We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
19 Rue Auguste Brun Quartier Latin, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800 New Caledonia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$96
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
US$80
View deal
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$96
PricelineUS$96
Trip.comUS$97
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 28/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Gondwana
Updated 28/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 20 hotels in Noumea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GONDWANA HOTEL, the first "High Environmental Quality" certified hotel in the whole of Overseas Territories for its new part and the first cultural hotel in New Caledonia for its renovated historic part, presents a unique concept in Nouméa, the capital of our beautiful “Caillou". Ideally located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, in the city center, all the amenities necessary for a successful tourist and business stay are present proximity to the business center of Nouméa, the port, restaurants, bars, cafes the Nouméa market and many others. The buildings of our hotel "Le CITY GREEN" and "Le CITY ART" are linked by a central patio with a Zen atmosphere, made up of gardens with local medicinal, aromatic and edible plants to illustrate the richness of our biodiversity and our population knowledge We also serve our delicious zero waste breakfasts there Access to services oriented with respect for the environment and a warm welcome make our hotel a privileged place of passage and intergenerational and multicultural meetings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Free public parking nearby
Paid private parking on-site
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
145Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 37
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John D wrote a review 19 Sep
Mullumbimby, Australia46 contributions27 helpful votes
Just have to endorse the previous reviews. All the staff were so very friendly, even though I spoke almost no French! Room was spotless and the breakfast was a welcome start to the day. Being central, we could walk to a choice of restaurants. For me, the best part was that the hotel was not part of a chain of resorts so the other guests were often local helping me immerse myself into the culture of New Caledonia. Big thank you to all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equally comfortable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gondwana Hotel, Ventes at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 1 week ago
Dear John, All Gondwana Team join me to thank you for your review. It's a pleasure to welcome again australian tourist and pratice again english. We appreciate that you were able to meet locals and immerse yourself in Caledonian culture at Gondwana Hotel. In fact, sharing the knowledge with internationals is one of our goal. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely; Delphine, sales marketing manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve B wrote a review 15 Sep
1 contribution
Located in the latin quarter near shops, cafes and the harbor. Nice clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. Very eco conscience. Large room and very moderately priced. Handy for us to access the harbor
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: elevator is slow, get a lower floor and use the steps
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gondwana Hotel, Ventes at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Steve B., Thank you for taking time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your sustainable and cultural experience in the heart of Noumea at the Gondwana Hotel. We hope to see again soon. Sincerely, Delphine, sales marketing manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie C wrote a review 13 Sep
New Zealand
I loved staying here and was so glad I switched there, a month or so before arriving, from a hotel in Anse Vata to this hotel. It was wonderfully convenient to everywhere I wanted to visit, to great shops and wonderful cafes and restaurants. The staff were lovely and cheerful, helping arrange taxis and airport transfers for me and generally helped make my stay a lovely one. The room was clean, comfortable and - at the end of a long day out - peaceful. I had a lovely holiday and really enjoyed myself. This will be the place I stay at again when I revisit New Caledonia - and I highly recommend it to others.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gondwana Hotel, Ventes at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam, What a pleasure to read you wonderful feedback. We are delight that you really enjoyed your stay at Gondwana Hotel. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we will be glad to see you again when you will be back in Nouméa ! Sincerely, Delphine, sales marketing manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evenement2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
I received a warm welcome before being given the key to my clean, contemporary room. The tropical breakfast, served with big smiles, certainly did not leave me hungry! Parking was secure with the same space allocated for the duration of stay. Easy walk to the waterfront. A couple of good restaurants within a block.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gondwana Hotel, Ventes at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Sir, We really thank you to taking time to leave us this wonderfull review :-) We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, our services and our welcoming. Hope to receive you again soon Sincerely, Delphine, sales manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jessicapurbrick wrote a review Aug 2022
The staff were excellent, they were incredibly helpful, friendly and welcoming, I can not speak highly enough! The hotel was clean and comfortable and offered a delicious breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the area or near the marina.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gondwana Hotel, Ventes at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear Jessicapurbrick, What an excellent review ! This is our best reward. Our team is dedicated to satisfying our customers and your comment proves that all our efforts are paying off. We really thank you to sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor :-) Please to welcome you again ! Sincerely, Delphine, sales marketing manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TA2016AC! wrote a review Aug 2022
