We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Somerset Bencoolen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Somerset Bencoolen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Somerset Bencoolen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The apartments are centrally located and within walking distance to many attractions, as well as only being a few minutes from an MRT station so transportation across Singapore was easy. The facilities in the apartment building were great and the roof top pool is beautiful. They have everything you want from large fridge to oven and even chopsticks and strainer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinajardan
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Christinajardan, Greetings! The team at Somerset Bencoolen sincerely thanks you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a wholly enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and you have been impressed with our fully-equipped apartments. All of us are heartened to learn you have been very happy...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2016

The consistency in staff friendliness and helpfulness is very impressive. At our recent stay in Somerset hotel we felt like every staff member made an effort to assist with our enquiries. Having said that, two staff members that stood out with exceptional customer service iwere the Guest Service team member Aslindah and the after hours security man... both of whom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CertifiedTrainer
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear CertifiedTrainer, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We sincerely thank you for taking time to write such a heartwarming review on your recent stay at our serviced residence. All of us are delighted your family and you had a wholly enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and that the use of the Handy phone added much value...

Mumbai
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights. Felt like home. The Apartment was superb. Very spacious and had everything that you need. The staff was courteous and always responsive. The only complaint was breakfast. Being a vegetarian, there was nothing except Cereal and Fruits for me. I wish that they would keep couple of more items for vegetarians. The Pool, Gym...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chirag S
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Chirag S, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are indeed thrilled to learn your family and you had a great stay at our serviced residence and our spacious apartment exceeded your expectations. All of us sincerely thank you for your inspiring compliment for our service and we are delighted we were able to assist you and...

Ireland
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children (9,6,2) have just returned form a comfortable and happy stay in the Somerset Bencoolen. We were worried about street noise due to road works before we left but this was not an issue at all. The apartments are comfortable, spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff were thoroughly professional and very friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KateNH
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear KateNH, Greetings! Your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen sincerely thanks you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor. All of us are delighted your family and you had a happy and great stay with us and our spacious apartment was comfortably ideal for your stay requirements. Thank you for your heartwarming...

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This is an apartment hotel and the appartments are nicely laid out with lounge/kitchen, bedroom with walk-in wardrobe and bathroom. Condition and contents are good, though some ground in dirt and high up dust was present. The breakfast suited us as we prefer continental which was well catered for. The cooked items did not appear too appetizing. The reception staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Edward T, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We sincerely thank you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor and we are truly grateful for your heart-warming compliment for our service. All of us are delighted you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and you have found...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I was fortunate enough to stay at Somerset Bencoolen for a business trip. It’s a service apartment and therefore you were able to find all of the necessary amenities in order to make it a home away from home. The staff was very friendly from the get-go: from lending me an electric converter to giving us tips. Despite the construction...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jmendortaz
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear jmendortaz, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We sincerely thank you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor and all of us are thrilled to learn you had a wonderful stay with us. We are indeed heartened to note you have found our fully-equipped apartment homey and the complimentary...

Reviewed 22 October 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Somerset Bencoolen and were thrilled with the room, service and location. There was a complimentary mobile phone provided, which we found very useful when navigating our way around the City. In addition, free bottled water and a great roof swimming pool and spa made the stay just so much more enjoyable! The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve K
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Steve K, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are delighted you had a great stay at our serviced residence and you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We are truly appreciative of your heartwarming compliment for our service and assure you your kind words have brought all of us much inspiration to continuously provide...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

- There is massive construction work going on right in front of the hotel. They closed the road - The ambience in the lobby looks dull - The moment you step out from the elevator towards the apartment, the feeling became worst. It's old, gloomy, and that also described the inside of the apartment. - The worst Sommerset stay I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abd M
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Abd M, Greetings from the management of Somerset Bencoolen! We deeply regret to note you did not fully enjoy your stay at our serviced residence and we sincerely apologise for the disappointment caused to you. We sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback on the ambience of the lobby and décor of our apartments. Kindly be assured we have...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We have just returned from a seven night stay at Somerset Bencoolen and found it suited us really well. The apartments are centrally located and within walking distance to many attractions, as well as only being a few minutes from an MRT station so transportation across Singapore was easy. Street access was limited by the construction outside, but there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DianeQuilts
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear DianeQuilts, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! Thank you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a wholly comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and have found our strategic location both convenient and ideal for your week-long holiday in Singapore. All of us are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

My daughter and i spent 5 nights here recently and had a great time (except the super hard mattresses) location is great, close to MRT, bus stop, Orchard Road, apartments were well equipped and the rooftop pool was great. The work going on on Bencoolen was not really heard when i was inside apartment but definitely loud when walking out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jools35
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Jools35, Greetings from the team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are delighted your daughter and you had a great stay at our serviced residence and have found our central location ideal for your holiday in Singapore. We deeply regret to note the only detraction of your otherwise perfect stay with us was the discomfort you experienced due to the firmness...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Residence At Singapore Recreation Club
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: $163 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#92 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerset Bencoolen staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Somerset Bencoolen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for higher floors, or floors not facing construction, at least until the MRT construction is complete”
 of 5 bubbles macelim, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A corner room gives plenty of light and is quiet.”
  • Living room
  • Bathroom with opening windows
  • Kitchen with dining area in the foreground
 of 5 bubbles Travelbugs_Two, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want to be closer to the Buffet breakfast and gym, they are located on level 5. The swimming pool and spa is rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles CertifiedTrainer, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 8th floor - it was fine”
 of 5 bubbles DianeQuilts, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles tomf517, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay