We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hideaway Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hideaway Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 596: English reviews
Start your review of Hideaway Island Resort
 Click to rate
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a no frills holiday (albeit the food and drinks are expensive), then this is the place for you. This was our second trip to Hideaway and we were disappointed to see that the place has become a bit run down in two years. Villas are basic and run down. Reef has been severely damaged and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loretta585
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Loretta585, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hideaway Island, we appreciate your comments and suggestions to improve our guest experience. Our Standard and Ocean View Bungalows do not have Air Conditioning, Internet or Television but these services are available in one of our three Self-Contained Villas and we will certainly have...

Sydney
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Firstly the people are fantastic however they do need to speed up their service (blame it on McDonalds) I was there with 50 people for the week all in different style accommodation -I was in the Dormitory area so can only report on this. The resort has now been there for 30 odd years so whilst I wasn't paying for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karamar
vanfresh, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Karamar, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island and we do take seriously your concerns and suggestions. We will be reviewing and doing some upgrading to the Dorm facilities this year and really appreciate your feedback in this area. The small things will be looked at immediately to improve the guest experience...

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We got a last minute deal on Expedia for Xmas day, which turns out to be even better as you don't have to pay any additional snorkel or dive fees if you stay there. You also get free kayak and paddle board hire. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Snorkelling out the front is awesome with lots of colourful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndyAnnable
vanfresh, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear AndyAnnable, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us over Christmas at Hideaway Island Resort and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. All facilities on the island are complimentary for guests staying on the island (with the exception of diving) and we are glad that you were able to take advantage...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Well where to start! We have once again returned to Hideaway and it is like coming home! We cannot thank the management and amazing staff enough for making us so very welcome so thanks to Sam and Paul for the great time and more importantly a huge thank you to our sister Stella, Louisa, Amy, Joe, Vero, Henry and all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen F
vanfresh, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Karen F, for taking the time and for your very generous review of the Resort and all of our wonderful team hear. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Warm regards, Hideaway Island Team

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

went here for my first ever over seas holiday! Good: The food was absolutely beautiful. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful! Not to mention the snorkelling by far the best part about the trip! Bad: It was a shame to see so many people not reading the signs that clearly say " no standing on the reef ". I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Thomasd2311
vanfresh, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Thomasd2311, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island Resort and Marine Sanctuary. We constantly try to educate people of the usage and enjoyment of the marine environment and have signage up on the ferry, in the gift shop and on the beach, but it is an ongoing effort to keep the reef...

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

It's not five star, but then again you aren't paying five star prices. It's good value, yes it's dated and needs some work in some areas, but it's a nice hotel with friendly staff, good snorkelling and diving facitilies. Great fish straight off the island, plenty to see and keep the kids entertained under water! The little,post office is fun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goodservicehunter
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Goodservicehunter, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Tropical regards, Hideaway Island Team

Reviewed 25 November 2016

Hideaway is the best place to be while on holiday and school trips, the kids loved it immensely as well as the adults, our 4day stay was awesome and would recommend it to any school for a trip... yes we had a morning where there was no water for a few hours but that was just a minor clich, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teri D
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Teri D, So glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Hideaway Island and happy to report that the water solution is much better now with the recent rains and working with the local community to ensure delivery is better for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Tropical regards, Hideaway Island Team

Reviewed 24 November 2016

My partner and I spent a week on Hideaway Island as part of our 2 week stay in Vanuatu. We came almost solely to dive, and we weren't disappointed! Everyone at the dive hut was awesome. We were able to complete our Advanced Open Water dive course and were able to do wreck dives, reef dives and night dives! All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diving B
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Diving B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island. We are thrilled to hear that you have some fantastic diving experiences whilst here. Whilst the coral is still fighting back after the last year the marine life is alive and growing. The water situation is much better with the wet season rains...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

What can I say? 5 star meal! We ordered one each and they were superb. The lobster was cooked to perfection, the sides complemented the meal so delicately. The wine just set off this great meal. Most importantly we are here for another week so we can do it again! Woohoo!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RussJenn
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi RussJenn, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Hideaway Island and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your lobster dinner whilst here. Only the best local ingredients are used in our kitchen and the lobster and local poulet fish are a must for all that visit Vanuatu. Kind regards, Hideaway Island Team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Please don't let the above rating put you off from your visit to Vanuatu. It is a truly beautiful country with friendly people who are slowly rebuilding their lives after cyclone Pam. There are still poor sections of road and the odd damaged house, but on the whole, they have done a remarkable job and their smiles can be seen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kristianjohnson
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Kristianjohnson for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island and it is regretful that your expectations were not met during your stay with us. We advised and acknowledged to all guests from the date of your arrival late on Thursday evening until the Friday evening that we had some issues with water supply which...

649 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (640)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (314)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
9.3 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
1,402 reviews
13.9 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
512 reviews
13.5 km away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Port Vila
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
9.4 km away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
9.9 km away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 48 in Port Vila
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $57 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hideaway Island Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hideaway Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ALL rooms have an ocean view so don't be conned into paying more to secure an ocean view!”
 of 5 bubbles loretta585, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can book Bungalows but again - given the years this Resort has been operating - they need updating & airconditioning”
 of 5 bubbles Karamar, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dormitory accommodation is least expensive, but could be pretty noisy. The "attached bungalows" are good value and perfectly satisfactory.”
 of 5 bubbles Ec0sse28, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a bungalow, you'll have more room and your own bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles geminikitty66, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Because it is on a small island, every room has an awesome aspect.”
 of 5 bubbles goobaball, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5