We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Save
Share
39 Syed Alwi Road The Vagabond Club, Singapore 207630 Singapore
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
TributePortfolio
US$668
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/08/22
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1058)
360
Panoramas (10)
Videos (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 14/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Updated 14/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#43 of 374 hotels in Singapore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Concierge
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Filipino and 5 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1110Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 806
  • 213
  • 52
  • 19
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hillary A wrote a review 14 Jun
8 contributions
Really loved the uniqueness of this hotel. Whisky bar definitely a highlight and the bartender was absolutely lovely and attentive. Location was decent, it is so easy to get around Singapore I can’t imagine a truly inconvenient location. I was able to run along the canal to parks and a mall with ease. Our room was a little cramped for 2 people for 5 days but we were expecting that. Maintenance issue was quickly rectified. As a long layover or business trip hotel I would highly suggest.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelia Matheson, General Manager at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Hillary, Our sincerest thanks for your kind feedback. We appreciate the positive comments and have passed it onto our team. We hope to host you again! Thank you.
Read more
Limkp wrote a review 14 Jun
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia2 contributions
This is a great marriott property, as only a Silver member, I experienced very warm hospitality from the Front Office staff Jeffrey. He took time to go through the check in procedures and introduce to the hotel and the restaurant. Normally "non elite" members do not get such good service. The hotel is very boutique style, which is unlike a typical hotel, and it is not for everyone. I think it is quite artistic. Jeffrey also shared that under the same company there 2 other marriott hotels that are newly open which are also similar style, will look forward to try it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelia Matheson, General Manager at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 88limkp, Allow us to sincerely thank you for your positive review on our beloved Vagabond hotel. We have shared your kind words with our team, which helps strive the positivity in our training reschemes. We do hope we can host you on another occasion. Once again, thank you, Amelia.
Read more
Davis Vasu wrote a review May 2022
England, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
I have never come across such a beautiful lobby and restaurant cum whiskey lounge. Rooms kept immaculate. Wonderful service at the front office and restaurant staff (Ms.Praba). All the staffs were really really lovely friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelia Matheson, General Manager at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Vasu-Duk, Thank you for your kind words! We have feedback to our team members of the positive comments. We hope we can host you on another occasion! Amelia.
Read more
AidanEmily wrote a review May 2022
Singapore, Singapore366 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
Quick check in at reception. The colours and deco are a treat to your eyes. An excellent place for Whiskey lovers... You can take a look at the display shelves and be wowed by it. Breakfast is decent and in good amount to satisfy your day. The rooms deco is artistic. Neighborhood can be a little noisy at night depending on your room location. Overall a good place to explore and a comfortable boutique hotel for a night stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the room facing the road especially right in front of the nightclub. May be noisy at night...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelia Matheson, General Manager at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear AidanEmily, Thank you for your kinds words! We appreciate hearing the positive feedback on our boutique hotel! We hope we can host you again, Amelia.
Read more
Mctraveller2022 wrote a review May 2022
Unfortunately, the Vagabond was not for me. In fact, I ended up checking out after just one night of a planned 6 night stay. My employer had booked a suite for me, expecting a separate lounge area, where I could conduct meetings. In reality, this room wasn't what we were expecting from a suite. There was just a low coffee tables and two chairs at the foot of the bed. It was not ideal for meetings with colleagues! The other issues I had were: 1. There were no bedside tables. I'm not sure where you are supposed to put a glass of water or your phone. 2. Similiar to the above, the only light switch was by the front door. Usually hotels have light switches by the bed too. In the night, I had to go to the front door, to switch on the bathroom lights. There wasn't a night time setting either, so I had to put the light on fully. 3. My room was in the loft. It couldn't be accessed by the lift. I had to take a staircase to the 3rd floor and then walk up a flight of stairs. I don't mind the exercise, but the staircase looked more like a service staircase than a guest staircase. 4. My loft room only had skylights (no windows to look out), and the blinds did not block out the light properly. I found this very challenging due to my jetlag, as I couldn't keep the room dark once the sun came up. Again, hotels of this calibre (and price bracket), normally provide proper blackout blinds/curtains. I'm sure some people love the quirkiness of the Vagabond, but it wasn't for me. It's possible that the other rooms are nicer than the one I stayed in, but my loft "suite" felt like an afterthought, and it seemd that it had been designed by someone who hadn't actually tried staying in the room. If they had, they would quickly have realised that it needed things like bedside tables, light switches and proper blackout blinds.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelia Matheson, General Manager at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Mctraveler2022, We are saddened to hear you did not like the flavor of our hotel. We do try and stand out from the usual big box white wall hotels and give our guest a totally different and unique experience. We understand and respect those who do not like our vibe. We do hope when you are back in Singapore you visit us again, especially now we have our live jazz again. Thank you, Amelia.
