We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7/2, Soi 2 Kamphaeng Din Road Chang Klan Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50100 Thailand
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (92)
Pool & Beach (24)
Dining (23)

About

#34 of 1,414 Specialty lodging in Chiang Mai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mad Monkey Hostel Chiang Mai, the largest social hostel found in the heart of the city in beautiful Northern Thailand. Come experience our famous super friendly party hostel vibe great social experience minutes away from Chiang Mai centre. Close to all of the main attractions and temples, we are the best hostel for solo travelers and groups looking for a truly amazing social experience. With a large swimming pool, active bar, gym, yoga room, regular parties and events and a wide range of tours and activities in Chiang Mai we offer the ultimate budget accommodation to create unforgettable memories.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Board games / puzzles
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
233Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 159
  • 39
  • 12
  • 10
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Connor L wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions4 helpful votes
Social scene = buzzing Really natural and unforced vibe around the communal areas Shoutout to Cody: 10/10 Although don’t let him tell you he did the 10m dive last week. That’s the excuse he will use all season.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Danielle O wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
Great hostel, stayed here for 6 nights. Events in the evening were always a great way to meet people. Reps always made you feel included and were always around to help. All in all great stay and would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
laurawhiff wrote a review Mar 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom1 contribution
Very sociable hostel easy to meet people with daily social events. Really clean rooms and bathrooms and good location. Staff are also really helpful and always there if you need something. Can’t fault anything
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ellen W wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
We had a great stay here at Mad Monkey. The staff were really friendly and the organised social events were always really fun and a good laugh. The pool was such a good addition, best place to socialise in the day especially when there was a pool party. Loved staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scarlett E wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Loved staying here! Was very social and a great place to meet people. The pool was a great place to chill and had events every evening. The staff were friendly and helpful, there was always someone around to help if you needed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kameliya wrote a review Feb 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom10 contributions14 helpful votes
I had the best experience there, it was my first time travelling solo and my first hostel! As I walked in everyone were so friendly. Such chilled vibes. I stayed in the girls only room. It was really comfortable, clean, easy access to everything! I highly recommend it. Staff is really helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sophie wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
I booked one night at the hostel with a „24“ hour reception but as I arrived the at 9:45 in the evening nobody was at the reception and the number I called just rang behind the reception. I had no way to contact anybody and was about to leave. Outside I met some nice guys who had a spare bed in the room and let me sleep there (so I had no key or anything). The next morning I went to the reception and complained about what happened. THEY ENDED UP STILL SHARING ME 100 bth for the NiGHT!!!!! I would have been homeless for the night as a solo female traveler. The girl at the reception was really nice and tried to convince her boss but he wouldn’t cooperate. It’s the shiftiest hostel in chiang mai!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin W, Front Office Manager at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Hi Sophie, I am extremely sorry for what has happened. Due to the lack of travelers, we had reduced our staff timings at front desk. You seems to have arrive later than expected. Nevertheless, you room should have been made able for you to check in. Again we are sorry that this occurred, and take full responsibility. Please do make it a point to contact us in the future. Where we will offer you a great deal upon your next visit. Regards, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathleen L wrote a review Nov 2019
6 contributions
The atmosphere is ideal, the common areas are well thought out, the beds are decent for Thai hostels, the pool is lovely, and there's plenty to do and see in the area. It's a great place for the price!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anastasia K wrote a review Oct 2019
30 contributions2 helpful votes
I have had a great experience staying at my first hostel in Chiang Mai. The staff have been friendly and helpful since the very beginning, always ready to offer advice. The hostel is kept almost spotless which I haven’t ever seen in a hostel, lively when you want it to be and relaxed at the same time. The pool is always clean and kept at a nice refreshing temperature, and making friends is extremely easy. There is also a gym (!), and a delicious in-house cafe/restaurant with reasonable prices. Located pretty much in the city centre with good connections to wherever you want to explore. What more could you want? Thank you Brick House team for an amazing experience, I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BrickHouseHostelCM, Owner at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai
Responded 14 Oct 2019
Dear Anastasia, Your heart-felt review, which you visibly took great effort to write, is very much appreciated. It's especially gratifying to read your review. I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and hope that you will return soon. It seems perhaps unjustified that I write such a short appreciation for a very well written review but I cannot say much more than what you have expressed about our property. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you so much and God bless.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David C wrote a review Sep 2019
Scotland, United Kingdom1 contribution
This hostel was very clean and chill. Even though it was off season there was a lot of night activities and a good social area. It has a pool with a volley ball net which is sick for meeting people and chilling. Shout out to Finn for being the best bar man ever, damn those Long Islands. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BrickHouseHostelCM, Owner at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai
Responded 14 Oct 2019
Dear LittleScottishTrvlr, Your kind review is appreciated - thanks for taking the time to post it. Thank you for putting a kind word for our staff who do always aim to please our guests. We believe in providing our guests with consistently high service excellence to make it easy for them to come back again and again. We chose a salt-water pool as it is the norm these days as it is hygienic and refreshing. We hope to welcome you again soon here at Brick House Hostel. God bless.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Brick House Hostel
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Mai ProvinceChiang Mai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAD MONKEY CHIANG MAI: See 191 Reviews, Price Comparison and 161 Photos (Thailand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mad Monkey Chiang Mai
Which popular attractions are close to Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
Nearby attractions include CM Armani (0.4 km), Tony Tailors (0.3 km), and SMART Fashion (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sababa Chiang Mai, Favola at Le Méridien Chiang Mai, and Fueng Fah Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Mad Monkey Chiang Mai have airport transportation?
Yes, Mad Monkey Chiang Mai offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Mad Monkey Chiang Mai located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Chiang Mai.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
Yes, self serve laundry and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Mad Monkey Chiang Mai?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chiang Mai Gate (2.8 km), Fort of Ka-Tham (0.7 km), and Pratu Chiang Mai (1.0 km).