Shilla Stay Seodaemun

Shilla Stay Seodaemun

76, Chungjeong-ro, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul 03738 South Korea
Traveller (563)
Double Room
Room & Suite (70)
Restaurant
Dining (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#66 of 514 hotels in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Shilla Stay Seodaemun is adjacent to Sungnyemun Gate and Namdaemun Market to the south, Deoksugung Palace and Seoul City Hall to the east and Ehwa Womans University Fashion Street and Shinchon, hot places for the younger generationyoungsters, to the west. Located about a 50-minute drive away from Gimpo International Airport, Shilla Stay Seodaemun is only a 10-minute drive away from four royal palaces (Deoksugung, Gyeongbokgung, Gyeonghuigung and Changdeokgung) and a 20-minute drive away from Myeongdong. In particular, only 30 minutes away from Yeonnam-dong, Sangsu-dong, Hapjeong and Hannam-dong, beloved neighborhoods full of small unique galleries, restaurants and cafes, Shilla Stay Seodaemun is the best choice for tourists who wishdesire to enjoy a slow life and leisurelyfree tour. Shilla Stay Seodaemun operates a total of 319 guest rooms and facilities, including the Lobby, Meeting Room, Business Corner, Buffet Restaurant and Fitness Center. The Family Twin Room (54 rooms) provides a comfortable resting space for families. The Cafe, a buffet restaurant located on the first basement floor, serves breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner buffets.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean

Location

76, Chungjeong-ro, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul 03738 South Korea
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Gimpo Intl Airport
15.1 km
See all flights
Incheon Intl Airport
47.4 km
See all flights
Seodaemun
1 minSeoul Metropolitan Subway
1,171Review20Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 696
  • 347
  • 88
  • 23
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Traveller wrote a review Sept 2020
9 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff here are amazing! They try to accomodate you as much as possible without any hesistation. I come here once a week since it's close to my work's substation. They have everything I need here and it's only a couple of blocks from the Gwangwhamoon. I greatly appreciate the hospitality of the staff at Shilla Stay at Seodaemoon and wish them the best of luck. I apologize for being so picky about room condtions but please see it as something out of love. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benjamin wrote a review Mar 2023
Paris, France300 contributions107 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Shilla Stay hotel in Seodaemum is a very good option for a week-long visit in Seoul. Well connected to the metro system of the city, staying at this hotel allows us to get (more or less) quickly anywhere in the city (as Seoul is a huge city). The room (and the bed in particular) was comfortable although a bit small (relative to what I am used to in Seoul), and the personnel at the hotel were very helpful (especially when directions are in order) and professional.

I would like to mention that there are a bunch of small coffee places and restaurants around, that are worth exploring.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 신라스테이 서대문, 게스트 서비스/프런트 오피스 at Shilla Stay Seodaemun
Responded 13 Apr 2023
Dear Benjamin-LeMouth Warm greeting from Shilla Stay Seodaemun! Thanks for your detail comments about your recent stay. We have carefully designed rooms and selected amenity to ensure guests satisfaction. I am also glad to hear our dedicated front desk staff did offer efficiency and courtesy while they serving guests. Convenient public transportation is biggest factor guest choose our hotel. Once again thanks for your visit and look forward to meeting you in near future! Best regards SKY MOON Front of Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taehwan Kim wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All the time when I visit to the Western part of Seoul I choose "Shilla Stay Seodaemun" branch. Great location, quiet and clean room, and reasonable price. You won't be disappointed particularly if you look for a business hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geetin wrote a review Apr 2024
Sant'Antioco, Italy265 contributions204 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unpleasant Hotel Experience. Not recommended.

The online photos and descriptions enticed me to reserve this hotel. However, online listings can be deceiving.

The room to accompany 3 adults was the tiniest we have stayed in with barely 200 millimeters between the double bed and the single bed.

The first night we complained that the air conditioning was not working. The hotel acknowledged that they knew about this (but did not inform us upon check in) They said to open the window on the 10th floor with busy, noisy street below.

This we did but noisy and stifling hot. The Hotel promised it would be repaired the next day but, it was not.

4am in the morning I called American Express Travel services in the USA and they were able to cancel the remaining two nights of our booking and refund us for those two nights.

But not the two nights we stayed suffering the night time heat of the room and noise from the open window.

Moreover, we were left to make other reservations ourselves with no assistance from the Shilla Hotel or Amex.

The second morning there was the smell of raw sewerage as the hotels septic holding tanks were being emptied that morning. An awful stench.

Sorry, Sorry, Sorry. Yes, words are so cheap but the experience was most unwelcome.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ho Kong Stanley C wrote a review Jan 2023
33 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is very convenient, right above the Seodaemun Subway station. Some eateries on the oppsite street.

Room is quite small (Dobule bed room) and not really well kept, remote control is broken (informed front desk and fixed before i came back). The shower is making some strange noise when i turn on the water. The light before the door kept turning on and off by itself (probably problem with the senor).

Check in was efficient and express checkout was available.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 신라스테이 서대문, 게스트 서비스/프런트 오피스 at Shilla Stay Seodaemun
Responded 13 Apr 2023
Dear Ho Kong Stanley C Warm greeting from Shilla Stay Seodaemun! Thanks for your detail comments about your recent stay. We have carefully designed rooms and selected amenity to ensure guests satisfaction. I am also glad to hear our dedicated front desk staff did offer efficiency and courtesy while they serving guests. Convenient public transportation is biggest factor guest choose our hotel. Once again thanks for your visit and look forward to meeting you in near future! Best regards SKY MOON Front of Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aaronacc wrote a review Feb 2020
Seattle, Washington52 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super clean hotel and very comfortable bed. I stayed in the eco room which meant that there was no maid service unless requested so it was cheaper. Very close to the bus stop and line number 5 subway.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JUDY K wrote a review Jan 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Showerhead cannot fix since the holder is broke-down.
And there are no slippers in the bathroom. I was worried the shower booth is not enough to block splashed water so that tiles were really slippery.

Without these, it was good overall. They have wide desk, iron and enough hanger. And the pot is really clean like a new one:) You can enjoy the city view sitting on the couch.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 신라스테이 서대문, 게스트 서비스/프런트 오피스 at Shilla Stay Seodaemun
Responded 14 Jan 2021
Dear J3641DIjudyk, Warm Greetings from Shilla Stay Seodaemun. First of all, we would like to appreciate for your stay. At the same time, we regret that our service and facility has not met your expectations. We apologize for the matters that you have experienced with us, however we will take a chance from your comment to improve our service and facility for sure. We hope that you have enjoyed your journey in South Korea, and hope to see you again. And again, thank you for choosing Shilla Stay Seodaemun. Warm regards, Shilla Stay Seodaemun Front Office Manager SKY MOON
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hyejin Ahn wrote a review Jan 2021
Seoul, South Korea1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Live in Seoul but wanted to travel Seoul more so we took 2 days off and stayed here for 1 night. We went to Gwanghwamun at the night and pick up some food for dinner. View of the room was cool so we can enjoy the meal with baby. Went to seoul history museum by walk in the morning. PRICE WAS RESONABLE and we enjoyed bathtub much. Morning meal was excellent, too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 신라스테이 서대문, 게스트 서비스/프런트 오피스 at Shilla Stay Seodaemun
Responded 22 Jan 2021
Dear hyejina2021, Warm greeting from Shilla Stay Seodaemun! Thanks for your detail comments about your recent stay. We have carefully designed rooms and selected amenity to ensure guests satisfaction. I am also glad to hear our Shilastay Seodaemun Hotel and facility service. Convenient public transportation and competitive room rate are biggest factors guest choose our hotel. Once again thanks for your visit and look forward to meeting you in near future! Best regards Sky Moon Front of Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seetheworld wrote a review Jun 2023
17 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was clean. The hotel shower was hot. The bed was very comfortable . The downside was the room was small for three people. We did not eat at the restaurant, because there are so many great places to eat around the hotel. It was a fine hotel. Great location
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 신라스테이 서대문, 게스트 서비스/프런트 오피스 at Shilla Stay Seodaemun
Responded 25 Jun 2023
Dear Customer First of all, we would like to express our sincere thanks for your warm comments about Shilla Stay. We are all really happy to hear that you had a memorably good time during your stay with us.The kind comments you left about your experience during your stay will be of great help to those who are planning to use Shilla Stay. As always, your compliments and words of encouragement inspire us to serve you better by making Shilla Stay a more attractive hotel you would like to revisit, as a business hotel bearing the values of Hotel Shilla. We deeply appreciate your valuable comments again and sincerely wish you and your family good health and peace. Seodaemun, Shilla Stay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emmy Lee wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So far, all of my stays with shilla were wonderful. Great service (incomparable to other business hotels), and you feel like everything is just right even the coffee here is Cova. I ordered the house red today and it turns out to be a perfect selection for a house wine. Must mention that i am a picky person and could be hard to impress. ^_^
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from aaronacc
Seattle, Washington52 contributions47 helpful votes
There’s always a lift for every subway to the ground level but it may not be located right at the hotel side. I THINK there was a lift on the subway side but I’m not confident. If not you’ll have to just cross the street
Answer from ngocanh_crystal
514 contributions35 helpful votes
You can ask the receptionist. We check out early to explore the city so that we left our baggages there. They asked us when eould we take it then they wrote a tag that included out mane and time. I dont know if you fan leave your baggages there for a long time. You should ask them
Answer from mis0soup
Bangkok, Thailand86 contributions39 helpful votes
You’re going to struggle. The beds are for two adults at most and the sofa can fit 1, if you’re shorter than 160 cm. Any taller and it is too short. We tried it and it didn’t work, so I wouldn’t recommend it.
captain03 asked a question Mar 2018
Pasig9 contributions
Hi, Does the toilet have a bidet? Thanks
Answer from chankaryau
hong kong42 contributions34 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from 897risa
1 contribution
I stayed single room so i can answer for only it.The bathroom and toilet are together and had a door between bath toilet and bedarea but had not between toilet and bath.so i'm assuming that'll be fine.Thank you!I hope your Korean trip will good trip!if you have a more any questions plz ask me i'll answer that i can do.
lapkwanyim wrote a tip Nov 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Double single room"
Read full review
ngocanh_crystal wrote a tip May 2019
514 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"nice view,"
Read full review
Julie T wrote a tip Apr 2019
Perth, Australia2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Put in air conditioner that is usable all year round."
Read full review
Trip53007771615 wrote a tip Jan 2019
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room is too small for the price I paid for two rooms."
Read full review
eshrakalatoli wrote a tip Jan 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates11 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend this hotel "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Seoul area.
PRICE RANGE
S$140 - S$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South KoreaSeoulSeodaemun / Chungjeongno-dong / Cheonyeon-dong / Migeun-dong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
317
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHILLA STAY SEODAEMUN (S̶$̶1̶5̶9̶) S$132: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 598 Photos (Seoul, South Korea) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shilla Stay Seodaemun
Which popular attractions are close to Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Nearby attractions include Musical Fanta-Stick (0.10 km), Gyeonggyojang (0.4 km), and Agricultural Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hanokjib Kimchijjim Seodaemun Main, Gyonam Gimbab, and Cheol Street Rice Cake Boki.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shilla Stay Seodaemun offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Shilla Stay Seodaemun?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gyeongbokgung Palace (1.8 km), Changdeokgung Palace (2.7 km), and Deoksugung (0.7 km).
All Seoul HotelsSeoul Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SeoulHotels near Shilla Stay Seodaemun
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire