We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

800 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 711: English reviews
Start your review of Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I completed the Buffalo Run from Hanoi to Hoi An about a week ago. In short - I had a FANTASTIC time. Great value considering the amount of activities we did (one of the best being riding on a motorcycle on the Hi Van Pass!). Our tour guide My (aka Robinhood) was INCREDIBLE. So thoughtful, knowledgeable, respectful. I always felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We actually stayed in this Hostel twice as we went to Sapa inbetween. Couldn't recommend this place anymore. The private rooms are situated away from the dorms which I thought was nice. The reception is full of information and speak very good English for ESL. There are plenty of Western employees there as well. The restaurant is lovely and affordable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam W
Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

this hostel was great. staff is friendly & helpful, food is good & location is ideal. it's a great spot to meet people. it's a lot more chilled out than the hostel they own downtown. you can actually get to sleep here! the beds are very comfy as well. the tours are a bit pricey but well worth it. they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Casq
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here as a large group and were well accommodated. Staff were nice and friendly and good atmosphere in the bar upstairs. Was clean and well kept, there was one shower and one toilet in the 12 bed dorm but even with 9 girls this wasn't a problem as there were more upstairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna_mgibson
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear that you our team looked after you all so well and that you enjoyed our rooftop bar. Thank you for staying with us. Safe travels, Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original Hostel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff here are really friendly and make sure everyone is having a good time. They do events in the bar every night - free beer, free shots, happy hours, quizzes. We also went on the bar crawl which leaves every night at 9.30pm and heads to the downtown hostel which is a lot louder and more lively. The bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Lucy, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us an awesome 5 star review, it is much appreciate it. We are really pleased you enjoyed our rooftops bar's; nightly events, free beer, happy hours and bar crawl. We are also glad that you got a good nights sleep in our clean and comfortable dorms and liked our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I booked a Buffalo Run tour through Vietnam Backpacker Hostels as we wanted to see and do as much as we could in the shortest amount of time. It did not disappoint. Our guide "My" (pronounced "Me") was a very friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful guide who was able to organise the group of 20 people very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Tom, Thank you for taking the time to leave us and the Buffalo Run a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear that you had such a amazing time on our 7 day Buffalo Run with My, one of our many awesome tour guides. I will pass on your gratitude and give him a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Buffalo Run tour from Hanoi to Hoi An was just amazing! I will never forget this trip as it was so much of an important thing to discover Vietnam! Must do if you love traveling. But I think this trip was 100% because of out guide, his name is My or "Robin Hood" such an amazing person from Vietnam...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johannes V
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Johannes, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us and the Buffalo Run a fantastic 5 star review, we really do appreciate it. Its great to hear that you had such a amazing time on our 7 day Buffalo Run with My, one of our many awesome tour guides. Hope you enjoyed the rest of you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took the trip to the entire Vietnam with them. It was amazing! The service, the tours,accommodation everything is just amazing!! Had a wonderful stay here!! We stayed at Hoi An, Hue and Hanoi and it was pleasant in every bit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deepali P
Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave is a awesome review, we really appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much that you stayed at all our other locations throughout Vietnam. Glad you enjoyed the trips you did with us, safe travels. Regards Alex Gelling General Manager VBH Original...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a really nice couple of nights at the original backpackers. Our first two nights we were at their other location, the downtown one because it seemed fun. It turned out to be a little bit too overwhelming as far as partying goes, and our group which was mostly in our late twenties realized we were a little too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fionnuala K
alexVBHmanager, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. It's great to hear our team were helpful and friendly at both our hostels. We are really pleased that enjoyed the more relaxed and chilled out atmosphere that we go for at 'The Original' hostel. We are also glad that you liked our tasty...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed with VBH at the original for 4 nights in Hanoi. To start the staff are fantastic they are friendly and very knowledgeable. They helped me plan my whole itinerary tours and accommodation for the 18 days I was in Vietnam. Alex the manager is amazing. Second the food is great for hostel food. Third the rooftop bar gets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devin v
alexVBHmanager, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hey Devin, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. We are really pleased that you enjoyed partying with us on the rooftop bar and chilling out when you needed a quieter night. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the food from our awesome new menu. It...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 km away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 327 in Hanoi
1,100 reviews
0.9 km away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 327 in Hanoi
442 reviews
0.0 km away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 327 in Hanoi
265 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi City Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: $14 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great tours”
 of 5 bubbles D9531LHannat, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a lot of people”
 of 5 bubbles 341sebastieng, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't sleep under the AC”
 of 5 bubbles oisat, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms on in the second building are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles connore492, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“no elevator - get your glute workout on!, amazing staff, book your tours through this hostel”
 of 5 bubbles 684melb, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5