We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel 81 - Star

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (204)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (2)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent11%
  • Very good43%
  • Average34%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast included
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
51
148
99
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
51
148
99
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaljunied mrt stationgeylang roadexpensive singaporeminute walkbudget hotelscheap foodmini fridgetriple roomfood courtclose to the airportwould stay againlocal foodrooms are smallprostitutionsimsacsgd
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Anyhow it is a red light district, you may feel discomfort when walking along the street where the guys/uncles may be looking at you. One of the guy receptionist was rude while checking out, i was approaching the counter to return the room card, without...More

1  Thank yihshin_sen
Response from CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - StarResponded 1 week ago

Dear yihshin_sen, Greetings from Hotel 81 Star. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall of service which you have received. The level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to Singapore 3 times but this is the first place we would actually recommend! It’s only a 15 minute walk from the Metro station and close to a 7/11 supermarket as well as a few good Chinese eateries. The room was “compact...More

Thank Angie B
Response from CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - StarResponded 1 week ago

Dear Angie B, Greetings from Hotel 81 Star. Thank you for your kind review. We hope to have the oppotunity to serve you again in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Value for money. The beds are comfortable, aircon is strong, wifi is strong. No restaurants within hotel but there are a lot of affordable local restaurants and fast food nearby. Not along the bus line, you have to walk for 3-5 minutes. The MRT is...More

Thank Shugarmarie
Response from CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - StarResponded 1 week ago

Dear Shugarmarie, Greetings from Hotel 81 Star. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. We are glad our strategic location has managed to serve you well.

Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

everything is really excellent except for the front office staff. I checked in on the 6th of March around 8pm. really tired due to delay flight and all I want is a bed for me to lay down. ok nvm. when I was going to...More

1  Thank ShirleyLXY
Response from CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - StarResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ShirleyLXY, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We were disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience, we certainly empathise regarding the points you've...More

Reviewed 10 March 2018

The hotel is fine in some sort but it is located near the "red light" district. Unless you really want to enjoy that, I suggest avoiding book here! I also asked if I can store one of my luggage at the hotel for couple days,...More

Thank Pedram E
Response from CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - StarResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Pedram E, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we always take feedback on board as it is the only way to ensure we are delivering an excellent service to our customers.

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$50 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$50 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (204)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Geylang
Only a short journey from Singapore’s sparkling and
polished city centre, Geylang is a world away. Here in
one of the least touristy areas of Singapore, visitors
are privy to an unfiltered glimpse of Singapore life.
On Sunday afternoons, migrant workers gather in
Geylang to let off steam after a tough week. At the
eastern end of Geylang Road, families and friends
happily enjoy picnics. By contrast, at the western
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
brummie2015
12 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Paul K | Reviewed this property |
Hi, We stayed just a night and it was around 60$ for Twin beds. They don’t offer breakfast. But you can find coffee shop and restaurants no far from the hotel. We took MRT from Changi to Aljunaid station it costed... More
0
Votes
Karamjit D
24 February 2018|
Answer
Response from GrousMan | Reviewed this property |
I doubt it unless you only say you are 3 people:)
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms the same. No views but its just for a bed for the night in wonderful Singapore."
Read review
"Walking distance to Geylang"
Read review
"avoid as its near the red light district"
Read review
"room with the street view"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing