We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Althea's Place

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Althea's Place
 Click to rate
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

This accomodation did not fail me. Big, clean room for 2. Working AC. Cable TV. Simple but yummy breakfast. Fast WiFi. Attentive staff. The only thing that needs improvement is the water supply. There's no water coming out of the shower on our last day in Puerto Princesa. Good thing is they lent us a bucket and a dipper that...

Thank Diand A
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I love the look of the house, clean and well lighted. Haven't tried the pool though coz it looks like it wasn't cleaned. Staffs are helpful and accommodating to your needs. Room is spacious enough and big bed :)

Thank Mary Elizabeth O
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Above all, my stay at Althea's was very good to excellent. First, the room I got is located near the swimming pool, feeling like I have my own little house upstairs and I have my own big balcony :) The room was clean even the bathroom. Water heater was functioning well. But the door's key hole, it stressed me a...

Thank Rubie G
JJSD_2016, Guest Relations Manager at Althea's Place, responded to this review

Greetings from Althea's Place Palawan! Thank you Ma'am Rube for carrying the time to make this review about your stay at our place.Your complimentary comments are sufficient enough to help us promote and amend further the service we render to our valued guests. We sincerely extend our apologies for your displeasure with some of our facilities and rest assured that...

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Room is just average in comfort. Cleanliness? Have not noticed any housekeeping done in my 4 days stay. Water heater not functioning...Need also to improve with their breakfast menu... Staffs are very courteous and accommodating though. With service van to fetch and send you to airport.

Thank Gabby L
Caloocan, Philippines
Reviewed 22 June 2016

thank you althea's place for accommodating my parents and giving extra care and effort in celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary. your staff were very cooperative in preparation for the surprise.will visit you again and recommend your hotel in future trips.thank you very much!!

Thank ceracute
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We checked in late, upon arrival in the room we checked the AC remote because we can't adjust the temperature. The receptionist said "oh maybe the housekeepeer forgot to put in your room i will double check and get back to you soon" , then he made up a story that before outsiders took the remote etc.Wasn't able to sleep...

Thank fabulous0808
JJSD_2016, Guest Relations Manager at Althea's Place, responded to this review

Thank you for carrying time to make this review.We are sorry to hear that you were not happy staying with us. We've been take note of your concerns and still appreciate your feedback.Regarding with the ac matter, our maintenace addressed us that the air conditioned we're having malfunctioning that time and totally break down .We will be looking forward into...

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Althea's is a quiet inn that is close to the airport. The grounds are well-maintained, but the pool does not seem very clean. The rooms are satisfactory but not as clean as they should be. The bathrooms are poorly lit and also not cleaned properly. Upon arriving at the inn, we requested a ride to Honda Bay, and Althea's driver...

Thank Kay M
JJSD_2016, Guest Relations Manager at Althea's Place, responded to this review

Greetings from Althea's Place Palawan! We still thank you for carrying the time to make this review about your stay in our place, even though you have given us the lowest rate rating ,we still embrace that you have given effort to post this review. Regarding with the van hire transfer going to Honda Bay last June 01,2016, our apologies...

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Far from city center but near to airport. Facilities are poorly maintained. Understaffed establishment. Limited hotel services offered if not being outsourced from the outside. Room cleaning is not a regular routine. Murky water swimming pool. Foul odor on toilets and sinks. In summary it is a place overpriced for someone's expectations not being met for what has promised.

1Thank Noel E
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This is the first time I have to write a negative review, but I feel it has to be done if this place wants to survive, by improving. The growth of Puerto Princesa has been very rapid in the last 4 years, the prices have tripled and the quality has declined. Too many hotel and restaurant owners are getting away...

2Thank ElKalinado
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stayed for 3 nights and changed rooms once as the first room was a dorm style room instead of family room. Both rooms had things broken in the bathroom and not all the lights were working. It was clear there was hardly any maintenance. The pool was full of leaves and outside benches were falling apart. It could have...

2Thank mailly2016

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (31)
Room/Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Princesa hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Mila Inn
Casa Mila Inn
#24 of 47 in Puerto Princesa
132 reviews
2.4 km away
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne House)
J-Lais Balai Turista (Pensionne ...
#126 of 182 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
2.7 km away
No photo provided
Teofila Pension
#95 of 182 in Puerto Princesa
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hanbee's Garden Pension House
Hanbee's Garden Pension House
#103 of 182 in Puerto Princesa
14 reviews
1.2 km away
Alphas Place
Alphas Place
#84 of 182 in Puerto Princesa
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Althea's Place

Address: Abueg.ext., Jacana Rd. | Bgy. Bancao-Bancao, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island, Philippines (Formerly Fran's Pension House)
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Puerto Princesa
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Althea's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Althea's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althea's Place Palawan Island/Puerto Princesa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Althea's Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the room near the swimming pool :) the one with the big balcony. Good for twin sharing.”
  • My room was nice :) It's like I stayed at my own house with my swimming pool downstairs hehe
 of 5 bubbles 571rubieg, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles LadyG221, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“You can leave your things at the reception at their back door security counter, be sure your luggage has lock.”
 of 5 bubbles ranmiasco2000, 4 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Book your tours with them since it is cheaper and their partner tour operator offers fantastic service.”
 of 5 bubbles Roseandthorns, 1 Sep 2013 | Read review
“The rooms in the middle of the hotel will have a better wifi signal.”
 of 5 bubbles Grinderguy, 18 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5