We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
61, Myeongdong-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04538 South Korea
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Lol.travel
US$105
View deal
Hotels.comUS$136
TravelocityUS$136
Agoda.comUS$118
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (807)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (432)

About

#92 of 720 hotels in Seoul
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Royal Hotel Seoul is located in central Myeongdong. The hotel boasts 310 guestrooms including 19 suites. Free WiFi and private parking is available. Jung-Gu is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping for makeup, shopping and clothes shopping. This property also has one of the top-rated locations in Seoul! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
Chinese, Korean

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
403Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
43Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1216Reviews96Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 496
  • 554
  • 121
  • 29
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Leen G wrote a review Jun 2022
27 contributions7 helpful votes
Very arrogant and unfriendly staff at the reception and Sky lounge. Don’t let the photos of this hotel fool you! Carpet floor in room was full of stains and looked very dirty. The opening hours of the sky lounge are to laugh at and you are not allowed to just as a hotel guest sit there and enjoy the view with a coffee, you have to order a set of coffee and desserts. One star I’ll give to the housekeeping lady cause she was the only friendly person here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book another hotel and don’t let the photo’s fool you cause they are inaccurate to the service...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
TravellerAbuDhabi wrote a review May 2022
Abu Dhabi149 contributions190 helpful votes
We came to Seoul to attend a wedding and wanted a hotel in a great location with wonderful views and access to a Cub Lounge and the Royal Hotel ticked all the boxes. The Rooms were well equipped and extremely comfortable and the selection of food and beverages in the Club lounge made it excellent value for money. You step outside the door and are surrounded by the shops and food stalls of this buzzing area. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Any room with access to Club Lounge
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maggie B wrote a review Feb 2020
Paris, France12 contributions23 helpful votes
This hotel is in an excellent location for shopping, dining and transportation, with a major subway stop just blocks away. The hotel itself is very clean and offers a nice restaurant on the top floor with a great view of the city. The housekeeping service was impeccable and I loved having electronic "Do Not Disturb" and "Please Make Up the Room" buttons instead of clunky signs to hang on the doorknob. Check-in was easy and took under a minute! The Concierge desk was very helpful in making essential meeting arrangements for me. I would gladly stay at this hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RoyalHotelSeoul, 매니저 at Royal Hotel Seoul
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear. 717maggie Thank you for taking your valuable time to leave a review about your recent stay at Royal Hotel Seoul. Your detailed feedback will push us to be Royal Hotel Seoul , also we will continue to strive to provide the most comfortable stay to our guests. Once again, Thank you for staying at Royal Hotel Seoul and we look forward to greet you with warm smile in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S D wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia11 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Loved our stay from the time we walked in to the warm reception with the beautiful Christmas decor and the lovely, friendly staff that greeted us, up to the time we had to sadly leave after 5 nights with a complimentary exclusive to the hotel shuttle bus to take us to the airport in comfort and style. The location was perfect as we only need to step out and the shopping, restaurants and street food stalls are already a few steps away. Our room was always serviced and cleaned by the friendly, helpful lady cleaner that always greeted us as we walked past her. I would like to thank Seo Young Dal at the Concierge who let us check in earlier than normal and personally brought our luggages to our room. The all day access to the executive lounge especially the relaxing ambience everyday at breakfast was a winner. We cannot fault our stay and we will definitely love to stay here again. The Royal Hotel Seoul was the best choice in hotel and choosing to stay in Myeongdong for our first time in Korea was also a very good choice as it was central and close to other tourist spots to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RoyalHotelSeoul, 매니저 at Royal Hotel Seoul
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear 77sd Thank you for choosing Royal Hotel Seoul and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that your stay here was enjoyable with the various markets and entertaining experiences nearby. We will try to do our best to provide you honest and make a high quality service every time. Thank you very much
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ross wrote a review Dec 2019
Makati, Philippines5 contributions13 helpful votes
Located at Myeongdong this is a stone's throw away from the street food and all the shopping. We left our luggage after checkout and lost the claim tag but the hotel staff was very helpful to get our luggage back. They offer a laundry service but you will have to pay depending on the clothing article. Overall this is a nice hotel for family and couples.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RoyalHotelSeoul, 매니저 at Royal Hotel Seoul
Responded 31 Dec 2019
Dear. rozzberry Thank you for taking your valuable time to leave a review about your recent stay at Royal Hotel Seoul. Your detailed feedback will push us to be Royal Hotel Seoul , also we will continue to strive to provide the most comfortable stay to our guests. Once again, Thank you for staying at Royal Hotel Seoul and we look forward to greet you with warm smile in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dinaarijanto wrote a review Dec 2019
Jakarta, Indonesia15 contributions15 helpful votes
in fact when we were going to travel to Seoul last month, several times we considered this hotel as a review. Apparently, the incident we experienced was very uncomfortable and there was no good solution. Really, we regret choosing this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RoyalHotelSeoul, 매니저 at Royal Hotel Seoul
Responded 12 Dec 2019
Dear, Valued Guest Thank you for using our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you've been inconvenienced by hotel use. We'll take care of the service so that you'll be more satisfied with your next visit. We'll give you more satisfaction on your next visit with a pleasant service. Once again thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John R wrote a review Dec 2019
Bangkok, Thailand111 contributions92 helpful votes
+1
The booking on Hotels.com described it as a “Premier Twin Room (Latest renewed, high floor), 26 sq meter”. When checking in, reception confirmed that it was indeed the Premier Twin and located on the 18th floor. The room seemed much smaller than expected and I later measured it to be about 22 sq meters from wall to wall including the tiny bathroom and closet. Nevertheless, being alone I could manage in the cramped space. “Latest renewed” is a bit ambiguous but certainly the chipped furniture and stained and worn carpet showed that renewal didn’t happen recently. The description of “separate bath and shower” is false as the bathroom is so tiny that there would be no room for a separate shower. I chose this hotel on the basis of that description due to the real danger with aging limbs of slipping when climbing into and out of a bathtub. The bed was comfortable and the pillows just right but the space made it quite a squeeze to get into bed. The turn-down service mentioned in the description did not happen. Mentioning all these points with staff at reception produced no reaction other than to be told that they would “look into it” with no further comment for the remainder of the 4 night stay. Never smiling, reception staff were only cold and unemotional. I was checking in early having arrived on an early morning flight and was asked to pay cash in advance for the extra few hours before the official check-in time of 15:00. Being winter, there was no air-conditioning in the room, only heating at a fixed temperature. I found it rather dry and overly warm until I later discovered that the window could be opened to provide cooler air and a bit of humidity. The Nespresso type coffee machine in the room was a nice touch except that only one regular capsule and one decaf capsule were offered and no sugar. Breakfast on the 21st floor was quite good with a varied and well made selection of local and western dishes and eggs prepared to order. Coffee though was Americano only, take it or leave it, no other choice, but sugar was available ! The advertised Free Airport Shuttle works at only two fixed times per day. The morning shuttle to the airport departs the hotel at 6am before breakfast starts at 6:30. The sandwich offered in compensation for the pre-paid breakfast had obviously been packed and waiting for quite some time and was not eatable. The location of this hotel is excellent, positioned at one end of the remarkable Myeongdong walking/shopping street. Plenty of restaurants everywhere in this labyrinthine network of streets but the highlight must be the evening array of food stalls offering delicacies of all kinds. Many other Seoul attractions are within a good walk from the hotel and make it a good base for exploring this part of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RoyalHotelSeoul, 매니저 at Royal Hotel Seoul
Responded 8 Dec 2019
Thank you for using our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you've been inconvenienced by hotel use. We'll take care of the service so that you'll be more satisfied with your next visit. We'll give you more satisfaction on your next visit with a pleasant service. Once again thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OregonMom123 wrote a review Nov 2019
Portland, Oregon45 contributions49 helpful votes
Stayed here for a long weekend. Great location in Myeongdong very near shopping. Large lobby with concierge and doorman. Decent rooms with coffee, bathrobes, nice toiletries, etc. Breakfast (if you pay separately) was overpriced but convenient and good. Plenty of cafes just steps away.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RoyalHotelSeoul, 매니저 at Royal Hotel Seoul
Responded 30 Nov 2019
Dear. OregonMom123 Thank you for taking your valuable time to leave a review about your recent stay at Royal Hotel Seoul. Your detailed feedback will push us to be Royal Hotel Seoul , also we will continue to strive to provide the most comfortable stay to our guests. Once again, Thank you for staying at Royal Hotel Seoul and we look forward to greet you with warm smile in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louis O wrote a review Nov 2019
Singapore, Singapore250 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
Room: 4.5/5 The toiletries and amenities of the room were very exquisite and feels like we were really treated as royalties. The only downside of the room is the size of it. We could barely open 2 language fully in it. Service: 4.5/5 The only downside of the service is the poor English language by the hotel front staff. It was kinda hard to speak to them and it got on my nerves when I was making a feedback on the aircon. But other then that, the concierge service and the room make up service was good. When leaving the hotel to the airport, they even provided a shuttle bus to the airport terminal. Water was given and they have a row of their staff waving bye to us... omg lol. Feels so friendly. Location : 5/5 right in the middle of Myeongdong street. Food and shopping Ng everywhere. 5 mins walk from the subway. So so easy to get around. Would definitely return and I recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RoyalHotelSeoul, 매니저 at Royal Hotel Seoul
Responded 8 Nov 2019
Dear, Valued Guest Thank you for taking your valuable time to leave a review about your recent stay at Royal Hotel Seoul. Your detailed feedback will push us to be Royal Hotel Seoul. We will try to do our best to provide you honest and make a high quality service every time and we will shared your reviews with our all of staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helen.nguyen wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom15 contributions37 helpful votes
I’m gonna the comment that room is tiny as many people have already mentioned. But what’s is worth mentioning here is the worst customer service and communication you can expect from a 4 star hotel standard. We booked on the hotel website direct and they could not find our reservation we when arrived. We booked the premium room (above 14th floor) and they gave us one standard. We went back and forth to ask for switching to a premium one because this is what we booked, and the entire check in took 45 mins before we can get the right room. Not a single word of apology from a single staff. As we are there to attend a wedding, the wedding couple advised us that wedding guests would receive further discount on the website listed rates, as the hotel have agreed with them. However, upon our check out they refused to honour that for us. Again, not a single effort to put up the slightest customer service. The breakfast is limited options and subpar quality. The one reason I’m giving 2 star instead of 1 is that the shower is at least decent. I’d highly recommend you to avoid this place at all cost if you do not want to waste your money on such an awful business, full of liars.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RoyalHotelSeoul, 매니저 at Royal Hotel Seoul
Responded 18 Nov 2019
Dear.helenguyen Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us. And we would extend our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with, especially for the room. As for the points you have pointed out, we will provide better service through employee re-training related to customer service and response. Also, the wedding-related discount is, from this year, the hotel wedding business will be operated under contract with the outsourced company. So, there was no part about the contracted charges when using the room. As you said, we will discuss the discount rate when visiting wedding customers internally. We will be delighted to have you back at Royal Hotel Seoul. We promise to make you next trip an even more memorable one.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Seoul Royal Hotel
LOCATION
South KoreaSeoulMyeong-dong / Jung-gu / Myeongdong / Namdaemun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
310
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL HOTEL SEOUL (S̶$̶2̶1̶6̶) S$151: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,243 Photos (South Korea) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Hotel Seoul
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Hotel Seoul?
Nearby attractions include Myeongdong NANTA Theater (0.2 km), Cookin' NANTA (Myeongdong) (0.2 km), and Cookin' NANTA (Myeongdong) (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Hotel Seoul?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Hotel Seoul?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Hotel Seoul?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Hotel Seoul?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Hotel Seoul?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beansbins Myeongdong, Sulbing Myeongdong 1st, and Myeongdong Kyoja Main.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Hotel Seoul?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Royal Hotel Seoul have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Hotel Seoul offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Royal Hotel Seoul have airport transportation?
Yes, Royal Hotel Seoul offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Hotel Seoul?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Hotel Seoul offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.