We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Bungalows Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Bungalows Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Bungalows Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 528: English reviews
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend sunset bungalows great service, great facilities, a little bit out of town to give you that quiet, relaxing feel, right on the waters edge, the staff and managers give you a very personal experience that makes you feel like home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mickyvila
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi mickyvila Thanks so much for taking the time to complete a review for us. Great that you felt that you were at home during your stay with us. Anytime time that you need a home away from home just drop us a line. Regards The Sunset Team.

Bannockburn, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

From the time that we arrived at Sunset Bungalows we were made to feel very welcome. We arrived late as our flight had been delayed in Brisbane, and Audrey was on hand to welcome us. The overwater bungalow that was "home" for 7 days was wonderful. The only thing that I would change was having a softer mattress!!!!! After the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neillynne28
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi neillynne28 Thanks for you great review. Ahhh...if only you had mentioned about the soft mattress we probably could have fixed it for you. We have some foam overlays that we put on for those who prefer a softer mattress. Thanks for the nice comments about our Bungalow ATE Restaurant, we have shared these with the staff. Just drop us...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We have just returned from a week at Sunset Bungalows and we loved every minute of it. Amazing setting, peaceful environment, and lovely over the water bungalows. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay a great experience and the managers had loads of helpful tips. Thanks guys for a great week we will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen535
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi karen535 Thanks for coming and visiting and putting up your review. It really is a tropical paradise and with so much to do and see a week just goes so quick. See you next time you come back. Regards The Sunset Team

Bermagui
Reviewed 15 September 2016

MY husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. The bungalows are very nice and once the bi fold doors are open its absolutely wonderful. Relaxing on the deck looking at the starfish below...awesome. It rained while we were there so didn't get to use the pool though the pool area looked very nice with some hammocks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoogs3
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Hoogs3 Thanks for taking the time to write a review and appreciate the nice comments. Was a shame that it rained while you were here..but I guess on the bright side at least when it rains its not cold as well. Come back at some stage and we will try for better weather :) Regards The Sunset Team

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I sayed here for two weeks for our honeymoon and just love it!! Its set right on a beautiful lagoon away from the hustle amd bustle of town. The managers Audrey and Greg were amazing so accommodating and a great wealth of information on what to do during your stay. Breakfast was included and we were both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassie W
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much Cassie W for you neat review. Was a pleasure to look after you guys on your honey moon and hope to see you again soon...maybe an anniversary :) Just drop us an email when you would like to come back and visit. Regards The Sunset Team

Noumea, New Caledonia
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The location was good, nice view on the lagoon, clean bungalow, nice swimming pool, friendly staff and owner. Except the location and the view we were disappointed by - the shuttle: we had to waited it for 30 min at the airport - restaurant: you need to wait at least 30min to get a simple salad even if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmoi88
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi gutrjv Thank you for your positive comments on the Resort in general. Unfortunately the shuttle is out of our control and if some passengers are held up in duty free or customs then it causes a delay for everyone else in the shuttle. We do however apologize to you for your experience in our restaurant. We have discussed your...

Gold Coast Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Both Audrey & Greg are very welcoming managers who wish to assist you in every way.Our 7 day stay with breakfast every morning and 4 dinners during our stay, we were made to feel most welcome. The property is a short distance from Port Vila town but a very cheap bus ride into town is very easy to get. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crackles008
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi crackles008 Thanks for your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your relaxing stay. Think that you will agree that being just a little out of town we escape the hustle and bustle but are also close enough to go in and sample what Port Vila has to offer when ever. All the best for the future and hope to...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I can not rate Sunset Bungalows and their staff high enough. Managers Audrey and Greg are superb. All staff are friendly and very accommodating. Rooms are large, clean and lovely. Restaurant is excellent with a great variety of quality food to select from. Highly recommend the bircher muesli for breakfast and Lilly's cocktails at happy hour! Audrey and Greg's local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teri M
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Teri M Thanks for the comments and feedback on the recommendations. We do try to ensure that all our guests have a great holiday and see as much of Port Vila and the surrounds as they can while here. Please contact us direct when you are ready to come back and we look forward to looking after you all...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Sunset Bungalows for 4 nights and can confidently say that we can't wait to return! Before we even arrived, we were contacted by Colleen to see if we wanted her to arrange our airport transfers and to give us some great advice about Port Vila. Once we arrived, we were greeted by Greg and shown around -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lezah K
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Lezah K for your wonderful comments. Hey you can't do without the "essentials" when you have just arrived after a long day :) We are very proud of what the staff have all achieved after PAM and great that you took the time to see the before and after photos. Look forward to welcoming you back on your...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Audury and Greg and staff made us feel so welcome. This is our third trip to Vanuatu, and first time at Sunset Bungalows. The Bungalows are roomy and great view over the water. Now for the restaurant, I have eaten in many places and this is up with the best of them. The coconut crab was so tastie and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jane G Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. Great that you enjoyed your stay as well as the food in our Bungalow ATE Restaurant. Have passed your comments on to the staff. We are pleased to have looked after you and hope to see you on your return. Regards The Sunset...

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (465)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
View from Room (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
4.0 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
1,363 reviews
6.2 km away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#6 of 48 in Port Vila
276 reviews
19.7 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 48 in Port Vila
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
5.4 km away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
13.5 km away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 48 in Port Vila
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $161 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Bungalows Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Bungalows Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the bed,we stayed in the top end room the bed was So squeaky”
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles leonzwilson59, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request ground floor, if your not staying in premium bungalows, for those who difficulty with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Fran5862, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“a room with a kitchenette is a good way to go as there is plenty of food at the markets and supermarkets if you choose to cook your own !!”
 of 5 bubbles 733JaneC733, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not too far from reception but all seem to get road noise, especially early morning when workers going to work.”
 of 5 bubbles Tradesman48, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room out over the lagoon is private and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles tedfla, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay