We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge

115 reviews
Save
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (24)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“rural laos”(8 reviews)
“the river”(41 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (115)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Rivertime Resort and Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
53
33
9
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
53
33
9
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating restaurantrural laosthe rivercabintubingbungalowssamaccommodationnetsmosquitobeerlao
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I found Rivertime a wonderful experience and would much rather stay here than anywhere in Vientiane. The place is not for everyone (it is rural Laos, after all), but for those who can handle sleeping in a rustic cabin among the trees it offers plenty...More

2  Thank Fred L
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Fantastic! We had a great time here, we had had enough of the hussle and bussle of Thailands capital and were so ready to CHILL OUT! The eco lodge was perfect for just that. We were collected from the city by Sit. He was very...More

1  Thank Leiha S
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Nice little getaway from Vientiane. Food is not so exciting but there is a great Thai restaurant next door. Rooms are ok, management is BritishbeentoolonginLao style. We got a massage from the local woman (as per their list of things to do). She was very...More

2  Thank dsharmawinter
Response from SamThammavongsa, Manager at Rivertime Resort and EcolodgeResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are now under new management and would like to reach out regardless of the...More

Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

If you are doing your research and wondering about this place then let me state a few facts for you. It is 30km away from Vientiane, it's in a rain forest and it's by a river. That means that you stay pretty much on site...More

Thank Tom W
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and off course the fact that you know before it is a ecolodge in the jungle it can not be that eco stands here for very dirty and we had one off the private bungalows i did not look...More

1  Thank mimiton
Response from BarnsLaos, Manager at Rivertime Resort and EcolodgeResponded 22 November 2012

First of all, having looked at the prices of the previous accommodations you have reviewed (luxury safari lodges in Africa at $495/$240/$75/$150 per night etc) I have no idea what you expected at an ecolodge in rural Laos for $38 per night. I feel no...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1789101121
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Pool
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Details
Price range
US$10 - US$20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
US$10 - US$20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (24)
Pool & Beach (11)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jonbabco
6 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SamThammavongsa | Property representative |
Hi, Rivertime is located about 30 km, or a 50-minute drive, outside of Vientiane. The easiest way to get here is to contact me, preferably by e-mail us, or, alternatively, by phone (Sam (English/Lao) on (+856) 20 5810... More
1
Vote
Juliana C
31 January 2017|
Answer
Response from SamThammavongsa | Property representative |
Hi, We do have internet available. However, understand that we live out in the countryside. There are times that it works great and there are time is doesn't work at all. My answer is it is mostly reliable. Thanks, Sam
0
Votes
snowmeiser
31 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ruairi1959 | Reviewed this property |
rivertimeresort is the first part of the address and it is a hotmail account (TripAdvisor doesn't allow you to post email addresses!). The owner's name is Barnaby. He is English but also speaks French, German and Lao.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"go for a bungalow"
Read review
"All rooms are private and set delightfully in jungle with interconnecting paths."
Read review
"Go somewhere else until renovated."
Read review
"Wifi available in the office only. Detached bungalows are the best option."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing