We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reef Hotel

Jumia TravelUS$74*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$103*
US$74*
US$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Reef Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Start your review of Reef Hotel
 Click to rate
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is a good place, however there are things to improve, for example the towels I had were terrible, they were dirty and they have a enjoying smell. I think this is something you can change because it is really important.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 213elyc
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are sorry that your towels were not to your satisfaction, we will review the laundry and investigate how a dirty towel can be issued to a room, thats not acceptable. We assure you of our attention to all details on your next visit.

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ideally located on Nyali side North Coast of Mombasa Island .... good property, nice pools, good food, coast ambience and friendly staff. Reef is a must visit must stay venue on the Coast of Mombasa that we always enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhavna K
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review . WE look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here this morning for Breakfast Buffet and a swim Good value. All the usual things for Breakfast. Real watermelon juice.. Yum! Casual relaxed local atmosphere. Happy staff and its cool to use the enormous clean pool for a while if you spend some cash. It even has a pool bar and wicked Mojitos. Bravo! Some decent Hospitality

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will S
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is run down and just down right nasty. Don't look like the picture on their site. The room was super small and the AC didn't work , no screen on the bathroom window. We checked in , went to the room was not what we were promised and was not a place I was going to stay even...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabrynak2017
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Reef having flown back to Mombassa from Zanzibar and having an afternoon and evening to fill before dying out of Mombasa at 0430. On the upside, it was better than the night we spent in Mombasa city centre and at 0300 the journey to the airport was about 20 minutes. However, it has sadly seen it's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vendeebob
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vendeebob, We are always interested and look forward to client feedback. Often it is useful and sometimes its awkward as the comments are not constructive, so we do not want to offend clients by responding. However let me please clarify a few points. Indeed the Reef Hotel is an old hotel being among the first Tourist Hotel built on...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

I spent a few days at Reef Hotel and i must admit i walked out relaxed and full of life. 1. the hotels close proximity to the major malls is very convenient 2.the staff is very welcoming and nice to the guests 3.the view from my room was breathtakingly amazing and the feeling of being one with nature is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pyramid M
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The hotel is near from the center, and the shoppingcenters. The place is directly to the beach, and the hotel have a big pool. The rooms are okay.. clean and basic. The breakfast buffet very big and good.. But be careful with the sour mangos :/

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 666melo
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Wonderful staff, good food, though the pool bar could be quicker, and the amazing Moonshine Beach Bar made the Reef Hotel the perfect base for the holidays.Be sure to get the samosas at the pool bar, then plenty of cocktails, dancing and karaoke at the beach bar! We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coufeyrac
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Nice pool, nice playground and ok restaurant serving a good variety of food. Also close access to the beach. The pool got quite busy and unfortunately I must complain about the 'slimy floor'. The pool of you step on the floor or swim underwater was really dirty making me get my kids out of there. Check your filters and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aatifa e
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to make a comment. Over the very busy xmas / new years period , we have 3 pools in use so I am not sure which one you are referring to, but we do clean and sanitize all of them daily. If i was to take a photo and send to you you eill...

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Reef hotel is actually a very cosy hotel, it accommodates a cool beach lounge and a couple of restaurants that serve and offer tasty cuisine. However, the staff can be very arrogant especially the security manager called Festus who was extremely arrogant and racist. The hotel manager called Maulidi was very polite and humble. The arrogance and insult was not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Murtaza O
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

We always take criticism very seriously at the Reef Hotel, and racism is an especially disturbing complaint. However the Hotel management is 100% Kenyan African and the majority of our clients are Africans so I wonder how the Racism element comes into the complaint. Your complaint does not go into any details so its not possible to give you a...

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.5 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
941 reviews
5.1 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
520 reviews
2.7 km away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
342 reviews
4.6 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.9 km away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Reef Hotel Mombasa is a friendly, relaxed Hotel, professionally managed since 40 years by the same family to serve a mix of international and resident guests. The hotel offers a combination of resort facilities for beach holidays, as well as business services including conference rooms and corporate business facilities. The Reef Hotel Mombasa is conveniently situated on the white sandy beaches of Nyali overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean. We are adjacent to the very best shopping areas, clubs, restaurants and golf courts and only 7 kilometres north of Mombasa city centre. The original Reef Hotel Mombasa was built in 1972. The hotel just had a significant renovation and has re-opened with new designed rooms and public areas. Reef Hotel rooms are air-conditioned, each with its own bathroom, balcony, telephone extension and TV. Buffets are the traditional way we serve meals with a international mix of cuisine. Enjoy our romantic candle-lit dinners on theme nights (African, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian, International, etc) and regular barbeques. A choice of 3 restaurants and 4 bars, and water sports directly on the beach assure you that the Reef Hotel Mombasa is ready for your holiday. With regular entertainment by our resident live band and disco, 3 fantastic swimming pools, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, relaxed sun-bathing and elegant evenings; yours will be a very special holiday in Reef Hotel Mombasa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Price Range: $110 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea facing rooms are not as large as the garden rooms so depends on individual preference”
370bhavnak, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have an amaizing ocean view”
pyramidm2017, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Apartments side are loud and near opposite the main road”
julieawino, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel the rooms are in need of renovation.”
allantheoutwardbound, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get the swimmingpool + lunch deal if you are with kids for 1500Khs.”
937abdulq, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$74* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$88
TripAdvisorUS$88
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates