We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nairobi Tented Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Nairobi Tented Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Nairobi Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We arrived here in the evening after our flight from Amsterdam. Great place for the first night in Kenia, better than a hotel in Nairobi city. You get straight the bush and safari feeling. Friendly staff en the tents are OK. Special stay in the Nairobi National Park just a few kilometers from the city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mechli I
Nairobi
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

It's a lovely quiet place in the middle of a crazy city... you get a feeling like you are in the wild in a remote area. We liked the experience for a weekend of silence. What I liked is the eco friendliness of the camp. Solar power, and bucket top showers... only 10lts per person! So if you are the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muthoniNairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We'd been planning a family weekend in a game park, hesitating over the need to drive a long distance over rough roads or fly at great expense. And then the Nairobi Tented Camp option emerged. Bliss! Not only did it mean we could drive straight into the Nairobi Game Park from our house in next to no time, not only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
Christchurch
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. What a unique experience - tents in the middle of Nairobi National Park, surrounded by wildlife with the city skyline in the background. Being escorted to our tent by armed guards - ready to deter any roaming wildlife, water hoisted in a sack up a tree for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelholic8
Jake G, Owner at Nairobi Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our Nairobi Tented Camp and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and consider it a unique experience and that you thought the game drives in the Nairobi National Park were wonderful. However we are sorry that you found it so cold in the tent at night. We do put hot...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We were so impressed with this camp. It was our first time away to a property like this with our 1 year old. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, that it really did feel like home. The portions at dinner time seemed a but small but the quality was superb. The tents were very spacious and the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NAV16
Seattle, WA
Reviewed 20 July 2015

NTC is a wonderful camp and I would recommend to anyone traveling to the area. The accommodations were incredibly comfortable and clean, the meals were great, the gamedrives were excellent – I was so impressed with the knowledge that Andrew has of animals and his attention to this work, what to look for to find certain animals, etc. The entire...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JMTSeattle
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

What a lovely surprise to find this comfy, friendly camp so close to the craziness of Nairobi. It is the only camp within the park, so we felt very privileged to be part of such an exclusive group. The staff was very friendly, helpful and considerate. The food was great, lots of fresh fruits and veggies. The tents themselves were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsNana2012
Escondido, California
Reviewed 6 July 2015

My colleague and I had a wonderful time at Nairobi Tented Camp during our stay in March--it was the perfect respite from our busy schedule. From the delicious meals, to the excellent service, the comfy beds, and the amazing game drives—we were so glad we took the time during our business trip to spend two days at your camp in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jowhitman
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 3 July 2015

It's so hard to imagine being on safari 15 minutes after you clear customs, but that's exactly what we did on our latest trip to Kenya. Our flights were messed up so we lost a night in the camp, but the time we spent was still amazing. We had arranged two visits to Sheldrick to visit our dear ellie fosters...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nutmegmace
Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

I was In Nairobi with work and it was the perfect add on to go to the Tented Camp for 2 nights. Secluded forest spot, nice tents, lovely sheets, hot water bottle, perfect temp of shower too. Food was delicious, camp fire G&T's perfect and staff good. Safari drives fun - saw everything except leopard! Highly recommend for a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nkf01

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
8.5 km away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#15 of 164 in Nairobi
1,187 reviews
10.5 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
910 reviews
8.7 km away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
432 reviews
8.8 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
1,219 reviews
10.2 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $177 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Nairobi Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nairobi Tented Camp staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Nairobi Tented Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good except the very back one which has a little noise from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles maryj953, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All tents lovely and private”
 of 5 bubbles fionahawkins, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Each tent has its own charm. Some have single beds; other have double beds.”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseARunge16, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'm sure all the rooms are great. Nice porch area, comfy bed, flush toilets.”
 of 5 bubbles jennifermG1484JR, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go for the tents nearer to the main site as there is less far to walk”
 of 5 bubbles 900alexav, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5