We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 398: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My partner and I stayed here for five nights in the 6 bed dorm as our first destination in Vietnam. It was in a great location being right on the main corner of the 'backpackers hub' about a 15 minute walk to the prison, 45 minute walk to Ho Chi Minh Museum, 10 minute walk to a massive lake where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brittama
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Brittama,, Thank you for choosing May De Ville Backpackers Hostel to stay in while visiting Hanoi. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and whole of service here. Especially, you found us as the "great place”. Yes, with the great passion, our young team always strive to deliver excellent service to our valued guests like you. We...

Mae Rim, Thailand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms are good, with good showers and lucky not a bathtub. Location is perfect and the buffet breakfast is also very good. The staff excellent, friendly and very helpful. Hanoi is a friendly town, with a lot of things to do. Especially the weekends are great by the Hoàn Kiêm lake, it is closed for traffic. Children can play...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charly L
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Charly, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Please do let us know when your plans bring you and your friends back to Hanoi. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another exceptional experience in...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hostel 4 times during my visit in Vietnam and each time was excellent. The rooms are a great value, delicious breakfast, great rooftop terrace and the staff were very nice, professional and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aglagla3
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Aglagla, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another exceptional experience in Hanoi We are...

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 1 week ago

By far one of the good hostels I've ever stayed in. Clean facilities, room, public areas and they give CLEAN BEDSHEETS, PILLOW, DUVET!!! Staff were very helpful too. The hostel is about 5-10 Hoan Kiem Lake which most of the top tourist attractions are in zone.There is bus stop walk 5 minute outside the hostel which also takes you everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jhonytomas
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Soliman, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Hopefully May De Ville Backpackers Hostel could be your " Home away from home " and we are able to welcome you " the happinest " everyday Enjoy your time in Hanoi and in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall this was a nice hostel and great value for money. The dorm rooms are clean although a bit cramped. Lockers in the room. Great free breakfast but lacking a common area therefore quite hard to socialise. Great location in old quarter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morganr968
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Morgan, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com, also thank you for your constructive feedback which will be investigated and corrective action taken as appropriate. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was clean, had a safe in the room. We stayed here twice as it was a good hostel, staff were helpful although didn't seem overly happy when we didn't book a tour with them (they double as a travel agent) . Shower in one of the rooms was poor. Breakfast was decent and they gave us free wine on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hev89
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Hev89, Thank you for choosing May De Ville Backpackers Hostel to stay in while visiting Hanoi. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are regret that we didn't have chance to provide you more tour information, because we are offer budget tour, superior tour, deluxe and luxury tour also, so if we had chance...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed a very pleasant stay with my family. The hotel is right in the middle of the hussle and bustle of Hanoi and yet is very comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. We did a package which included the hotel stay, a 2 day/1 night Halong Bay trip, and a walking food tour all of which was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liam M
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Liam, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Please do let us know when your plans bring you and your family back to Hanoi. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another exceptional experience in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was nothing short of impressed at the quality of service and friendliness of the staff. The breakfast on the top floor was very good, and the staff was very responsive to the needs of my family. That being said, I think the bathrooms in the rooms need some work done to better ensure that a) water isn't seeping out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James B
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear James, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com, also thank you for your constructive feedback which will be investigated and corrective action taken as appropriate. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location right in the center of the backpackers district. The place is clean and the mattresses are comfortable. One of the best services is being able to leave your bags in a locked room while you travel around. The breakfast is decent as well, although there is not much variety. We stayed a night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin S
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Erin, Thank you for choosing May De Ville Backpackers Hostel to stay in while visiting Hanoi. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and whole of service here. Especially, you found us as the "great place”. Yes, with the great passion, our young team always strive to deliver excellent service to our valued guests like you. We...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My trip in Hanoi for 2 days on November and this place made me so sastify. Nice and clean room, the restaurant where they serve breakfast got a nice view of old town plus delicious foods. Location is fantastic for those who enjoy nightlife activities but so some one just need relax it might be annoyed. But anw, i was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan n
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another exceptional experience in Hanoi We are...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 km away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#148 of 574 in Hanoi
180 reviews
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#55 of 574 in Hanoi
971 reviews
0.6 km away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#53 of 574 in Hanoi
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.8 km away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#8 of 310 in Hanoi
451 reviews
0.5 km away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#11 of 310 in Hanoi
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to May De Ville Backpackers, a hostel with all the furnishings of a five star hotel. Built in 2011, right in the heart of the old quarter of Hanoi, it makes it makes a clean and convenient base from which to explore this exciting city. Spacious six bed dorms with air conditioning and en suite bathrooms as standard. Private double, twin or family rooms, which are all attractively furnished and come with added touches of luxury including big and comfortable beds, LCD televisions and a personal laptop. Free WiFi on every floor and a bank of computers in the lobby keep you connected with friends and family. Complimentary buffet breakfast which includes a wide selection of pastries, fruit, cold and hot meats and eggs cooked to your liking. American pool table, darts' board and cinema room with access to hundreds of great movies. 24 hour security guard to keep you safe, as well as security cameras and electronic key access to all the rooms. For your valuables there’s a safe in each room, while the dorms have secure lockers. In every sense you’ll sleep soundly at May De Ville Backpackers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Address: 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien Str | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: $14 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May De Ville Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your May De Ville Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from May De Ville Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from May De Ville Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles jhonytomas, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Up seven floor have nice view”
 of 5 bubbles Daisy200789, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had the second floor and it was fine, however the higher the floor the less noise and better view”
 of 5 bubbles jona49, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less A/C unit noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“High floors are farther from the outside noise”
 of 5 bubbles rlambakis, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay