We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gateway Hotel & Apartments

203 reviews
Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (5)
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good36%
  • Average30%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“wild orchid”(4 reviews)
“late check”(4 reviews)
“t bone steak”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (203)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Gateway Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
29
68
59
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
29
68
59
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild orchidlate checkt bone steaklocated close to the airportgreat place to unwinddecent barshort termbetween flightsquality servicegood nights sleepnight lifeconference facilitiesclean roomspizzabreakfast and dinnerrecommend staying herewi fi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2017

The hotel is located about five minutes’ drive from Port Moresby Airport. I found the Gateway Hotel staff to be friendly and helpful at the front desk and restaurants. However some members of our group commented that certain staff at the reception desk were rude...More

Thank Lindsay R
Response from Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & ApartmentsResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to read that your overall stay was positive, and appreciate the feedback regarding areas for us to improve. Thank you also for acknowledging the team and the service provided to...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017

I typically stay at either the Grand Papua or Ela Beach whilst in PoM once a month, however given a late night arrival and early morning departure, thought I'd try their sister hotel, the Gateway. The Gateway is a typical airport hotel with smaller rooms...More

1  Thank WanderingTraveller79
Response from Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & ApartmentsResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am indeed disappointing to read of your poor experience while in transit at the Gateway Hotel. As we value our guests feedback, I would to invite you to contact me directly at...More

Reviewed 2 March 2017

I have and continued to stay here due to convenience. For the price you don't get much at all, but then again its the dynamics of the PNG due to limited supply. Nice and friendly staff and basic rooms. Now finally with the addition of...More

1  Thank Ravi R
Response from Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & ApartmentsResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoy the convenience and the friendly service provided to you by the staff. It's nice to read that you also enjoy the Jackson's Rooftop Bar for...More

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

This is my second time staying at the Gateway Hotel being a local sometimes you just need to get away and have a break from the grind of work. I stayed for 2 nights on a fantastic weekend rate, the new Sizzler restaurant that has...More

Thank Clayton01
Response from Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & ApartmentsResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased to read that your overall getaway was fantastic. Thank you also for acknowledging the value and the service that our new Sizzler's restaurant is providing...More

Reviewed 25 February 2017

I have been a long-term resident in a number of apartments at Gateway. This place has basically everything you need. Facilities: This is a safe location for all visitors. The gym is excellent quality. Both pools are clean and good size. BBQ area is convenient...More

Thank M_D_C336
Response from Robert O, Manager at Gateway Hotel & ApartmentsResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review regarding your stay with us. Your detailed response of the services and facilities available to our guests along with the service provided by our team is greatly appreciated. We most certainly look...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345640
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$115 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$115 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (5)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michael P
9 February 2016|
Answer
Response from iamarugger | Reviewed this property |
They easily have rooms for a family of four. The children in a bunk bed. You guys in a double.
0
Votes
Sarah K
5 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from CoralSeaHotels | Property representative |
Hello Sarah, You have contacted Gateway Hotel & Apartments, which is part of the Coral Sea Hotel Group. We have 3 hotels in Port Moresby, the newest luxury hotel in POM, Grand Papua Hotel (located in the heart of NCD... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Do not get rooms close to the main entrance"
Read review
"Get a room facing the entrance to the hotel. Road side rooms are noisy."
Read review
"try the room in the second floor and adjust the A/C cause it's too warm the room"
Read review
"Balcony rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing