We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

520 reviews
Save
Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (148)
Dining (31)
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“dorm room”(24 reviews)
“old quarter”(101 reviews)
“bia hoi corner”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Contact Info
Name/address in local language
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (520)Write a Review
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
229
140
33
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
229
140
33
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roomold quarterbia hoi cornerprivate rooms arehalong baybunk bedstravel deskfree breakfastair connoodlesluggage storagecleaned dailytop floorbeer cornergreat bathroomtour desktravel agent
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't expect anything fancy here. The hotel / hostel is in a prime location in Old Quarter, which does mean you'll need earplugs if you're going to bed before midnight. After the bars close at that point and upto around 10am it's nice and quiet...More

Thank ietsanders86
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in January 2017! The staff were so accommodating and very friendly! We booked our train south and our hauling bay tour with lily she was so helpful and answered all our questions she let us use all the facilities before we even...More

Thank Sally W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the third time in ten years, I have put up at Maydeville Backpackers hostel. In a “superior “room because of its attractive price and good location. BUT.... The springy mattresses have come to the end of their life I would say.I had to ask...More

Thank Pastelchris
Reviewed 14 January 2018

My Uber driver couldn't find this hotel since the hotel is on a small alley. But actually the location was good. It was quiet rather than right on the street so I liked it. I don't expect a lot when I booked this hotel but...More

Thank Regina P
Response from Sarah N, Guest Relations Manager at May De Ville Backpackers HostelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Regina, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted to assist...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

The only redeeming quality about this hostel was the service we were given before we checked in in relation to booking a cruise in Halong Bay so we wouldn't have to stay here more than one night after a bad experience at another hostel. The...More

Thank Gabrielle M
Response from Sarah N, Guest Relations Manager at May De Ville Backpackers HostelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gabrielle M, First of all thanks so much for your staying with us, we are really surprise at to red your review because we had your good feed back after your check out time, thanks for help you change your check out date, thanks...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345688
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$10 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$10 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (148)
Dining (31)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Beate S
18 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dave L | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they can help you arrange tours to Halong Bay and many other places.
0
Votes
sheban m
7 January 2015|
Answer
Response from Francis P | Reviewed this property |
I guess 2 stars for hotel, 3 stars for service. However, star not important as suitable price with great location. Hotel and rooms as seen in web and many kind of free buffet breakfast that change every day that you can deep... More
0
Votes
Simby s
4 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from DanDarby | Reviewed this property |
Met a few cool people during breakfast but this isn't really a place where people really hangout. There's a common room with TV but didn't see anyone there at all. To be honest, would have better chance with different... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Go for higher floors to avoid noises from the road."
Read review
"Go for quieter rooms away from road for peaceful sleeps"
Read review
"get a room with a window"
Read review
"If you book a room, get one up to the 8th floor as the 9th floor (where my room was) had no elevator so I had..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing