We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge

115 reviews
Save
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (24)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“rural laos”(8 reviews)
“the river”(41 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (115)Write a Review
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
53
33
9
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
53
33
9
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating restaurantrural laosthe rivercabintubingbungalowssamaccommodationnetsmosquitobeerlao
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

I stayed at Rivertime Resort for a few days and it was exactly what I was hoping for. Sam and Autumn were super responsive both by email before I arrived and then throughout my stay. The bungalows are simple, so do not arrive expecting luxury...More

Thank lupemarie
Response from SamThammavongsa, General Manager at Rivertime Resort and EcolodgeResponded 8 January 2018

Hi lupemarie, Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your visit to Rivertime Ecolodge Resort. We had a great time with you too. We can see your passion in working with teaching adults. We believe that you will do a great job in that. You...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017

My family and I stayed here for a few nights in August. We had a nice stay overall and were very well looked after by Sam who runs it with his family who were also very kind, particularly Autumn. Before we arrived we had a...More

1  Thank Francesca2267
Response from SamThammavongsa, General Manager at Rivertime Resort and EcolodgeResponded 8 January 2018

Hi Francesca2267, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the slow reply. We are happy that you had a good time at Rivertime Ecolodge Resort. We hope that it will be a time that you and family will always remember about Laos and...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

YOUTUBE: UNFINISHED FOOTSTEPS. We'd heard from a few people that Vientiane was a place for a quick stop over, to then swiftly move on. Luckily we found the Rivertime Resort, and had a fantastic stay. A great place to unwind and clear your mind. We...More

Thank Chris R
Response from SamThammavongsa, Manager at Rivertime Resort and EcolodgeResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Chris R, Thank you for coming and visiting Rivertime Resort. We all had a great time with you both. It was our pleasure in getting to know you and may you both continue safely through your travels. Cheers, Rivertime Team

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Thank you guys for the hospitality. We had a great relaxing moment. We understand that it is under renovation but at least, we could find a place that is a bit "human" and give a kindb of local feeling. Just something that can be improved:...More

Thank nickal06
Response from SamThammavongsa, Manager at Rivertime Resort and EcolodgeResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The prior response you received was inappropriate and unprofessional. We are now under new management...More

Reviewed 29 December 2016

I stayed 1 night at Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge with some friends in May. It was a very pleasant experience. The bungalows are simple but nice. Their river pool is a cool idea since the current in the river is very strong and makes it...More

Thank olabubu
Response from RtRSam, Manager at Rivertime Resort and EcolodgeResponded 30 December 2016

Hello olabubu, Thanks for the feed back and do hope you and your friends come back. My apologize for the slowness of the lunch. Our staff make all meals when ordered; it takes longer because of no prep foods done in advance. Everything gets cut...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345621
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Pool
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Details
Price range
US$10 - US$20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
US$10 - US$20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (24)
Pool & Beach (11)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jonbabco
6 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SamThammavongsa | Property representative |
Hi, Rivertime is located about 30 km, or a 50-minute drive, outside of Vientiane. The easiest way to get here is to contact me, preferably by e-mail us, or, alternatively, by phone (Sam (English/Lao) on (+856) 20 5810... More
1
Vote
Juliana C
31 January 2017|
Answer
Response from SamThammavongsa | Property representative |
Hi, We do have internet available. However, understand that we live out in the countryside. There are times that it works great and there are time is doesn't work at all. My answer is it is mostly reliable. Thanks, Sam
0
Votes
snowmeiser
31 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ruairi1959 | Reviewed this property |
rivertimeresort is the first part of the address and it is a hotmail account (TripAdvisor doesn't allow you to post email addresses!). The owner's name is Barnaby. He is English but also speaks French, German and Lao.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"go for a bungalow"
Read review
"All rooms are private and set delightfully in jungle with interconnecting paths."
Read review
"Go somewhere else until renovated."
Read review
"Wifi available in the office only. Detached bungalows are the best option."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing