We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sankara Nairobi

Show Prices
#11 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sankara Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

817 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sankara Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Showing 780: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is clean, food was good but very expensive, The staff who checked me out was not familiar with the hotel check out systems. Took a long time to check out. I was over charged buy $165:00. When complained through Booking.com, the hotel refused to refund the difference. In the end Booking.com has to refund the difference. Full 10/10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarlok M
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Gemma Clarke, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay and for that kindly receive our sincerely apologies. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice, clean hotel with very good service. However the hotel is one concrete building with no outdoor space. The pool is on the roof with a bar but there is little space for enjoying the pool. There are no green areas to walk around. The location is great for the Westlands area of Nairobi. It's convenient to many offices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacksondg
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear jacksondg, Warm greetings from Sankara Nairobi! I really appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback on your recent with us. I am pleased to note that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. The team is looking at ways to improve our internet access and I am confident we can make it better. Once again...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was in Nairobi for a high-profile and important international meeting and my luggage was lost for almost the entire time I was there. While nothing can make up for or fix that nightmare, the staff at Sankara came awfully close. They went above and beyond to help me find/get my luggage and also went so far as to send...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia S, Greetings from Sankara Nairobi! Firstly, my deepest sympathies for experience you had with the missing luggage. I really appreciate your feedback on how our staff tried to assist you with the missing luggage. Nothing pleases me more than when I receive comments about our staff going above and beyond to help guests. All your feedback will be...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My girlfriends and I went to Graze last night to celebrate two birthdays. Food was good, service was excellent, and I would make special mention to wait staff Mary and hostess Margaret for their attentiveness and making the birthday girls feel special. After settling our bill, we asked to validate our parking tokens - we had done the same thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MsafiriK
Management response:

Dear Msafiri, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of our establishment on TripAdvisor. It is always pleasing to read comments from our guests on excellent service offered by our Sankara Stars as it not only a testament of our objective achievement but also serves as motivation to our team. I regret to read that your experience...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was invited to dinner by local associates who chose the venue. Last visited these premises some years back. Roof top venue was undergoing renovations so we dined on 1st floor. Can recommend the butter chicken - was well presented and tasty. Service on point and waitron remained in hailing distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muzungu007
Management response:

Dear Muzungu007, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor and for the recommendation. We are pleased that our aim to create memorable experience for our guests was realised in your case through great service and culinary offerings. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Crescence Karanja

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't been back here since they started renovating the pool area, that's a month ago. This very minute am seated here n totally love what they did with the floor. Much easier to move about in heels n the lighting at night is just spectacular. Sankara gives me a reason to love this place all over again...#madlove

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmah w
Management response:

Dear Emmah, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your experience at our Sarabi Pool and Supper club. We are glad you love the new look Sarabi and that you had a spectacular experience. It is always a pleasure reading reviews from our loyal guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for more lovely experiences....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our experience at Sankara Hotel was excellent! We were very impressed by the attention to detail of the hotel and restaurant staff. They took the time and made the effort to place roses, rose petals, fruit, wine, fresh chocolate-covered strawberries, and truffles, among other things, into our room. The table at the restaurant was also all decked out and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
Management response:

Dear Jo R, Thank you for sharing taking the time to write such detailed and wonderful review regarding your recent stay with. I am happy that we managed to contribute to making your milestone a memorable one. At Sankara we always aim to providing our guests with memorable experiences and we are glad that this came to fruition for you...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Located in Westlands not so far from the city business district. Located right next to the Sarit Centre shopping mall. Wonderful interior design, the rooms are clean and spacious. They have a rooftop pool and bar which brings out a nice ambience in the evening. Cant complain about the food, loved the buffet breakfast. Would definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Management response:

Dear Ian, Thank you for sharing a lovely review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to learn that our guests stay was superb. Your compliments have been shared with the entire Sankara family. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon. Warm Regards Crescence Karanja

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located in Westlands; lots of parking and tight security. Entry / exit from the parking lot is a little underwhelming because of the convoluted route. Security and wait staff extremely helpful and attentive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Management response:

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. At Sankara our guests comfort and safety comes first and we are glad that you had the chance to experience that as well as the great service from our Sankara Stars. You kind words have been shared with the entire Sankara family. We have noted your...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On the surface the Sankara is very nice - the rooms are comfortable and the French press and real coffee in the rooms are a nice touch. However, when when we checked out we were charges a higher rate than what we were quoted when booking the room. When we tried to dispute the rate we were told that we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martha V
Management response:

Dear Martha, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you found the rooms to be comfortable and enjoyed our in-room amenities. However some aspects of your stay were not pleasant and I am truly disappointed to read your comments as what is described is not in the keeping of our Sankara...

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
366 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
1,073 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
811 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Graze
Graze
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $268 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floors to escape street noise, or go for garden facing.”
 of 5 bubbles duncanbramwell, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“In City Hotel, surroundings are not too great. Busy area”
 of 5 bubbles tarlokm2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all good”
 of 5 bubbles 162jacobb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Junior suite. gives you access to the club lounge on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Espadaman, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors are easily accessible to facilities such as the gym and the swimming pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Smaher90, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5