We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Happy House Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Happy House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Convenient location with good facilities and great breakfast but can be very noisy. The day we arrived (after a very long flight) the staff were having a party in the courtyard/pool area with the music blasting. We had one of the rooms overlooking the courtyard and it was impossible to sleep. The music went on until 2am even after we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katiebastians
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Unfortunately the fact that you were arriving from a very long flight (from New Zealand if I remember well) on the 25th of December has conditioned your comment. It`s true that all the staff was having a Christmas celebration (not a real party) composed by 2 simple things: A dinner and music. You came to reception to complain...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

My only gripe with this hostel would be he very noisy timber floors (as per other reviews) but nothing some ear plugs couldn't fix! The pool was great, reception friendly, the kitchen facilities fabulous and the spacious rooms amazing. Spent a great few nights here and would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley H
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Hayley, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Rockingham, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here for 3 nights in December which included New Year's Eve. The place has a warm and friendly feel with s great courtyard, pool, games tables etc. my room was clean and neat and the shared bathrooms also clean with hot showers. I went on one of the free Santiago walking tours which picked me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shazbot8
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Shazbot8, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Tromso, Norway
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Helpful, friendly staff with great English skills helped smooth the culture shock of my first weekend in South America. Rooms are cosy, no problems with the facilities. Recommend ear plugs for light sleepers - beautiful old buildings do tend to be loud!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jen, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2016

This hostel is located in a beautiful building in a very nice neighborhood. Lots of public places to relax and meet other travelers. Staff was friendly. The hostel was not very clean. One toilet was overflowing due to toilet paper, but when the cleaning lady left, the toilet still looked gross. Other than that the hostel was great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miranda S
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Miranda, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Poland
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Although there was no private rooms upon our arrival we we're offered help with making a booking over the hh computer, and got some informations about the city and tours. Thanks for that, even you made no profit from us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank superneon
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Superneon, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Love the architecture and location, clean place, beds are comfortable, breakfast is basic, and the back patio is lovely. The one turn of is the fact that voices/noise carries as there is no insulation. This lead to sleepless night as people residing there never seem to sleep or stop talking. If you are someone who needs sleep and rest to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SSUSFUW
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear SSUSFUW, Thanks for your feedback and sorry for the noisy situation described. It`s certainly difficult to deal with guests bad behavior sometimes, we always try to avoid situiations like this by applying our internal procedures, however, guests also need to do their part as well. We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

This is a very old hotel with paper thin walls so you can hear everything. Our neighbors were up until 2-4am every night partying and talking loudly outside our door which kept the whole floor awake. We told them to make less noise and they just ignored us... Very irrespectful. Told the reception but they couldn't do anything about it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie75trip
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Marie, We are sorry for the situation described. We believe we did something to avoid the noise you mention caused by other guests, specially when the receptionist went to talk to them more than one time about your complaint, however, we cannot be 100% responsible for someonelse actions. Our breakfast does include fresh fruits and a lot more than...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hostel. It was expensive but worth it. The breakfast was great - especially having eggs prepared especially for you. Lovely pool area and great place to relax and make friends. Can easily walk to the city, markets, bars and shops. Can't wait to come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwilulu007
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Kiwilulu, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

The happy House hostel was a good functional hostel. It had a reasonable free breakfast, some wifi, relatively good helpful staff and nice enough rooms. Downsides were not all the staff spoke much English - such that when we were trying to book another night there the girl just kept asking us if we wanted to go on the pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#91 of 197 in Santiago
583 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 197 in Santiago
257 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 470 in Santiago
773 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 470 in Santiago
902 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 470 in Santiago
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: $28 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Happy House Hostel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Happy House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The dorm room is fine for solo travelers -clean, quiet, safe.”
 of 5 bubbles Antonio8069, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is something for everybody. We liked the colonial style rooms on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles keesv32, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nothing special to say about the room ”
 of 5 bubbles jeanfran_oisp980, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor room 23 is great with private bathroom. nice view from bathroom window, quiet”
 of 5 bubbles XXX2588, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure the window shutters are closed too, it can be pretty draughty in the hostel which is not a good thing in a Chilean winter”
 of 5 bubbles besty8, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5