Read more
Kamal C wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada12 contributions11 helpful votes
First time visiting the Vagabond Club and did not know what to expect. Being tired or the big box hotels I wanted something different and I found it. The staff were outstanding and very discreet. Located in the old part of the city surrounded by colonial architecture made for a very happy experience. I met some wonderful people who were guests and the staff made us feel very welcome. I am definitely going back for a longer visit in the future. Granted the rooms were a bit small but that added too the charm of this boutique hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade with a shared terrace
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelia Matheson, General Manager at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Kamalc_12, Thank you for your kind words! We love hearing the positive feedback on our boutique hotel! We hope we can host you again. Amelia.
Read more
Fahd Agha wrote a review May 2022
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia2 contributions3 helpful votes
Rooms are extremely small with shared terrace, though I was upgraded. No pool, no Gym, hotel very quiet you rarely meet a guest. However, lobby area is beautiful and staff friendly. Didn’t like the neighborhood nothing to do!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Amelia Matheson, General Manager at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good day FahdAgha, We appreciate your time to leave us valuable feedback. As we are a boutique hotel located in Little India, we have a lot of markets, food, shopping and sights to see in this area, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the heart of this location. In regards to the gym, we do have a gym across the road from our hotel whom we work with, and is a 24/7 gym access. Our front office team will inform you of our gym access upon check in and assist you with the key at any hour you wish to utilize. Thank you again for your feedback, we do hope we can host you in the future! Amelia.
Read more
MRMARKV wrote a review May 2022
Hong Kong, China378 contributions279 helpful votes
We have been a guest here on multiple occasions before they rebranded from Vagabond Hôtel to Vagabond Club in 2017 and 2018 and stayed here several times in 2019 as well. This being the first trip post pandemic we were looking forward to an memorable stay, especially after a 48-hour trip and that included a 24-hour airport delay (which we had informed the hotel of, on occurrence through text messages in the Bonvoy app, prior to departure from Europe, upon arrival in Singapore and upon arrival in at the property. We are Marriott Bonvoy Platinum for Life Members and were upgraded to the familiar Courtyard room, which remain pretty and well equipped. The feeling remains that this place is now run by an accountant, who more or less scrapped all the pizzazz that made this place so special. What is left is a hotel that still looks boutique luxury yet feels more like a Four-Points than a boutique and better version of The St. Regis it once did. These issues become most apparent with staff, who, while friendly and sweet – either lack appropriate luxury training, leadership and management or act somewhat lost in the amount of paperwork they are required to fill-out. Management was invisible during our whole stay. This already become apparent upon check-in when upon arrival, there is no welcome drink or water and one is informed that the lounge benefits for tonight cannot be experienced anymore due to its closure (a mere 15 minutes ago); Upon breakfast the next morning the hostess then “first needs to check if we are allowed breakfast” (we are of course because of benefits) and then is very concerned about our room-number rather than our wellbeing. I am then informed “poached” eggs are not included the “eggs any style” offering, but we the chef can do sunny side up. This then becomes very awkward when my partner’s avocado does includes poached eggs…. On our second day we ordered the Nasi Lemak, fruit platter, granola and bread basket. The blue rice was cold, the chicken overcooked and it tasted reheated; All (9) slices of fruit on the platter were underripe, and while the granola was good the breads in the basket were not only stale but also the promised preservatives and butter never arrived; Offering an a-la-carte breakfast is absolutely fine in a property of this size, but one expects simply superb quality then; which wasn’t delivered. For the evening lounge and following breakfasts the scenario above is simply repeated. Not one morning we were asked if we slept well, if we had a fun day out and each and every day we needed to mention our room numbers. In a 41-room property where maybe 20% of the guests has executive benefits and also given our frequent past stays one expects a lot more; a welcome card from the Lady Boss?, a call to the room if everything is OK?, some small talk during breakfast or lounge other than taking orders and delivering foods?, travel details? remembering names?, room numbers?, etc. Housekeeping was second-to-none and timely throughout our stay with everything supplied and replenished every night. During one of the nights in the lounge we sat next to a senior management team member who was doing interviews for new staff in the most unprofessional, uneasy and unkind way I have ever witnessed; Not only was he bombarding candidates with useless questions of "where do you work", not getting into any service standards or personality questions. He did not even allow candidates to finish their sentence and explanations. No wonder staff doesn't excel with someone like this at the helm.... At one point he also showed horrendous equality practices by asking a super kind and sweet Transgender candidate if “she was already fully a woman”….. How DARE you? The hotel was always a little gem with top notch service and quality F&B; while the rooms are still good the quality of the service has diminished to nothing beyond mediocrity and the food was quite sad to the levels of unacceptable here. The practices of management when it comes to service standards, interviewing and equality are mind blowing and offensive.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lady Boss, Owner at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 8 May 2022
Dear MRMARKV, Welcome back to Singapore! What a long and tedious journey it has been for so many of us battling through COVID - be it finances, staffing, health or even death....but let me not digress on the need to respond to your review. Firstly, I must acknowledge that we do in fact read people's reviews to get a sense of what is happening on property - as of course one can never be in all places at all times. It is, however, so much better to hear face-to-face or on-property rather than feel one can and should publicly state negative views. I still to this day don't understand this public flogging need that some have. The days of executing people in a public forum should have ended with the Roman era, but social media has emboldened everyone once again. Sad. I do take note on all your comments on the food and service quality. I will say that we have recently had turn-over at the front desk which is why you would have felt what you describe. Training will be focused on thanks to you highlighting the issues. I will say, however, that some of the reviews and comments we read - we do need to put into context the situation as we know it...as we have the finer details. Your status as a life-time platinum member would have been - as you say - acknowledged by your upgrade. The issue which I believe you infer to and caused you unhappiness was the lack of being permitted an early check-in. Early check-ins are not possible (as with any hotel) unless it is paid for. We can and do offer it for a reasonable period before the 3pm check-in where it is possible and reasonable. If a guest asks for a 6am early check in, for instance, it won't and can't be accepted as that requires the guest to have purchased an extra night starting the day before - or pay a half-day rate. I must, now, however, move on to your very unacceptable second to last paragraph where you have listened in on a conversation of a senior manager interviewing a candidate. How DARE YOU conclude and WRITE your inference that the management was in any way NOT in fact conducting the interview in a professional and fair manner?! You appear to have been listening into the whole conversation, but you don't mention that the candidate herself stated her transition and that the conversation was in fact a very open and honest discussion on the pitfalls of being employed in companies not open to such. She applied to us because we are an open and nurturing company. We have previously had on staff people who are transgender...in fact we celebrated it with photoshoots! It is for that reason that we get applicants off all genders. I will say that it is your own prejudices and lack of etiquette that shows in your public comment on a confidential process. How DARE you! Your review in my mind more "mind blowing and offensive" than any I have read. Please do refrain from entering any of our properties as we too have the right to not have guests who don't have a reasonable amount of etiquette. Thank you!
Read more
ok202205 wrote a review May 2022
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Worst hotel management ever. Staff are nice but under staff during long weekend. Top management Amelia is the most unprofessional manager ever experienced. I have experienced room issue/ slow breakfast service/ hot water burn hands… during my stay. Will not recommend anyone to go !!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Lady Boss, Owner at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 6 May 2022
Dear ok202205, hope your trip back home was more pleasurable than your stay with us. Happy to hear though that the water is hot. Regards,
Read more
arrowifs wrote a review May 2022
The so called "SUITE" is tiny you have to carry your language to the 4 floor as the lift only goes to the 3 floor toilet door does not close the shower door has mould at the bottom of the glass door and there is water dripping from the air conditioner. The staff where excellent but value for money is way off the make !!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Lady Boss, Owner at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Responded 6 May 2022
Dear arrowifs, Old shophouses in singapore have this charm...that elevators don't reach the top floors. Mould I must say though is a no-no - even though we are in such a humid country. We will look into that. Regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$330 - US$371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SingaporeSingaporeKallang / Lavender
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mustafa Centre (0.4 km), IB HQ (0.4 km), and Katia Verde Art Gallery (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shivam Restaurant, Spice Brasserie, and The Ramen Stall.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, Korean, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Battlebox (1.8 km), Fort Siloso (7.3 km), and Emerald Hill (3.1 km).
Is The Vagabond Club, Singapore, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.