We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

    48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$4
    View Deal
    Traveller (80)
    Room & Suite (58)
    Dining (20)
    Overview
    • Excellent39%
    • Very good34%
    • Average17%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Rooftop Bar
    Laundry Service
    Free Parking
    Pool
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$4
      View Deal
    View all 1 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (850)
    There are newer reviews for Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    11 - 15 of 759 reviews

    Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

    This is one of the best run hostels I have ever stayed in, very clean - loads of fun and plenty of western food if you are craving home comforts! Be warned though you won't get sleep here! Loads of friendly staff and very helpful...More

    Thank Leah Ann D
    Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 20 July 2017

    Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Original Hostel and that you liked our western home comfort style food. We do close...More

    Reviewed 10 July 2017

    I got assigned in the worst possible room! The lady that checked us in was horrible and rude. There was no blanket provided at all. The AC in our room was broken where it becomes freezing cold at night and keeps me from sleeping. Basically...More

    1  Thank Austine Y
    Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 13 July 2017

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate feedback as we are always looking for ways we can improve. It is disappointing for us to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, we investigate all reviews that...More

    Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

    Stayed at the Original Backpackers Hostel for 4 nights in July. The location was great: the hostel is situated in a cozy neighborhood with many restaurants and bars, but still really close to the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake. A bit more lowkey than...More

    Thank Silverstarfly
    Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 18 July 2017

    Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased you had a great stay in one of our clean and cool dorms. Its also brilliant to that you enjoyed your trip to Mai...More

    Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

    This applies to 48 Ngo Huyen street Hanoi, 2 streets from St Joseph's cathedral. Why did we start the review with the address ...... simply because you can get trapped and go to Central Backpackers, the Original - be warned they are poles and poles...More

    Thank Andy o
    Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 8 July 2017

    Hi Andy Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a fantastic 5/5 review, we really do appreciate it. We are really pleased to hear that we have improved even more since the last time you were here 6 years ago. Its...More

    Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

    We stayed in the new wing across from the reception in the old quarter. Ours was a 4-bed dorm called paddock and the rooms were clean. The rooms are small! Thank heavens all 4 people did not wake up and start moving around all at...More

    Thank KomalMikail
    Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 8 July 2017

    Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear that you liked our friendly and helpful team. If you prefer a bigger room our 10 bed deluxe dorms are spacious and bright. The A/C...More

    Splendid Star Grand Hotel
    2,160 reviews
    #27 of 599 hotels in Hanoi
     
    Splendora Hotel
    759 reviews
    #40 of 599 hotels in Hanoi
     
    Maison d'Orient
    362 reviews
    #52 of 599 hotels in Hanoi
     
    Luxury Hotel
    316 reviews
    #82 of 599 hotels in Hanoi
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$10 - US$29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 23
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Vietnam >
    • Hanoi
    • Also Known As
    • Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi ,
    • Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi ,
    • Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (80)
    Room & Suite (58)
    Dining (20)
    Hotel & Grounds (82)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Splendora Hotel
    759 reviews
    .04 km away
     
    Maison d'Orient
    362 reviews
    .04 km away
     
    Luxury Hotel
    316 reviews
    .04 km away
     
    Splendid Star Grand Hotel
    2,160 reviews
    .04 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Duong's Restaurant & Cooking Class
    868 reviews
    .02 km away
    Banh Cuon Ba Hanh
    229 reviews
    .05 km away
    Pizza 4P's Ly Quoc Su
    1,192 reviews
    .07 km away
    Noodle & Roll
    536 reviews
    .08 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lily's Travel Agency
    489 reviews
    .04 km away
    Midori Spa
    700 reviews
    .02 km away
    Crossing Vietnam - Day Tours
    298 reviews
    .07 km away
    Rose Travel
    269 reviews
    .04 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Kimberley F
    6 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from CarmenCarla111 | Reviewed this property |
    I did the Castaways trip it was amazing! The staff there give you a full run down on the trips and the quality of trips offered are among the best in the country as they are a western run company by western standards. A kiwi... More
    2
    Votes
    KayesChu
    5 December 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from nick d | Reviewed this property |
    Yeh you can they have a secure room you can store all your bags
    0
    Votes
    RedJulie58
    19 October 2015|
    Answer
    Response from James V | Property representative |
    Hi There, We have a 24 hour reception at our Hanoi Hostels so Please make your way there and they will be able to help you. The address of our Downtown Hostel is number 9 Ma May Street. Thanks
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Roof top bar was cool"
    Read review
    "better to stay with the all-female dorm room"
    Read review
    "The higher floors has less rooms so it might be a better choice for privacy"
    Read review
    "Choose the private room for free breakfast and some privacy"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing