We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Hanoi

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

859 reviews
Save
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (20)
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good33%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Rooftop Bar
Laundry Service
Free Parking
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Contact Info
Name/address in local language
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (859)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
300
257
130
48
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
300
257
130
48
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastaway tourprivate roomhanoi backpackers hostelbooze cruisedrinking gamesbar crawla great place to meetyoung backpackersfree breakfastsnake villagengo huyenhalong bayrooftop barbuffalo runfree walking tourfree beerfemale dorm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

This is one of the best run hostels I have ever stayed in, very clean - loads of fun and plenty of western food if you are craving home comforts! Be warned though you won't get sleep here! Loads of friendly staff and very helpful...More

Thank Leah Ann D
Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 20 July 2017

Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Original Hostel and that you liked our western home comfort style food. We do close...More

Reviewed 10 July 2017

I got assigned in the worst possible room! The lady that checked us in was horrible and rude. There was no blanket provided at all. The AC in our room was broken where it becomes freezing cold at night and keeps me from sleeping. Basically...More

1  Thank Austine Y
Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 13 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate feedback as we are always looking for ways we can improve. It is disappointing for us to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, we investigate all reviews that...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Original Backpackers Hostel for 4 nights in July. The location was great: the hostel is situated in a cozy neighborhood with many restaurants and bars, but still really close to the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake. A bit more lowkey than...More

Thank Silverstarfly
Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 18 July 2017

Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated. We are very pleased you had a great stay in one of our clean and cool dorms. Its also brilliant to that you enjoyed your trip to Mai...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This applies to 48 Ngo Huyen street Hanoi, 2 streets from St Joseph's cathedral. Why did we start the review with the address ...... simply because you can get trapped and go to Central Backpackers, the Original - be warned they are poles and poles...More

Thank Andy o
Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 8 July 2017

Hi Andy Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a fantastic 5/5 review, we really do appreciate it. We are really pleased to hear that we have improved even more since the last time you were here 6 years ago. Its...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the new wing across from the reception in the old quarter. Ours was a 4-bed dorm called paddock and the rooms were clean. The rooms are small! Thank heavens all 4 people did not wake up and start moving around all at...More

Thank KomalMikail
Response from Alex_VBH1, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The OriginalResponded 8 July 2017

Hey Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear that you liked our friendly and helpful team. If you prefer a bigger room our 10 bed deluxe dorms are spacious and bright. The A/C...More

PreviousNext
134567154
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (20)
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Bathroom (2)
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$10 - US$25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$10 - US$25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite