We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“common room”(26 reviews)
“bed dorm”(16 reviews)
“joo chiat rd”(5 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Free Breakfast
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Air Conditioning
Pool
1 Star Hotel
Located on Joo Chiat Road, "Betel Box" is the fruition of our experiences of hostelling, backpacking and budget travelling around the globe and meeting like-minded travellers. It embodies that we want in a backpackers' hostel: friendly, respectful, addictive, aesthetically pleasing...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
200 Joo Chiat Road Betel Box Backpackers Hostel, Singapore 427471, Singapore
11.1 km to Changi Airport
101 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
4.9 km from Singapore Flyer
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
127
78
19
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
127
78
19
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roombed dormjoo chiat rdkaraoke barspaya lebarfree breakfastair contoilet showerlaksamixed dormtea and coffeecommon areaspublic transportper daymin walknearest mrt stationhome away from home
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

This hostel is very cheap and the experience for me was what I paid. I originally paid for 5 nights but I obly stayed one. On the first night, I just figured the hostel was like a home and no one had keys to their...More

Thank alexiselby16
Reviewed 24 May 2018

If you work online like I do the setup in the common area is a great place to work from. Good benches and desks and free coffee. Staff was really great and helpful. Beds were comfortable enough, good lockers outside of the room so you...More

Thank Cory S
Response from BetelBoxHostel, Manager at Betel Box HostelResponded 3 June 2018

Hi Cory! Thank you so much for your review. We really look forward to seeing you here again! :) -Tini

Reviewed 9 May 2018

Prior to visiting Singapore I did a comparison of all the hostels, & found that the Betel Box offered more advantages than any other: 1)free breakfast (toast, 6 or 7 spreads including kaya), tea / coffee, fruit, 2) air-con and fans in rooms, 3) very...More

1  Thank Jeanette M
Response from BetelBoxHostel, Manager at Betel Box HostelResponded 3 June 2018

Hi Jeanette! Thank you so much for your amazingly detailed review! We are very happy that your stay here with us has been an excellent one. It was a massive pleasure having you here and we definitely were intrigued by all your quirky adventures around...More

Reviewed 5 May 2018

Tiny showers , air conditioning works terrible, no internet in a dorm , bad breakfast and overpriced. I pay upfront for 8 nights and I have no discount, even tho over the register was a sign ( discount for who pay before 12am for over...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petra C
Response from BetelBoxHostel, Manager at Betel Box HostelResponded 31 May 2018

Hi! We are very sorry that you misunderstood the whole Loyalty Discount concept we have at the hostel. As per our record, you stayed here for a total of 8 nights without any complaints and everything was peachy and dandy until you misunderstood our Loyalty...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Very good and cozy hostel, super nice and personal staff and excellent breakfast with toast and spreads and fresh fruits every day. Really appreciated the small energy saving acts at the hotel! Good common areas to socialize at. Didn’t mind that the wifi only worked...More

Thank Elina S
Response from BetelBoxHostel, Manager at Betel Box HostelResponded 20 April 2018

Hi Elina! Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy to know that you had an excellent time staying with us. Looking forward to having you here again! :) -Tini

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
US$12 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$12 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Joo Chiat
The Joo Chiat area is the traditional home of
Peranakan culture in Singapore, an ethnic group
descending from the blending of Chinese and Malay
families in the 15th century. The neighbourhood is
packed with colourful shops, local characters, and
quiet charm. The main streets overflow with diners
enjoying katong laksa, the signature Peranakan spicy
noodle soup. Signs of youthful entrepreneurship are
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SoundOfPurple
30 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BetelBoxHostel | Property representative |
Hi! Our WIFI connection is focused in the spacious Common Room where everybody gets together to mingle. We prefer to have our dorms WIFI-free so that everybody can get a good rest/sleep at night. If you really need WIFI... More
0
Votes
Jayson N
27 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Patrick A | Reviewed this property |
You can book on hostelworld and pay on arrival. Rates and availability are on the website too
0
Votes
Room Tips
"8 bed dorms are very nice, the female only dorm is next to the best (most spacious) bathroom / toilet."
Read review
"lots of people in shared room"
Read review
"As I note above, not all bathroom have hot water shower or lockable door (only curtain)."
Read review
"Be a good person"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing