugrat2412, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Family trip you can reserve connected room. Ask for a room far from the elevator.”
nairc2015, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I stayed on 9th floor and I wasn't happy. Feel free to try other floors.”
VanN323, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$36* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$38
Expedia.comUS$38
Hostelworld.comUS$69
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates