We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Offbeat Mara Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Offbeat Mara Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 219: English reviews
Start your review of Offbeat Mara Camp
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

Going on safari almost every year, Offbeat Mara Camp was the best! Having stayed at their sister Meru camp, we knew what to expect. Spacy rooms with gorgeous views and the safari bucket showers, the service was exceptional. As a wheelchair user, the camp wasn't too wheelchair-friendly, but the staff was always helpful, even picking up me from my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jainihs
Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you have not been on a safari holiday before you may be put off by the thought of sleeping in a tent with the wildlife immediately on the other side of the canvas and you may also be concerned about the lack of ablutions and the usual comfort of modern hotels. At Offbeat Mara Camp the tents blend perfectly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RWNEdinburgh
Hong Kong
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got a sudden vacation from my work and it took only 3 to 4 days to communicate with the Offbeat staff before everything was set and ready, very responsive staff, effective and efficient in solving problems. Professional, cheerful staff in the camp and on the jeep. It is a small scale camp, and every tent is tucked away a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KinHK
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review here and i will pass on your comments to Stanley, Kaapen and the team. Great that you had such a good safari, from the booking process down to bush dinners. Don't worry we are not putting in running water or electricity for now! Piers

Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my fourth safari, third to the Mara, and I had high hopes and higher expectations. I always want this time to be better than the next. After 6 nights at Offbeat Mara, I can safely say I've just had the best safari yet. We were blessed to have David and Kapen as our guide and spotter. I've had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amybatt
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review and for the taking the time to write it. I will pass on your comments to the team. David and Kaapen as you say are both excellent and complement each other very well. Kaapen has been spotting for around 30 years and has an amazing set of eyes, especially for cats. I...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We only spent two nights at the camp and wish it had been longer. Chania and Jessie were wonderful hosts and extremely competent managers, they made us feel right at home. Our driver Joseph and guide Kimani were knowledgeable about the animals and their habitat, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would wholeheartedly recommend this camp to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review here and I will pass on your comments to Chania, Jesse, Joseph and Kimani. Great you enjoyed the safari shower and I hope to welcome you back at Offbeat Mara for a longer stay in the future. Piers

Michigan
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had heard good things about this camp including a lot from a friend who had been here in December. Everything lived up to the great reviews. On arrival, camp manager Jesse welcomed me to the camp. I had been picked up by Kilmani and Joseph at the Mara North airstrip who were my guides throughout my stay. Jesse thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganLaurena
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed and excellent review of Offbeat Mara and I will pass your comments to Jesse, (Chania), Joseph, Kimani and the team. I am glad you worked the bucket showers out well! Also great that you got involved with the activities that we offer and were able to take excellent photos. All the guides are...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I can't say enough about the managers, guides and staff at Offbeat Mara. All are fantastic. Chania and Jesse, the two camp managers, are full of valuable information and are willing to make any arrangements to ensure a good stay. We were most fortunate to have Joseph as our guide. He met us at the Mara North airstrip and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max G
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review here on TripAdvisor. I will pass on your comments to Chania, Jesse, Josphat and the whole team at Offbeat Mara. I am sorry you missed the elusive leopard, but hopefully that gives you a good enough excuse to come back and find one (or more!). Great you enjoyed a walking safari and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Our 8th trip to Africa and second to the Mara, Offbeat Mara camp did not disappoint. We stayed 6 nights, there were lots of activities and we loved them all. Morning game drives, afternoon game drives, sundowners,evening game drives and a walking safari. Lions galore, cheetahs, elephants, zebras, wildebeest, giraffes, hippos, too many more to mention. Lucky to see an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iflythedash
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review - and how lucky you were to see both an Aardwolf and Genet cat. I will pass your comments onto Chania, Jesse, Josphat and the team and hope that you come and stay again with us at Offbeat Mara in the future. Piers

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Offbeat Mara Camp was amazing! From the moment our Masai guides met us at the airstrip we knew we were in for an unbelieveable experience. The camp is beautiful, authentic and includes everything you need to be comfortable and pampered. The tents are luxurious and spotlessly clean, no easy feat without electricity or running water. Our hosts were knowledgeable and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliebL665PO
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review here on TripAdvisor and i will pass your comments on to the team. Hope to see you again at Offbeat Mara Piers

Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We had a most enjoyable 5 days of safari at Offbeat Mara Camp. We were met by our guide, David and spotter Kappen and our wildlife adventure started straight away! the journey from the air strip to the camp was over the bush and so we soon found a lioness that had killed a zebra and had dragged the carcass...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidcox2017

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (310)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (203)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.7 km away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
314 reviews
8.7 km away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#8 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
586 reviews
23.6 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
885 reviews
7.9 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
259 reviews
27.0 km away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#10 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Offbeat Mara Camp

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offbeat Mara Camp is a six tented traditional camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Address: Mara North Conservancy | Masai Mara, Kenya, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $461 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Offbeat Mara Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Offbeat Mara Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The tents are wonderful!”
RWNEdinburgh, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Tent 3, the furthest from the main area, is quiet and peaceful.”
susanwI4823OA, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had tent 3 , on the end , with beautiful views”
  • Very open comfortable tent
davidgZ9308PO, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a two room tent with a wood floor. There was also a porch out front that we could sit on in the morning and have our coffee and tea. They would deliver it to your tent if you request it. It had two twins and a king bed with a curtain dividing it. It also had a bathroom. We had bucket showers that worked fine and it was not an issue at all. The water was warmed up and delivered after the morning or afternoon safari.. whenever you would want it. The tent closed up at night and it was very comfortable inside.”
moemc57, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Tent 3 has an open view”
liz8220, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5