We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Somerset Bencoolen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Somerset Bencoolen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Somerset Bencoolen
 Click to rate
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was thrilled that I booked a room in this hotel. Actually, each room is a mini-suite with ample place where the living area and the bedroom are separated. This is the most spacious place you can get in S'pore for the price you pay. The rooms are clean, and you do not hear much noise from the outside even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sudhir K
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Sudhir K, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We sincerely thank you for taking time to write such an awesome review on your recent stay experience at our serviced residence. All of us are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and had found much value in your stay. We are indeed inspired to...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with family for an overnight trip. From start to finish the service was wonderful. Bonus was the free upgrade with an additional room. Couple of negatives was that you have to walk around the corner to get a taxi as the front of the main entrance is going through an MRT construction. We were actually dropped off in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mokkey8
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Mokkey8, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are thrilled to learn your family and you enjoyed your stay at our serviced residence and have enjoyed our service. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment caused to you by the closure of the road in front of our residence; however, we would like to share that...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My foreign friend and I stayed for 3 nights. This suite is well located within the city. Only problem now is its blocked by the ongoing mrt construction which is expected to be completed later this year. Many foods options are available nearby. Bras Basah mrt is minutes away. Once the new bencoolen mrt opens its even more convenient. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shashabear81
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear shashabear81, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! Thank you for choosing to stay at our serviced residence during your friend’s visit to Singapore. We are heartened to learn you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. All of us are thrilled you have found our central location ideal for your friend’s holiday here and we sincerely...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited while I was recovering from surgery and the staff took great care of us. The apartment was perfect and clean. The breakfast was good. When we couldn't figure out how to operate the TV or anything else the staff came up right away to assist. Location is great but wish it were closer to an MRT, but uber...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayla G
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Kayla G, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! First and foremost, all of us sincerely hope you have fully recovered from your recent surgery and we wish you the pinkest of health. Thank you for your lovely compliments for our service. It was definitely our great pleasure being of service to your family and you. We are...

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed with my family for a 6 days. I had a great experience. Breakfast was complimentary. Rooms were cleaned and reasonably sized (keep in mind this is singapore we are talking). There is a recreational room, if you have a toddler. Pools are well maintained and the roof provides you a majestic view of Singapore at night. Staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunny M
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Sunny M, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are elated your family and you had a great stay at our serviced residence. All of us are very grateful and inspired you have enjoyed our service as it fuels our passion to provide the best service standards possible in our industry. We sincerely hope you will now...

Reviewed 20 January 2017

We reach from a 29 hour flight the hotel is not best as a normal holyday inn anywhere , totally overpriced, we reserved for 3 adults and 2 child's but they only supply 2 queen beds and they were asking us to pay additional 50 dollars for a crib! But we're make the reservation for 5 person....., rooms are old...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ramon T H J E
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Ramon T H J E, Greetings! We are truly sorry your family and you are not enjoying your stay at our serviced residence and you have been disappointed when you were advised you would have to pay for the rental of an extra rollaway bed. Kindly allow us to clarify although you had stated your total travelling party would...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Definitely great place to stay in Singapore! Great for couples,family's or even business! Lovely staff,nice breakfast and great location! Apartment could be more modern(furniture) but that's all. Great value for money. Good sized sweamming pool at the top of the roof 😍. Overall ...Amazing!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie-Elle
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Rosie-Elle, Greetings from your team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are delighted you had a wholly enjoyable and comfortable stay at our serviced residence and have found great value in your recent stay with us. All of us are also heartened to learn our central location was convenient for your holiday in Singapore and to your liking. We sincerely hope...

Penang
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Let's start with the positives. All the staff were really nice, polite and super helpful! Though probably a little tired and old, the rooms were spacious by Singapore standards, amenities were good, and the place was clean. The handy smartphone was an added bonus when wanting to make calls or look up something on the Internet, but you should know...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank macelim
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Macelim, Greetings! Thank you for sharing your candid feedback on your recent stay at our serviced residence. We sincerely thank you for your lovely compliment for our service and it was certainly our pleasure to assist you during your stay. We sincerely apologise for the disappointment caused to your family and you by the quality of our Continental Breakfast...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

This place was a fantastic place for larger families. The 2 bathrooms made it easy for all especially when travelling with teenagers. The 2 bedroom apartment was big enough for all, and the teen had space to get some personal time. The wifi was great and the handy phone was probably the most unexpected addition and useful tool for our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olivia L
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Olivia L, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! Thank you for taking time to share such a detailed and positive feedback on your recent stay at our serviced residence. All of us are delighted your family and you had a great stay with us and have found our spacious 2-bedroom apartment ideally comfortable for your family and...

Reviewed 11 January 2017

The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Central location to everything. I would definitely stay here again. I would like to praise the staff again for going above and beyond. It made all the difference to us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sen P
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Sen P, Greetings from the management of Somerset Bencoolen! We are elated you had a great stay at our serviced residence and for your heartwarming compliments for our team. Kindly be assured we shall be thanking each member of our team for their excellent service and shall be letting them know how much of an impact they made on...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Hotel
#143 of 309 in Singapore
395 reviews
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: $173 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#93 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerset Bencoolen staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Somerset Bencoolen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room facing Selgie/Princep Street”
 of 5 bubbles sudhirk314, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher floors, or floors not facing construction, at least until the MRT construction is complete”
 of 5 bubbles macelim, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A corner room gives plenty of light and is quiet.”
  • Living room
  • Bathroom with opening windows
  • Kitchen with dining area in the foreground
 of 5 bubbles Travelbugs_Two, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want to be closer to the Buffet breakfast and gym, they are located on level 5. The swimming pool and spa is rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles CertifiedTrainer, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 8th floor - it was fine”
 of 5 bubbles DianeQuilts, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5