We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Rue de La Riviera, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800 New Caledonia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (103)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (315)

About

#10 of 20 hotels in Noumea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Stanley Noumea is located on the water's edge in the heart of Sainte Marie Bay. The outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by sun loungers and offers beautiful lagoon views. Each studio and suite at Le Stanley Hôtel has a wonderful sea view, is air-conditioned and includes a flat-screen TV, kitchenette and tiled floors. Every room has a private bathroom and balcony to enjoy the views over the lagoon. Featuring a covered outdoor terrace overlooking the bay of St. Mary, the Stanley Restaurant serves a mix of local and international flavours for breakfast each morning. Regular bus and taxi services run to and from Noumea town centre, just a 10-minute drive away. Tina Golf Course is a 15-minute drive away. Le Stanley Hôtel Noumea offers a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel at an extra cost.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
156Reviews3Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 75
  • 30
  • 11
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stephen H wrote a review Jun 2022
Sandbach, United Kingdom8 contributions
I stumbled across this page by accident & had to recall my experience of staying here for almost a week some 22 years ago! (I had to choose July 2021 as date of stay as that is the oldest date available). I remember the hospitality & helpfulness of the staff, the lovely swimming pool, the stunning view across the lagoon & the clear water with so many brightly coloured fish I had never seen before. The location is maybe not the best but we made use of the local buses & managed very well. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed there & we used the restaurant most nights for dinner & the food was exceptional. I have very fond memories of Le Stanley & I'm glad to see that you are still thriving.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
cliffordchambers wrote a review Dec 2019
Europe630 contributions293 helpful votes
This hotel has seen better days and the salt laden sea air is taking its toll, but the staff are lovely, the views are beautiful and it's very practical for the early morning flight from Magenta to Ile des Pins. You can also leave your hired car here and the hire company pick it up the next day. You can buy frozen food and heat it up in your microwave, nothing special but it feeds you OK. We had a good night's sleep here, the breakfast was OK, with nice views over the bay and, as I said, the staff are really nice and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Hello, Thank you for your good review and recommendation. We are very happy that you find the staff NICE and HELPFUL and that you love the fantastic VIEW ON THE SEA ! In our little shop, you can also enjoy fresh baguette and genuine croissant. Concerning the location, you’re right : it’s better to have a rental car (even if the city bus stops in front of the hotel and even you can use taxis) to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minute’s drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography. Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley ! Best regards from Nouméa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VeroniqueM68 wrote a review Oct 2019
Brisbane, Australia111 contributions37 helpful votes
Room clean and serviceable. Yes it is a little out of town but we used the local buses with no problems. The hotel arranged shuttle to/from international airport at our request. Green/white taxis were not expensive however we waited half an hour at the cinema for pick up on Friday evening but then booked the lovely female driver (who was accompanied by her husband) for further trips. Again reasonable cost but en liquide (cash) only. French breakfast excellent quality and value. During le petit dejeuner on the deck we saw two large stingrays close in to shore. Wow! Some distance to the local supermarket but the hotel has a little store with cheese, terrines and fresh baguette daily. Even the odd croissant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 21 Oct 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for your good review and recommendation. We are very happy that you find the room clean and serviceable ; and that you enjoy your stay ! We are also proud that you like our French breakfast with fresh baguette and genuine croissant. Concerning the location, we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car (even if the city bus stop in front of the hotel and even you can use taxis) to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minute’s drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography. Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley ! Best regards from Noumea. The Stanley Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
clarebelleuk wrote a review Jul 2019
Christchurch, New Zealand323 contributions144 helpful votes
We stayed at The Stanley for two nights in a sea view room with a little balcony with that lovely view of the lagoon. We enjoyed evening wine, our morning coffee, watching birds, boats and kite surfers from our ring side seat. The hotel is dated but clean and the bed was comfortable. We own a small hotel in NZ and always appreciate similar small operations. Staff were incredibly friendly at check-in and helpful, printing off boarding passes for a flight at no extra charge. We'd read the reviews before booking but liked the idea of it being out of the main part of town. It is really quiet at night. But I like that. We had a car and there is a carpark so the location wasn't a problem. It is pretty tight and some strangers car dented our door. The pool area was surprisingly small, hotels often mislead with stretch photos but we enjoyed a little paddle and sunbathed. We barely used the kitchen as we ate out for all meals. One night would have been enough, Noumea in itself isn't that interesting, the islands and the rest of New Caledonia was way more exciting for us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 15 Jul 2019
Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you loved the location & the GREAT view. You’re right : Le Stanley is the best hotel for relaxing and quiet holidays with amazing and picturesque views on the sea from ALL OUR ROOMS. Concerning the location, you’re also right and we always remind it : it’s better to have a rental car to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. Last but not least : we are very proud that you found our staff incredibly FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. This one of our priorities ! We will share your nice review with the team. Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley ! Tropical regards, The Stanley Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cameron T wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Disappointed after reading reviews and expecting much more. Earlier in the trip we stayed at Casa Del Sole which was cheaper and far far superior and better location. Le Stanley is looking tired with parts of the exterior crumbling, hot water barely over luke warm (had to go max temp for a bearable shower) but the worst thing is the location..ok the setting is fine but nothing close by... restaurants, bars, shops, patisseries all require a taxi/bus... Do yourself a favour and stay Baie des Citrons, or Anse Vata Beach area instead
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 7 Jul 2019
Hello, Thank you for your post but it sounds really unfair. You just forgot to say that you were outclassed for your convenience and had a really beautiful room for a little price… About the other points : having no hot water in our rooms is definitively impossible and you have not reported it to our staff. In order to be able to welcome our guests better, we carry out, as every year, renovations and small adjustments. Concerning the location, we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car (even if the city bus stop in front of the hotel) to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minute’s drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography. Regards, The Stanley Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick H wrote a review May 2019
Normanville, Australia26 contributions2 helpful votes
The Hotel Le Stanley is right on the seafront in a quiet part of Noumea about 5-6 km from the main part of town. We stayed for 6 nights in total (5 + 1). The view from the balcony is lovely and the area is really peaceful, except the infrequent planes to the local airport. Being out of town, I would highly recommend hiring a car. The room has a kitchenette so self catering is a possibility, however the nearest mini market is about 2km away. We didn't use the green and white taxis but got caught with private ones and paid way more than we should have the first night which made our decision to hire a car simple. While the hotel is quite plain, neat, clean and in a grwat setting, the staff were great. They helped with restaurant recommendations and bookings, rang the car rental company and stored a suitcase while we were away for 2 nights, my French is terrible but the ladies in reception were fabulous, I would stay here again, without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 26 May 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for your review and high rate of recommendation. We are proud that you find our hotel very clean and comfortable in a peaceful area. We are very happy that you loved the place : you’re very right, Le Stanley is the best hotel for a QUIET SETTING with amazing and picturesque views on the sea and a very pleasant swimming pool. Our guests are always very satisfied with it ! Many of them choose, like you, to rent a car and we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car (even if the city bus stop in front of the hotel) to take advantage better of its stay. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, 10 minutes from the city centre. This par 72 course is 5,600 metres long and really makes the most of its varied geography. We are also very happy that you find the staff friendly and helpful and FABULOUS. Thank you very much for it ! We will share with the team your nice review ! Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley ! Best regards from Noumea. The Stanley Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark D wrote a review Feb 2019
Sydney, Australia74 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at Le Stanley for a short break. It’s a very relaxing hotel. The best feature is the wonderful views over the lagoon from the rooms, with each having a private balcony. Great place to eat breakfast or have an evening wine. The rooms are good size, although the furniture and fittings are getting dated they are still functional. If staying here though you need to plan. The hotel restaurant only opens for dinner two nights a week and there is nowhere walkable to eat or even get a drink. You will need to plan for self catering which is easy with kitchenettes in each room. It’s really best to have a car if staying here as all attractions of Noumea are too far to walk. Overall a very relaxing place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 25 Apr 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you find our hotel QUIET and RELAXING. You’re perfectly right about it ! We are really satisfied that you loved the GREAT view and the private balcony (in each room) ! Concerning the location, the bus stop right at the hotel. But we prefer to remind it : it’s better to have a rental car to take advantage better of its stay and of self-catering. With a car, the location of Le Stanley is really ideal : only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), not far from the Magenta airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins) and very close to the road of the South which leads to the Park of the blue River or to the Lake of Yaté and its surprising bathed forest. The Stanley is also situated near Tina Golf course which is located in 80 hectares of parkland, and 10 minutes from the city centre. Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley ! Tropical regards, The Stanley Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony D wrote a review Dec 2018
Salamander Bay, Australia2 contributions
We stayed at Le Stanley for a week, in a suite, in mid-December. It was a wonderful stay and the view from the balcony and bedroom over the bay was stunning. The accommodation was first rate and the staff were excellent, with good English. A couple of points to be aware of: the restaurant, which has a lovely view of the bay, is open for breakfast each day but has limited openings for lunch and dinner. The location is not in the centre of Noumea but about 5 Kms out. You will need a rental car to get about as the public transport is limited. We are planning our return to Le Stanley already.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Best views are on the upper floors.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 8 Jan 2019
Hello. Thank you for your good review and high recommendation ! We are very happy that you liked the room, the amazing view and our staff : at Le Stanley, it’s very important for us to welcome friendly and to be helpful with all our guests ! Concerning the location, you’re right : Hotel le Stanley is situated in a very smart, secure and quiet area… But we never fail to remind it : it’s better to have a car to take advantage better of its stay. We hope to see you soon ! Best regards from Noumea. The Stanley hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie K wrote a review Sep 2018
7 contributions1 helpful vote
This place is away from the party area and well away from the centre of Noumea. It was quiet and all the rooms have magnificent views over the water to the magnificent mountains of the South. Don't take a hotel in the main CBD of Noumea - it seems far too dangerous. This place was safe and secure - their attached restaurant was absolutely delicious and reasonably priced for NC. One of the chefs came to talk to us at the conclusion of our meal - so wonderfully engaging and helpful. The hotel staff were charming and helpful with our lack of French being no problem.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 3 Oct 2018
Hello. Thank you for your good review and high recommendation ! We are very happy that you liked the room, the amazing view and our staff: at Le Stanley, it’s very important to welcome friendly and to be helpful with each guest ! Concerning the location, you’re right : Hotel le Stanley is situated in a very smart, secure and quiet area… The most important point for a relaxing and comfortable stay ! Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley. Best regards, The Stanley Hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
72Alessandro wrote a review Sep 2018
Montreal, Canada32 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed for one night and I have nothing to complain about. Staff was very friendly The room was clean and the most beautiful sea view. The kitchenette was fully equipped. It's close to the domestic airport
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from William P, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Responded 6 Sep 2018
Hello, Thank you very much for your review. We are very grateful that you highly recommend our hotel and give us the top score ! We are very happy that you find the staff friendly. Thank you very much for it. We will share with the team your nice review. We are also proud that you find the room clean and that you appreciate the full equipped kitchenette and the most beautiful sea view. Our guests are always very satisfied with it. We are very satisfied that you loved the location of our hotel : you’re very right, Le Stanley is only a few minutes drive to Anse Vata (the touristic area with a lot of restaurants and beaches), and very near to the Magenta domestic airport (place of departure for Islands Loyalty and Ile des Pins). Hope to see you soon at Le Stanley ! Best regards from Noumea. The Stanley hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New CaledoniaGrand TerreNoumea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Nearby attractions include Maison de la Perle (3.0 km), Le Musee Maritime de Nouvelle-Caledonie (4.0 km), and Aquarium des Lagons Nouvelle Caledonie (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marmite et Tire Bouchon, restaurant L'arlequin, and La Table des Gourmets.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Le Stanley Noumea have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Le Stanley Noumea offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Le Stanley Noumea have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Le Stanley Noumea offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Le Stanley Noumea?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Site Historique De l'Ile Nou (7.2 km).