14 contributions4 helpful votes
From the get go the staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome, informed and ready for the experience of Noumea during wet and windy winters weather. That said we had a day when we hired ebikes and rode out to Keundu beach and Canons de Nouville which was most enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Delphine D, Marketing at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Dear Odyssey821133, We really thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our services and our friendly staff. Indeed, the weather at the moment in New Caledonia is not the best and we are delighted you were able to enjoy a ride to Nouville with our electric bikes. Please to welcome you again at Gondwana Hotel. Sincerely, Delphine, sales marketing manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samcorb84 wrote a review Jul 2022
Tauranga, New Zealand
Friendly staff, good English, good amenities and nice breakfast. Room was clean and tidy. Helpful team. Good location for the harbour and tours, close to connections to cultural centre and airports. Word.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Delphine D, Marketing at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear Samcorb84, All Gondwana team thank you for your very good review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and all our services. Hope you had a nice stay in New Caledonia. Please to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Delphine, sales marketing manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ayana G wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We stayed here for about 4 days and it’s such a convenient location and the staff are so helpful and friendly! The room is super clean! Would definitely recommend staying here if you’re staying in Noumea, very close to the centre
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Delphine D, Marketing at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Dear Ayanagattea, Thanks a lot for your review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you in our establishment. We are glad that you spend a nice moment with us. Hope to see you again if you will come back at Nouméa for next holidays. Best Regards, Delphine, sales manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luc JMont wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived on the early evening showed price was 8000 XF but showed us a "nicer" room for $9000 High pillows, smelly and dirty. Bed was wobbly to soft . We didn't manage to sleep. Difficult parking in the city. Expensive parking at hotel. Nicely renovated for looks no comfort. Breakfast area is nice packet's are expensive. With $20 you have a nicer breakfast elsewhere. Our advice is avoid this hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Delphine D, Marketing at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Good Morning Alma, As you can notice, we do NOT have a lot of bad comments and the reason why is that what you are suggesting in your comment is unfounded. Let’s remind the readers for your comment the context in which you arrived: You did not make any bookings AND you had no credit cards when you arrived in our hotel looking for “cheap” accommodation early evening. Please note that not a lot of hotels will take a guest without credit card but we did… Our manager, Moeana took the time to give a tour and showed you the two room types we had in our 2 stars and 3 stars part of the hotel. As you said in your comment: Our 8000XPF room and our 9000XPF room. Question: why did you stay and book if you were not satisfied? We did NOT trick you into anything and especially NOT into paying anything else. Proof: You only paid the night and nothing else. Nouméa is an expensive city, but this you should have known before arriving on this island. Our breakfast prices start at 12 AUD and the most complete one is at 28AUD, but knowing that prices can be a bit steep for international guest, we also have an A la Carte menu with starting price from 2 AUD. You also could have mentioned how our staff was amiable with you (we found your handbag left alone in the patio, and kept it safe for you until you realized you had misplaced it) Anyhow, if you had asked, we would have probably given you another sort of pillow and I can assure you that there were not smelly nor dirty or you would see way more complaints like yours on our pages. To add up to this, you ONLY mentioned that the pillows were too big upon checking out. You NEVER mentioned to any of us about “dirty” or “smelly”. We do hope that you will be more understanding and nicer with other hotels on our Island. Emilie COSTE Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peterkham88 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 helpful vote
The hotel is in very convenient location. The room is clean, decorated and designed in modern fashion. I like the range of bottles of chocolate, milk powder and brown sugar. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Delphine D, Marketing at Hotel Gondwana
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Sir, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us your opinion on Tripadvisor. All Gondwana team and me are glad to know that you spend a nice stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again for your next travel in Noumea. Sincerely, Delphine, sales marketing
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New CaledoniaGrand TerreNoumea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Gondwana
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Gondwana?
Nearby attractions include Musee de Nouvelle Caledonie (0.2 km), Cathedrale St Joseph de Noumea (0.4 km), and Noumea Morning Market (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Gondwana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Gondwana?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Gondwana?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Gondwana?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Gondwana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fishgood, The Best Cafe, and La Chaumière.
Does Hotel Gondwana have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Gondwana offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Gondwana?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Gondwana offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Gondwana?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Gondwana?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Site Historique De l'Ile Nou (4.6 km).