We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sankara Nairobi

Show Prices
#11 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sankara Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 739: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

What I think about this place? It's perfect waiters,services all good ,business meetings no pressure all good plus affordable drinks and food given a good service by Regina the waitress so nice and socializing. Sankara is a place to be safe and secure, satisfaction guaranteed. My recommendation to you all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Relanna R
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have been a sankara customer for five years and been served by one favourite waiter almost every time am there. Regina as my best waitress, makes me feel at home when it comes to drinks food and also shisha. I love this place and the service, I as a customer I have recommended to my business partners and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sometimes you just feel that a hotel's staff are pleased to have you as a guest. They go that little way extra. Their smiles are genuine and unforced. Sadly you don't always get that in larger hotels. Sankara is the exception. From the welcome by the concierge staff - with excellent humour too - to the housekeeping staff, everyone involved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alastair F
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

What an experience! Sankara is indeed an exquisite property replete with a charming team of hospitality professionals. I had the pleasure of cocktails and light fare at the Sankara roof top bar. The bar overlooks the city of Nairobi - Africa's gem in the East. The rooms are beyond phenomenal. The interior design echoes five centuries-worth of East African artistry....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erichamlin20
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

The roof top is a great place to go hang out with friends. I loved the band it had great music, the service was excellent especially from this one lady Fridah, elegant is what i would use to describe her with her grey trouser suit and white she looked imppeccable, she made us feel totally with it, every now end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WambuiKanyi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was hosting an important regulatory delegation for a visit. The delegation was going to arrive late, towards midnight. The hotel staff kept the kitchen open for us to have supper around 12 midnight. The rest of the stay was equally fantastic, with the business center providing efficient assistance for things such as photocopying and scanning of documents. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nozoyi71
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Nozoyi, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. At Sankara our goal is to leave our guests with many positive memories and it sounds as if we were successful in this goal in your case. We are glad that you had a fantastic stay and our Food and Beverage team as well as the Business Center agent...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for work in early November. A lovely hotel, very well appointed. The rooms are a little tired but still very comfortable. The staff are all very helpful. You are gifted a cute soap stone animal each morning with an information card. Nice touch. The breakfast set up is good, very diverse although coffee orders take a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cal560
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that our efforts to ensure that our guests’ experiences are wonderful was realised during your stay and had a chance to sample our amenities. At Sankara our guests safety and comfort is pivotal and we do all it takes...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Its always a great place to hang out with friends...especially on a weekend...excellent service provided security is tight... this is the place to be on a friday night,the manager and his team are very friendly!!!!am always going to come back again and again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jazmine M
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Jazmine, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had an excellent experience and that you found our Sankara Stars friendly and the hotel safe. Your complimentary comments have been shared with the Sankara family. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sankara for another wonderful stay. Warm...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the roof top is awesome what a view it provides. Best service from the waiters. One can enjoy swimming when sunny and enjoy having breakfast at the same time.Love the reception too. The food is delicious and quite a big variety to pick from

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pretty M
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Pretty M, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor It is so delightful to read your review and to acknowledge that you had a great stay in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the service from our Sankara Stars as well as the Sarabi Pool and Supper Club and our culinary...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I regret in my life for ever stepping again at rooftop sankara worst service , the manager ,we had dinner and shisha accidentally because of the slow service I decided to put the shisha down it NEVER broke only the top that I pulled out forgetting to hold the bottom.Only the charcoal that fell and on my bad luck one...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank jenn w
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Jenn, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Apologies for everything that happened and the injury sustained. At Sankara, we always aim towards providing all our guests with wonderful experiences and our guests’ safety comes first. I however note that you did not have such an experience on your last visit. I am disappointed to...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
336 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
754 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
1,022 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $299 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You must have a view”
 of 5 bubbles erichamlin20, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Roof top offers best view”
 of 5 bubbles 708prettym, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor with view of the city.”
  • Standard room
  • View from the standard room
  • Standard room
  • Nice & comfortable.  Bathroom has separate tub & shower.
  • Nice & comfortable.  View of the bedroom from inside the bathroom.
 of 5 bubbles celestialg2015, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We good a room facing a garden like outlet - it was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 790redricka, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are very good and carpeted.”
 of 5 bubbles Lizborne, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay