We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
# 227 Street 19, Phnom Penh 12000 Cambodia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2493)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (796)

About

#17 of 447 hotels in Phnom Penh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… During the Covid19 travel drop, the Boat Cruise and Complementary Massage are temporarily on hold. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Read more
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Spa
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Khmer
3117Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,177
  • 732
  • 135
  • 50
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Vishal yadav wrote a review Jun 2022
24 contributions
+1
i will say , great hotel , great vibe , lovely people . I love combodia specifically its people which makes my heart melts a lot. The fans in the room and regulator looks good 👌 but i can't feel air from it , its moving at a speed of 4 but can't feel anything. ( in the new building). Chlorine level in swimming pool so much. Wooden tiles of the room were broken.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Louise J wrote a review Jun 2022
24 contributions10 helpful votes
This beautiful hotel is close to the sights of the city yet hidden away and quiet. The rooms are large and airy, the shower room modern and clean. The two pools offer a cool dip after a day of sightseeing. The restaurant offers good food which is competitively priced. A good choice when staying in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis de Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 1 week ago
Many many thanks for the very kind words! Good to hear that you liked our little place. Looking forward to having you back here with us soon! Best, Alexis
Read more
Bhoomija V wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel though historic and scenic, is run poorly. The staff’s in general discourteous, disengaged and curt, and it’s really not a language barrier issue. They also only allow for stocking water in the rooms in a limited supply (we are 2 ppl and were given one 500 ml bottle each for a day) and they refused to provide for extra water bottles if you place a request. The bottles are also to be refilled by the guests themselves (at a bar that’s shuts at 10 pm) so too bad, if you’re stuck with an empty bottle after that. They also charge for coffee at breakfast (that’s a complimentary meal) if it’s anything apart from back coffee. Though the menu clearly specifies coffee and blended tea as complimentary and makes no clarification to that effect. Again, when the same was pointed out at the reception, we were cutely told to pay. I won’t recommend going through the hassle this place can cause, there are better properties out there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis de Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Bhoomija, Thanks for your review. We tried to cope during your stay and we failed, everything was wrong from the first minute... Water is indeed given complimentarily in the rooms and there is a free refilling station at the Gym open 24/7. The coffee in the morning is included, except if you order a Latte or an Expresso. But I find it hard not liking the Cambodians. Our people, who make our little place alive - just like in all other hotels around the country - are marvelous! Travelling is about openness towards new people, cultures and experiences. Without this mindset, I agree with you, it is not worth visiting our hotel. Best, Alexis
Read more
bailey1560 wrote a review May 2022
colorado108 contributions60 helpful votes
A lovely quiet room at the back of the hotel, near the smaller pool was the excellent balm after a hot and busy day. The gardens are beautiful, the employees were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was truly excellent! The hotel is right around the corner from popular Street 240. I would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room by the sun pool for quiet and privacy.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis De Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 22 May 2022
Dear Bailey, This is a truly kind review! Many thanks! Looking forward having you back here with us soon again! Best, Alexis
Read more
Isobel F wrote a review Mar 2022
Singapore, Singapore18 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a really relaxing comfortable stay in this beautiful shaded oasis in the middle of the vibrant city of Phnom Penh. The building is perfectly restored and our room had a picturesque balcony overlooking the pool along with many other authentic Khmer touches. The staff were excellent and knowledgeable and breakfast was delicious. The hotel was also making some great efforts towards a low carbon and waste footprint, with refillable cosmetics and glass water bottles. Our taxi to the airport was the excellent Cheng Sokiry of Kiry Transportation Service. He was prompt and helpful and had a great car.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or better still a private pool
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis De Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Dear Foss, Many thanks for taking the time to review us so kindly! I hope to have you here again with us soon. Many thanks also for the kind words for the team! Best, Alexis
Read more
battambangexpat wrote a review Jul 2021
Battambang, Cambodia104 contributions52 helpful votes
