Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!

16 Upper Cross Street, Singapore 058331 Singapore
Traveller (230)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (149)

View prices for your travel dates

S$113
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
S$119
S$81
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#5 of 165 hostels in Singapore
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Standing out independently in a beautiful art deco heritage building, Beary Best! a self check-in hostel was designed with the simple intent to merge backpackers practicality with hotel like space and comfort. Fellow backpackers and budget travelers are welcomed to choose from a variety of dorm types (6, 8, 9 bed dorm and female dorm with ensuite bathroom) at great and affordable prices.Rates are all inclusive of free breakfast and a long list of high quality facilities such as large and clean showers, spacious lounge, free internet, WIFI access, air conditioning, fully fitted bunk beds with international power points) The hostel is located just 3 minutes from Chinatown MRT station and within 10 minutes walking distance to Singapore River, Marina Bay and the Financial District.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Shared bathroom
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 1 more

Location

16 Upper Cross Street, Singapore 058331 Singapore
946Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 448
  • 358
  • 97
  • 29
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
reydon227 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I live and breathe hostels.

During this trip to Singapore, I tried 4 different hostels and Beary Best at Chinatown was the beary best. Though, they do not provide breakfast like other hostels, Beary Best makes it up with it's quality, friendliness and overall ambience.

They have got you covered, A to Z (minus the breakfast B). Their laundry is not very expensive ($5 for a load to wash and $3 to dry), don't want to use the dry machine, dry it in the sun for free. Other hostels used to charge ~10 to 12 SGD for washing and laundry.

They have free coffee, milk and hot water 24/7.

Lockers provided by the hostel very spacious and could fit my entire 60L backpack. The bed matresses were of very high quality and so was the pillow and the comforter. I had good sleep on the beds. All lower berth beds had curtains too, good for privacy and protection from the AC wind.

The hostel is located in the very accessible part of Chinatown and is at walking distances to Clarke Quay, Singaporean Parliament, Boat Quay, Gardens by the bay and all other party places in Singapore and the touristy spots. The bus stations is 20 metres away and the MRT stations is 50 metres away.

Very friendly and knowledgable staff. They know Singapore in and out and will guide you what to do not and not what to do. You can discuss anything with them - Singapore, How much stupid Donald Trump is, politics, economics and policies, food, transportation, anything.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Get the lower berth. It would have curtains -> Privacy + Protection from AC Wind.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mgr_Bearybest, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Hi reydon227, Thank you very much for the awesome ratings, we really appreciate your detailed review and it could become very useful for the others who refer to your review. We are glad to hear you had a great experience staying with us, found value and hospitality from our staffs. We look forward to seeing you on your next trips to Beary Best Hostel :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Creina O wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was great, I could walk to all the main tourist sports and get food in China town. Staff were very nice too. They did clean regularly but I would say that they needed to pay more attention to detail under the beds and in corners of accumulated dust. The kitchen is minimal so expect to eat out!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mgr_Bearybest, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Hi creinalayton, Thanks for the review and honest feedback, we really appreciate it. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our convenient location. We work really hard to make sure that all our guests feel welcomed and also have a clean and comfortable environment to rest. We will pass on your feedback to our housekeeping team, so that we can improve further - we do thorough housekeeping every day, and also have deep cleaning sessions scheduled, so that the hostel is well maintained and clean. Singapore has a vibrant food culture, and Beary Best! Hostels are right smacked in the middle of famous food centres. So instead of serving basic/boring meals, we focus on keeping our accommodation as affordable as possible - and give you insider tips to having the true local experience. Do approach any of our hosts for recommendations :) We look forward to host you again when you are back in Singapore!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arnold91 wrote a review Jan 2020
Dublin, Ireland126 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had an enjoyable stay at this hostel. It is in a great location and the staff are very friendly. They also provide privacy curtains for the bed and a plug socket. The only reason that I have not given this hostel 5 stars is because I don’t like the idea of having to take off my shoes upon entering the hostel. Would stay again if ever back in Singapore.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mgr_Bearybest, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Hi, Thanks for the review and honest comments, we really appreciate it. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We don't provide slippers as it is common to walk around barefoot at home - we'd like our guests to feel at home! However, we provide bathroom slippers on the racks right outside each bathroom. We will warmly welcome you on your next stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaja wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've had a wonderful stay in Bear Best! Great location, very near the MRT stations and 7/11s, some tourist spots are walkable. They have very friendly and helpful staff. The beds are comfortable and sleeping room is clean. They provide free coffee and tea. They just need to work on the cleanliness in the pantry area and keep the microwave clean. But all in all, this hostel is great!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MatthewASharp wrote a review Nov 2022
Torquay, United Kingdom1,980 contribution305 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely awful hostel

The advertised enhanced cleaning, social distancing, AC did not exist

The hostel also houses local and migrant workers, albeit in their own dorm, but they still share the shared washing and toileting facilities. The state is these was a disgrace including faeces on the toilet wall!!

I had cumulative rubbish under my bottom bunk with no privacy curtain and a non lockable allocated locker

The stock photos of this hostel are not accurate as there are no soft furnishings in the lounge area, only hard stools with a smoking area inside the communal dorms!!!

The fridge was delapidated and rusty and the bedding which was inside the locker had to be made on arrival, which was frustrating after a long journey

The bedding was thin and of poor quality along no towel, which was at least the latter was advertised accurately

My standards aren't high as I've stayed in 3rd world country dorms with this being the worst

The 4-5* reviews are either bogus or judging from their nationalities their hostel experiences are of low expectations for the price paid

I had booked a 5 night stay but left after 2 nights as it was so horrible...didn't care about not getting a 3 night unused refund

I moved to the Chic Capsule Hostel. 5 min walk from this hell hole

Yes, I did complain at the time but their response was a standard...sorry

I have also raised a complaint with Hotel.com who are taking the above seriously as this establishment is being used under false pretences and advertisement
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Simply...book elsewhere. Bring a towel too if u do stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian f wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not too recomended if you want a peacefull night and kinda too crowded. 1 room even had 10 persons in it. Perfect breeding ground for corona. Bed are clean, blanket a bit overused. Got locker in room but useless if guest had oversized back pack. So it's gonna crowded already jam pack space. Overral cleaness are standart. Got coffee,tea and chocolate.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mgr_Bearybest, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Hi Ian, Thank you for your review and comments. We do have luggage room for guests with large size luggage however some of guests prefer to keep it with them in the room. Thank you for the valuable feedback, we will take your comments into account and see what we can improve to make Beary Best a better place for everyone! :) We hope to be able to host you again any time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maps00103337599 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hostel is a really nice place to stay and we had a great experience. I recommend this hotel if you come to Singapore. When I came to Singapore for 2 nights, I felt really comfortable at home and it was a really nice place close to everything. It's true, trust me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LdyHtpea wrote a review Feb 2020
64 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
once stay here back in 2014 and they still keep the place in good shape. location is no doubt near to mrt station, bus stop also near, food and mall near by, mini market also near by. thanks beary best!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mgr_Bearybest, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Hi LdyHtpea, Thanks for the review and comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for choosing to stay with us again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trips to Beary Best Hostel!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CweetyGemash123 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
nightmare stay here. I won't want to stay there the second time. rude indian employees. sandals must be opened, rooms only bunk beds. the price is very expensive for a class like that $ 70. my maid's room is better than that. In other country hotel with same price,got a good room with good facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mgr_Bearybest, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Hi CweetyGemash168, We are sorry your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Allow us to answer and hopefully clarify your comments. We ask our guests for not wearing shoes / sandals inside the hostel as it is common to walk around barefoot at home - we'd like our guests to feel at home! However, we provide bathroom slippers on the racks right outside each bathroom. We do advertise our room sizes and its' facilities on our website and third party reservation sites, we believe the pictures posted reflect the accurate beds at the rooms. Prices are typically slightly higher over the week end or during special event but rest assured we always ensure our prices are always competitive. Regarding the staff, could you write to us directly and let us know if there has been any incident you would like to share? We hope you will give us a second chance next time you are in town!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jpiotr599413 wrote a review Feb 2020
Wroclaw, Poland1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything as described in booking website, everywehere was clean, air condition was good and quietly, I recommended, everything was ok, near to MRT, shops. In hostel are Singapur maps available. I hope I will back soon
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Everything was ok, I recommend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mgr_Bearybest, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Hi jpiotr599413, Thank you so much for the great review and recommending us. We really appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We welcome you back here anytime! :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aryanie_venti wrote a tip Apr 2023
7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay"
Read full review
MatthewASharp wrote a tip Nov 2022
Torquay, United Kingdom1,980 contribution305 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Simply...book elsewhere. Bring a towel too if u do stay"
Read full review
jpiotr599413 wrote a tip Feb 2020
Wroclaw, Poland1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything was ok, I recommend "
Read full review
reydon227 wrote a tip Feb 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the lower berth. It would have curtains -> Privacy + Protection from AC Wind."
Read full review
mramos855186 wrote a tip Jan 2020
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"take the family room, 6 pax so that you still have privacy. the place is for backpackers where different people can stay in one room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Singapore area.
PRICE RANGE
S$44 - S$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SingaporeSingaporeChinatown / China Square / Outram / Central Business District / Central Area/City Area
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEARY BEST! BY A BEARY GOOD HOSTEL!: UPDATED 2023 Inn Reviews, Price Comparison and 421 Photos (Singapore) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Which popular attractions are close to Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!?
Nearby attractions include Ransack Puzzle Hunt Adventure (0.2 km), Chinatown (0.2 km), and Black Crow Taxidermy & Art (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nox - Dine In The Dark, French Fold Telok Ayer, and Merci Marcel Club Street.
Is Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel! located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Singapore.
Are any cleaning services offered at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Battlebox (1.3 km), Fort Siloso (4.4 km), and Emerald Hill (2.9 km).