We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Somerset Bencoolen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Somerset Bencoolen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Somerset Bencoolen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

- There is massive construction work going on right in front of the hotel. They closed the road - The ambience in the lobby looks dull - The moment you step out from the elevator towards the apartment, the feeling became worst. It's old, gloomy, and that also described the inside of the apartment. - The worst Sommerset stay I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abd M
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Abd M, Greetings from the management of Somerset Bencoolen! We deeply regret to note you did not fully enjoy your stay at our serviced residence and we sincerely apologise for the disappointment caused to you. We sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback on the ambience of the lobby and décor of our apartments. Kindly be assured we have...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We have just returned from a seven night stay at Somerset Bencoolen and found it suited us really well. The apartments are centrally located and within walking distance to many attractions, as well as only being a few minutes from an MRT station so transportation across Singapore was easy. Street access was limited by the construction outside, but there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeQuilts
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear DianeQuilts, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! Thank you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a wholly comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and have found our strategic location both convenient and ideal for your week-long holiday in Singapore. All of us are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

My daughter and i spent 5 nights here recently and had a great time (except the super hard mattresses) location is great, close to MRT, bus stop, Orchard Road, apartments were well equipped and the rooftop pool was great. The work going on on Bencoolen was not really heard when i was inside apartment but definitely loud when walking out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jools35
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Jools35, Greetings from the team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are delighted your daughter and you had a great stay at our serviced residence and have found our central location ideal for your holiday in Singapore. We deeply regret to note the only detraction of your otherwise perfect stay with us was the discomfort you experienced due to the firmness...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Awsome location, wonderful friendly and accomodating staff. Great value for money. I would definatley recomend to stay. Complete with breakfast, laundry and roof top pool and kids area its great place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tad1968
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Tad1968, Greetings! The team at Somerset Bencoolen sincerely thanks you for taking time to share your recent stay experience at our serviced residence on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a wholly enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and have found our central location ideal for your holiday in Singapore. All of us sincerely thank you for your heartwarming...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I had booked this place through Booking.com.I was aware construction was happening in the vicinity.This is something the property has no control over.My wife and I arrived atleast two hours before the given check in time and were ggiven a warm welcome by the lovely young lady at the front desk.We were immediately checked in and upgraded without asking.Our appartment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tom f
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear tom f, Greetings from your friendly team at Somerset Bencoolen! We are thrilled to know your wife and you had a great stay at our serviced residence and you had a comfortable stay in our spacious apartment. All of us sincerely thank you for your heartwarming compliment for our service and we are indeed delighted our service has impressed...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I stayed here with my wife for a month when we first relocated to Singapore. The location was perfect if you like walking. It's centrally located within a 10 minute walk west to Orchard Road, east to Raffles City/Promenade and north towards Bugis. It's only a stones throw from the colonial district and key museums (e.g. Singapore Art Museum, National...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Jeff F, Greetings from the team at Somerset Bencoolen! We deeply regret to note you did not fully enjoy your stay at our serviced residence and we are truly sorry for any disappointment and inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely thank you for your heart-warming compliment for our service and we are indeed heartened to note you have found...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

I booked Somerset Bencoleean service apartment for 2 months and paid SGD 15800 approx for a 2BHK apartment. This is steep as you can imagine. While the property is OK overall, it severely misses out on the details, hence needs a second thought. Couple of details which are a complete let down for the money you pay 1. Heavy duty...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SachinDoshi83
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear SachinDoshi83, Greetings from the management at Somerset Bencoolen! We deeply regret you are not enjoying your stay at our serviced residence and we sincerely apologise for the disappointment caused to you. Kindly be advised we are truly appreciative of your feedback and we shall endeavour to seek improvements in the areas we lack. Once again, we are truly sorry...

Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2016

My family and I stayed here for 10 nights in May/June. Our apartment was on the construction side (even though I repeatedly requested the opposite side of the building. On check in I was told that the apartment we were given was the only one available as they were fully booked. I was told we had been upgraded to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kara P
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Kara P, Greetings from the team at Somerset Bencoolen! Please accept our sincere apologies for being unable to assign you with the apartment you had requested because of our full occupancy situation when you checked in and also due to overwhelming similar requests from residents who had checked in a few days before your arrival. Please be assured we...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

The reception staff were really excellent to deal with. Very helpful and accommodating. Ker Wei allowed us a complimentary late check-out which meant my infant son could have a sleep before our flight out of Singapore. The pool was very good for our three kids and there was plenty of space in the apartment. The continental breakfast was also generous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acwmay
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear acwmay, Greetings! The team at Somerset Bencoolen is delighted your family and you had a fabulous stay at our serviced residence and your children had a great time at our rooftop pool. We are truly heartened to learn our spacious apartment and facilities have been ideal for your recent family holiday, especially for your children, as we know that...

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

I provided an A+ review few months ago. The experience did not change this time. Just wanted to add that I got even better impression now, especially in terms of staff hospitality and the late check-out flexibility. My flights back from Sin are always late night and they understood my wish, allowing me to stay in the suite way longer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DPTraveler15
Cynthia L, Guest Relations Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear DPTraveler15, Greetings and welcome back! The team at Somerset Bencoolen is delighted you had another great experience at our serviced residence and we are thrilled to note our service has further impressed you. All of us sincerely thank you for your heartwarming compliment and we sincerely assure you we shall be sharing your lovely compliment with each member of...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#185 of 308 in Singapore
9 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street Bencoolen Residences, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: $176 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#96 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerset Bencoolen staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Somerset Bencoolen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A corner room gives plenty of light and is quiet.”
  • Kitchen with dining area in the foreground
  • Bathroom with opening windows
  • Living room
 of 5 bubbles Travelbugs_Two, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want to be closer to the Buffet breakfast and gym, they are located on level 5. The swimming pool and spa is rooftop.”
 of 5 bubbles CertifiedTrainer, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 8th floor - it was fine”
 of 5 bubbles DianeQuilts, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles tomf517, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a guarantee that your room is away from construction - I wish we had done this”
 of 5 bubbles 92karap, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay