We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Karen Country Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Karen Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Three of us called in for lunch and were disappointed. The food took nearly an hour to arrive and was below average in quality - despite our being the only people there. The interior was in darkness. We sat outside, under a large cover that looked like it had seen better days (a large flap was hanging down). We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonF1950
Upstate NY
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a one-night stay at the Karen Country Lodge and found it to be a delightful area and a spacious and comfortable cottage. It was a last minute reservation due to arriving back in Nairobi a day early from a safari. The cottage had everything one could want. I did find the huge bathroom to have some design oddities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank photoguyUpstateNY
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our boutique cottages We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay. It was a pleasure hosting you We apologise for the mishaps that you saw and experienced and these are things that we have now considered and are being improved to make sure that we provide the comfort...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had our wedding reception here, and our experience was amazing from start to finish. Dealing with KCL was easy, the staff are friendly and eager to help, and the rates were reasonable. The grounds are beautiful, secluded, serene. The rooms are lovely, have great amenities, and are comfortable and clean. We are planning on a return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Robert, We appreciate you positive feedback about your wedding experience with us. We hope its not too late to say Congratulations on your wedding It was a pleasure hosting your special day Thank you for the compliments about our great staff, reasonable prices and beautiful grounds We are glad to hear that you also enjoyed your stay in our...

Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Upon arrival at close to midnight after just arriving after 17 hours of flying and without Kenya Shillings, it was suggested that we might want to take a tour the next morning to the Karen Blixen house, a giraffe refuge and elephant orphanage. We were told the cost would be $40/person plus admission to these sites which we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherdenacofield
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days on a business trip. Beautiful and tranquil. Rooms at the residence are clean and well equipped. Warm water bottle provided in your bed on chilly nights. Board room facilities up to standard except the wi-fi which couldn't connect in the rooms and the boardroom. Gym facilities were good. Service from the staff members very prompt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OdeliahS
lancaster
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful large room with giant sofas and warm fireplace ! Staff friendly and caring. Food was good. First night in Africa and I was very satisfied with this clean and spacious lodging. Surroundings were well maintained. In gated community so it was very safe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catinzhat
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to give us your kind feedback It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay in our boutique cottages We are glad that we met your expectations and are happy to have hosted you We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Expensive for the service provided. Very peaceful and beautiful. Surrounded by big trees around the "cottage" style rooms. Internet was not working properly. Was covering all areas but during my stay not working properly. Good cleaning and very safe. Big bar and restaurant. Breakfast with little options. The rooms are big with a fire place inside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joao R
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback We appreciate the compliments you have given about our property We apologise for the temporary internet issues during your stay and we are glad to let you know that we have already dealt with that issue It is our hope that we can host you next time you are...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

When we were looking for wedding venues, we knew for sure that this was the perfect location for us and so on 26th August we exchanged our vows in a perfect backdrop. The food was amazing and in plenty, the staff were so helpful and the grounds were well kept and clean.My family and friends are still raving about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy A
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Judy, Thank you for choosing Karen Country Lodge as your preferred wedding venue and Congratulations on your wedding We are glad that you found the perfect venue for your big day here with us. It is good to note that our service staff were helpful and professional. We aim at providing top notch quality service as well as the...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Beautiful grounds greeted us on our arrival. Service was prompt and polite. We went for the sunday lunch and it turned out to be the best sunday dinner i've ever had. The place wasn't busy at the time we arrived, but started to fill up as we ate. The band that set up were exceptional and professional. On a whole...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fennelpockets71
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to give us your review about your experience in our restaurant Our Sunday roast lunch is one of our best special weekly offers and we are glad to hear that our ambiance, service, food and entertainment met and exceeded your expectations Thank you for complimenting our cottages too. Hopefully next time you shall be...

Reviewed 12 September 2016

We settled on Karen country lodge as the venue for our wedding in August 2016. We used the smaller garden by the bushy tree for our church service which was just perfect as it was small and cosy just like we wanted. We used the garden right outside the office for the cocktail and photobooth. The tent can be completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback about your wedding experience with us and Congratulations on your wedding We appreciate your compliments about our well manicured gardens, food and excellent service.We are glad to hear that you received excellent and personalized service from our GM, our Chef and the entire service staff We take...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.7 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
399 reviews
11.9 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
1,182 reviews
12.9 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.6 km away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#15 of 161 in Nairobi
237 reviews
2.8 km away
Margarita House
Margarita House
#21 of 234 in Nairobi
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the leafy- green, Karen suburbia rests an eclectic leisure haven. Draped in modern, chic decor, this once colonial bungalow radiates a stunning, serene ambiance that captivates any audience. Sip a cocktail in the luscious, vibrant gardens or host a conference in this tranquil refuge. Surround yourself in serenity, let go in classic comfort in our chic boutique cottages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karen Country Lodge

Address: Warai South Road | 24390, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $281 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Karen Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Karen Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Karen Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the far end facing the small lake are spectacular in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles judya480, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All cottages are lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles iank401, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are farthest from the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles anthonymQ1121AS, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“choose a room by the swamp best view.”
 of 5 bubbles Abraham_Ouma, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fantastic checked them all out..”
 of 5 bubbles MadelineO, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay