We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairview Hotel

Show Prices
#3 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,146: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to departing on a safari. Even after reading the great reviews I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel in the middle of Nairobi. The hotel is great, nice and spacious, lovely grounds, free wifi. The building we stayed in had no lifts and we were on the top floor. Our bags were delivered...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey H
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Excellent hotel , good thing about fairview is what they quote is what you pay. Unlike other hotels price is given over the phone at fairview a price is given on brochure .the hotel is very fairly priced and the breakfast is excellent . The room rate is with breakfast . There rooms are bigger in size and spacious with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandip B
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed there for one night on our honeymoon before heading to Maasai Mara. The hotel is amazing, like all reviews said. Very beautiful grounds, the food is excellent, everything is really nice. However, we were disappointed there, after booking the executive suite for this night, we were asked there to take another room (one category less) because someone else...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mohammad H
FairviewNairobi, Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed that this happened; apologies. We do not believe in charging full for services not enjoyed and therefore offer to discount your room by 50%. Please get in touch with us on book@fairviewkenya.com so as to initiate the refund process. Kind Regards, Daniel Szlapak Joint Managing Director

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Loved the beautiful grounds and tranquil setting and a super pool great to chill out after a long haul flight. Only a 10min 300 shilling cab ride to downtown Nairobi (it was Sunday afternoon). Nice friendly and efficient service. We'll be back if in Nairobi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dugnano
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Most of what is said below on the positive side is accurate - with one exception, do not stay in an economy level room. They are very small and unattractive. The room we were given stood over a common restaurant and odors from the cooking permeated the room in the morning when breakfast was being served. We upgraded (and paid...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank baywanderer
London, UK
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Lovely colonial hotel with good services for business. They have a good gym which is rare. Fast internet and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. Very laid back and calm it definitely takes you out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Stay here if you can. FYI, rooms are clean, but as it is an old hotel some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank talen4
Netherlands
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have been staying in the Fairview every time I come to Nairobi over the last few years and never consider going anywhere else unless it is fully booked. I stayed with my husband in this lovely hotel again feb 2013 and we enjoyed the atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff, the food, the gardens - in short - everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bier
new mexico
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The reviews calling the Fairview an "oasis" are right on - couldn't describe it any other way. Since it's located near the Israeli Embassy and governmental buildings, security is high. It was the only place that put our luggage through metal detectors. Our room was small but clean and quiet. Staff was welcoming and helpful. The surrounding gardens are beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mwcw
Washington, DC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This hotel is a beautiful meandering garden with a grand hotel in the middle. For me, traveling for work, it was perfect: plenty of beautiful places to meet or work with great (free) wifi everywhere - indoors and outdoors. The internet speed is better than many hotels in the US or Europe. The gyn is very nice - lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gibbonp
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 6 February 2013

It's nestled in the bustling city center of Nairobi, yet serenity reigns. The coffee garden offers best value coffees and snacks. Impressive. It's nestled in the bustling city center of Nairobi, yet serenity reigns. The coffee garden offers best value coffees and snacks. Impressive. It's nestled in the bustling city center of Nairobi, yet serenity reigns. The coffee garden offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZZ-AFRICA

625 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (536)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (192)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.7 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
933 reviews
1.7 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
1,086 reviews
0.5 km away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
13.0 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
455 reviews
0.7 km away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Mukutan Garden Cafe
Mukutan Garden Cafe
Cuisines: European, Bar, International, Contemporary, Pub
Mitende Atrium
Mitende Atrium
Cuisines: European, Italian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $242 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairview Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fairview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The annex, which has catering apartments/ 'efficiencies' are much better.”
MartinandHeather2012, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is an old hotel and rooms are very variable. Best to ask when booking”
Patrick101215, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I had a business class room. Room 14, was good. Ground floor. Big bathroom.”
fallinandfilmin, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“consider a double room regardless of travelling alone”
reichers59, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The kitchen apartments which are further away from the main hotel are excellent.”
robbie2063, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5