We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Beit Al Salam

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Beit Al Salam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Start your review of Beit Al Salam
 Click to rate
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at the Beit Al Salam2 (second home) for one night only. The first time were pleasantly surprised hospitality and willingness to help of the onwner of this place, Mouhamed. Spacious clean rooms, fully equipped kitchen and a lovely patio with a fountain: a great place for conversation with friends. Mouhamed provided invaluable assistance in organizing travel to Amman...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roman_Gutchenko
Lyon, France
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Would be a terrific option if the price was the one of a cheap guest house, which Beit al Salam is : 20 euros maximum for a double room and I would not complain. But here you have the most expensive guest house I've ever seen. Seems the room downstairs are better, but wouldn't know. We moved the next day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ombline
voyagetosyria, Owner at Beit Al Salam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear of your disapointment with our home and the price. If you are comparing prices in Europe to current Damascus prices, we can understand why you may have felt Beit Al Salam to be overpriced. However, we have priced our home competitively according to DAMASCUS market, not the European market. Today, if one wants...

Poznan, Poland
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We spent 5 days at Beit Mariam (one of the guesthouses they offer). Before we booked the place there we had read all the good reviews so we expected a lot and we were quite disappointed when we arrived there. The place is very basic- I would say it is a cheap hostel level. For the same price we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeszekPoland
voyagetosyria, Manager at Beit Al Salam, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on Beit Mariam and Muhammad. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with the price of Beit Mariam. Our houses are priced competitively with comparable accommodations in Damascus. It is safe to say that Damascus is surprisingly expensive to many travelers as the latest guidebooks that have been released are already out of date....

Berlin
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Apparently there are several guesthouses that are being marketed under that name, Beit al Salam, via the website voyagetosyria.com. At least where we have been placed does not look like the photographs that are shown here. Where we have been staying would be sort of ok if you don't expect very much, but it is clearly overpriced (65 EUR per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelBerlin
voyagetosyria, Owner at Beit Al Salam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We always appreciate our guests’ feedback, good or bad. We are currently addressing the issues you mentioned in your review of Beit Al Salam. To stay competitive, we have lowered the price, updated our guest rooms and now serve free breakfast daily. We have priced our homes according to Damascus market prices, which...

kilkenny
Reviewed 3 October 2010

we stayed in their other house just steps away from the Umayyad Mosque, the location was excellent. mohammed is such a nice guy, he couldnt do enough to help you. he gave us a mobile phone with a syrian sim card so we could call him if we needed anything at any time. i would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aoifeeers
Erding
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Visited Damascus last May and had a excellent stay in Mohammands house. He took great care of us and even showed us the whole town. The house has two main areas: The ground flour with several rooms and a great lobby, which resembles an antique Roman villa. And the first floor, with an indoor balcony around the lobby... When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montix
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We just came back from spending one week in Beit Al Salam, Damascus. We rented the ground floor part of the house which comes with a courtyard adjoining with a seating area and 2 bedrooms. The house is clean and comfortable. The focal point of the house is the courtyard which allows plenty of sunlight into the house, and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smofz
oxford
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Beit Al Salam gave us a few beautiful nights in Old City of Damascus. Especially, the cool and calm mornings - with the ancient, thick walls and courtyard protecting us from the heat, while we wake-up slowly and make a coffee. Mohammed, our host, worked really hard to sort out everything we needed, meeting our taxi from the airport at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stark101
london
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Fantastic service, nothing was too much trouble. However, we were disappointed to discover that the comfortable seating area (pictured) was only available to guests staying in the downstairs apartment. Fine if you don't want to spend time hanging out at the guest house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chewit007
Naples, Italy
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Muhammad the owner gave us a room for three in a house five minutes from the doors of the city in a nevertheless old neighbourhood with a Middle-Ages cemetery and a food market nearby. The house was very fresh, clean with a large patio. Muhammad proved very friendly and helpful, always available when we called him.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francois_Godard

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of the ancient city of Damascus, within the old city walls, Beit Al Salam tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding modern city, Beit Al Salam (which means “house of peace”) is an ideal refuge for travelers and students that wish catch up on some R&R or studying. Yet, it is a short 5-minute walk to all the old city has to offer for example, Umayyad Mosque, Al Azem Palace, Souq Al Hamidiyya, Souq Al Bzouriyya (spice market), Damascus Castle, Bab Touma, and charming restaurants and nightlife. The bus stop for Damascus University is also only five minutes walking distance. Beit Al Salam allows you to travel back in time but still enjoy all the modern conveniences our home has to offer such as air conditioning, clothes washer, western bathroom, television and satellite. We have 2 double rooms each with 2 extra wide single beds, and one triple room with three single beds. Also in our clean and comfortable rooms you will find a desk and chair, a small closet, air conditioning, satellite TV, sheets, blankets and towels. There is a common kitchen, western bathroom and terrace. Please email your flight info. Call once you arrive. Our staff, usually Muhammad, will meet you at Bab Touma Square and escort you to the property. Breakfast not included in the on-line room rate. Check-in 2pm. Check-out 11am. Deposits paid at time of booking. Remaining balance due in cash upon arrival at the house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beit Al Salam

Address: 42 Mariam Street , Bab Alsalam, Damascus, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beit Al Salam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?