We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Galle Face Hotel Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,275: English reviews
Skanderborg
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect for everything in Colombo. The room we had was small, though, and yet it was a bit pricy. The restaurant outdoor facilities have perfect view of the sea and sunsets.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Galle Face Hotel and for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel once more. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We arrived at the Galle Face Hotel upon arrival to Colombo. The approach to the hotel looks a bit tatty, but inside is very impressive. Although we arrived well after check-in time, the room was not ready. We were asked to take a seat a greeted with a wet refreshing towel. We note however that some guests received a drink,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard W
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Galle Face Hotel. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Your comments have all been addressed. We do hope you will visit us again. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Reserved a 2-night stay online and selected a "Colonial Room - Landmark Ocean View" room with a higher room rate. On check-in, was taken to a room on the street side and was told it was an "upgrade". When I objected, I was told to wait in the room while my reservation was checked. I received a call that an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charles P
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will look at the noise levels in this room and take all necessary actions. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Travelling as one of 2 couples around Sri Lanka. The stay at the Galle Face hotel was booked approx 1 year previously via our travel agent. Both couples had chosen Ocean view junior suites at the Galle Face hotel for the final night of our trip. We arrived at approx. 14.30 and although our friends were able to be allocated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank qaman90
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read your review. It was indeed an unfortunate incident where your room was not allocated on time. The room that was given to you was indeed the category that you were paying for albeit, it was not the same as your friends. This is because we are an old hotel and not every room is...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We have been watching others have high tea at Galle Face Hotel, today it was our turn. We were not disappointed. The tower of food was beautifully presented with both hot, cold, sweet and savoury delicacies. You have the option of tea/coffee or with Prosecco. We opted for the Prosecco package which included all you could drink between 4and 6pm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peta W
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting the Galle Face Hotel and leaving such a kind review about our Afternoon Tea. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience. We hope you will visit us once again. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night but the hotel was great and also the high tea in The Verandah restaurant had plenty of variety and food (1800 rs each) The room we got had no view and it was near the lobby so try not to get that one. However, all the amenities and bed was really good. The outdoor pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for visiting the Galle Face Hotel. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you to our hotel once more. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

philadelphia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Impeccable historic hotel recently restored with wonderful accommodations most facing ocean. Excellent meals in open air Verandah restaurant and views in the 1864 restaurant. Rooms and baths feature stylish features, oriental carpets, impeccable bathrooms with anglo style furniture. Great large salt water pool and private beach. Highly recommend as it transports you back to more genteel times. Check out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pa2
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for visiting the Galle Face Hotel. We are so pleased to read your comments about our history, facilities and service. We hope to see you at our hotel once more. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for on night at the beginning of our Sri Lanka trip. The room was well kept and spacious. With a large bathroom and view looking out to sea. The staff were attentive and the service was brilliant. Would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for visiting the Galle Face Hotel. It is such a delight to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us once more! Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location. The history of the hotel was amazing and the museum was worth a look at. We had a lovely 30 th wedding anniversary there. They upgraded our room free of charge and there was even a lovely cake waiting for us on arrival. Great sitting eating diner overlooking the sea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jammyblue
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

How wonderful to read your review. Thank you very much for visiting the Galle Face Hotel for your special celebration. We are so happy to have made this occasion even more memorable for you. We look forward to your next visit to our property. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We Stayed one night here within our srilanka tour.Rooms are large and modern. Staff was friendly and always help to us.very near to the beach and close to the town. We highly recomend this place who are willing to stay this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teresaH358PK
Antony P, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting the Galle Face Hotel and for your review. It is a delight to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager

1,979 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1793)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (473)
Viewed
Dining (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (178)
Viewed
View from Room (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (75)
Viewed
Other (668)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Premier Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.4 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
1,609 reviews
0.4 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 52 in Colombo
2,021 reviews
2.8 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
702 reviews
4.4 km away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Presented proudly as Sri Lanka's iconic and historic hotel, Galle Face Hotel is located in heart of Colombo City, along the seafront and facing the famous Galle Face Green.The hotel has 158 well-appointed rooms and suites, with some offering excellent views across the Indian ocean and the fascinating view of evening sunset.There are three restaurants, a gym, spa and unique saltwater swimming pool, overlooking the seafront. Guests here will be convenient as the hotel offers close access to many of the business district,historic cultural sites and landmarks in Colombo, as well nearby shopping. The hotel is a 45-60min journey from the airport.Guests seeking a glimpse of Colombo's history will enjoy the charm of The Galle Face Hotel with its unique, unaltered setting since 1864. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Address: No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $211 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Face Hotel Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Orbitz, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Galle Face Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Family Hotel in Colombo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Business Hotel in Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Galle Face Hotel Colombo staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Galle Face Hotel Colombo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for seaview room”
 of 5 bubbles QasimJafri, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a superior room with ocean view, really nice, but next time I would prefer the junior suite not facing to the hall and city ;)”
 of 5 bubbles viridian05, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view. Room 4006 is very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneVictoria, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the landmark with a small terrace was very pleasant. ”
 of 5 bubbles free005, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be located away from banquet rooms: a wedding went on and on into the night keeping us awake.”
 of 5 bubbles BeowulfCA, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5