It's been several years since I had visited the property, but I was looking for a short city-staycation. I had booked a private pool room, which was quite nice, with large bed, brilliant plunge pool and nice courtyard. However, upon arrival I was met by quite possibly the most unfriendly receptionist I've met in Cambodia. I've stayed at several MAADs properties, so I have a base line to compare. She seemed putout that I had decided to check in. No welcome drink offered, or cold towels, even though it explicitly mentions this on arrive. On further enquiry at the room, she said yes and then never materialized. Un-answered phone call to reception for another pool towel, and the frosty check out where I was presented with a bill for the room which I had already paid for, really topped it off. In reading previous people comments I can see why they have said some of the negative things, especially around the room and service. However, I found the staff in the bar to be extremely friendly and professional. I decided to eat in the hotel to support them during this slow Covid season, and I found the food very tasty. I would definitely recommend the fish and chips! Would I stay at this property again, no, I think I'd travel to another Maads property in Phnom Penh.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis de Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, I am so sorry for this! Indeed, our team (like in any other Cambodian hotel by the way) is usually so welcoming and smiling... I will have a chat with her and figure out what happened. Many thanks for letting us know! I hope you will reconsider and come and visit again, we desperately need every single visitor in these very hard times, it is a question of survival for us. Wishing you the very best, Alexis
Read more
Ronit Ronit wrote a review Jun 2020
Bologna53 contributions85 helpful votes
Green spaces, two lovely pools, large pleasant rooms, great staff. I loved the hedgehogs! Walking distance from the Royal Palace and a nice street lined with tamarind trees, small shops and cafes and even a local library.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis de Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 8 Jul 2020
Dear Veronica, This is so kind of you and very encouraging during these difficult times! We are trying to slowly reopen with all our team here to greet you! Looking forward to get back to full steam again! Cheers, Alexis
Read more
GadAboutThePlanet wrote a review May 2020
London, United Kingdom98 contributions54 helpful votes
We had the most wonderful stay at Pavilion. It was five star service and felt incredibly special for our honeymoon. A true oasis in an otherwise busy city. We had a private pool room which was beautiful. The bathroom was a little too small and they should clean the outdoor furniture daily (bird poop) but everything else was just superb. Beautiful artwork and decoration, nice breakfast options, the bar staff were friendly and a beer by that pool each evening was very special indeed. Two pools means there's space for everyone (one is used for swimming more than the other). The staff were friendly, professional and ready to help for bookings or tuk tuks etc. It's central enough with some nice places to eat within an easy 20 minute walk (and less). We'd love to return!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Private pool room was just beautiful (great value for the price) - Feels like ultimate luxury...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis de Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 2 Jun 2020
Many thanks for such a kind review! We feel blessed for you choosing our little place for your honeymoon! I also hope you will return soon with us, missing badly all our guests! Best, Alexis
Read more
orly c wrote a review Mar 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark213 contributions83 helpful votes
Very beautiful and very well maintained hotel. Two beautiful properties are merged into a boutique hotel with very beautiful garden, two pool areas and a good restaurant. Highly recommended. We have been to Phnom Penh many times, this place is extraordinary. Please notice that children are not welcome at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis de Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 2 Apr 2020
Dear Olry, Many thanks for this very kind review! Children are welcome at our nearby property Kabiki, just a hundred meters down the road. Looking forward to having all of you back soon!
Read more
Hannah S wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
This place is beautifully styled and refined but still has a nice friendly and relaxed atmosphere. It was the smartest place we stayed on our trip around Cambodia and made a great first landing point as we recovered from our jet lag, got a feel for the country. It was a real oasis in the city. We enjoyed the funny little hedgehogs in the garden.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis de Suremain, Owner at PAVILION
Responded 2 Apr 2020
Dear Hannah, This is very kind of you! I hope you will return soon, keeping fingers crossed so that the situation reverts in the coming month! Missing you all! Alexis
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the pavilion hotel phnom penh, pavilion hotel phnom penh, pavilion phnom penh
LOCATION
CambodiaPhnom Penh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about PAVILION
Which popular attractions are close to PAVILION?
Nearby attractions include Silver Pagoda (0.4 km), Statue of King Father Norodom Sihanouk (0.3 km), and Independence Monument (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at PAVILION?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at PAVILION?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at PAVILION?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at PAVILION?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to PAVILION?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kathmandu Kitchen, ARTillery, and The Corn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at PAVILION?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at PAVILION?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at PAVILION?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Khmer.
Are there any historical sites close to PAVILION?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Palace (0.7 km), Wat Langka (1.8 km), and Temple of the Lotus Blossoms (7.1 km).