We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chicago Hostal

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chicago Hostal
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chicago Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 60: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

The only reason this was not excellent was because of the noise from the road during the night, due to the window not being sealed correctly. Otherwise a fabulous place to stay. There was hot water, wifi and the owner is extremely friendly. The breakfast was only $2 and included a bowl of fruit (variety of types), a ecuadorian cheese...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert_killara
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your words and thanks for highlighting your issue as well, we are really sorry about the street noise but this pollution is out of our hands Thanks for recommending our hostel, this helps us a lot.

Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights after arriving in Quito from London, UK. We let them know we were arriving late and they opened up reception again to check us in. The staff spoke good English and were courteous at all times. The breakfast was only $2 dollars and was filling with fresh fruit, toasty, eggs and tea or coffee. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynbraffers
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing words. This kind of comments help us to improve our services and keep open our place to give our best to our guests. Thanks again!!

Turnhout, Belgium
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We arrived at Quito airport at night, more than an hour later than expected. The shuttle service, arranged by Chicago hostel, was luckely still waiting for us. The hostel owner stayed up to book us in and show us arround. He even walked with us to the beautiful rooftop terrace and explained all about the surroundings. The private room we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lobke_and_Inge
Xavi75, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

Thank you very much for visiting our hostel. We really appreciate your kindly words. We hope to see you again around here. See you soon!!

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent a total of 5 nights here and we were happy with this place. The room we got was quite big, very clean (cleaned every day) with a private bathroom which looked very good. The staff was also quite helpful. The only downside was that there was no wifi in the room and the reception closed at 10pm (so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ioana C
Xavi75, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

Thanks for taking a time to write a comment of our hostel. We are happy that you felt comfortable in our place. We will improve the WIFI service ASAP. We hope to see you again....

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at this hostel for one night. We were greeted by a very nice gentleman who stayed up until we arrived (after 1am!) to check us in. The area is very safe and they are very diligent about locking the doors to the buildings. When I made this reservation online, hostelbookers said that breakfast was included, however, when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldCitizen19
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

Thanks for your kindly words!!

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a hostel not 5* hotel. Staff is all familyRoseanna&Javier speak eng. parents dont but all very helpful. Rms clean but small with clean updated bathrms. Need bigger/thicker towels. Price is excellant and includes breakfast. Stayed 1st 2 nights in Ec arriving@ midnight had res. Let me check in, even got me a bottle of water($1) Rm by street...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henry-Oklahoma
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and thanks for highlighting your issue as well, we will improve our services. You mentioned the correct point, we are not a 5 star hotel we are a hostel where with the money that the guests pay, we can keep this place open giving our best job. Saludos!!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed in a double room with bathroom for $24. The room was okay although bed not that comfortable. There were a number of draconian rules that were a bit mean spirited e.g. no drinks bought outside the hostel were allowed to be consumed in the communual area and no use of services such as wi-fi after check-out even if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank msakr
Xavi75, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

I have seen your comment and I don´t know how you can make a good comment if you stayed in our hostel in January of 2011 and you just made this comment in November 2011. I cannot believe how good your memory is. Anyway, I am going to explain my opinion for show some respect to the coming guests. You...

Tena, Ecuador
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I'm going to write the bottom line first: I would never stay here again. The neighborhood: seemed safe and quiet, but I didn't explore it at all except to buy a yogurt at the tienda across the street. Not near tourist stuff, so it seemed. Check in: I walk in the lobby to the welcome poo left on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chelseaprice
Xavi75, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

Dear guest Regarding your comment here I will clarify all your points: Neighborhood, Yes it is quiet and not to tourist place as la Mariscal thast why lot of people like it !! we strongly recomend to search more about the locations of where you think to stay in order to avoid any misunderstanding. "poo left on the floor by...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The hostel is ok (although it's better not to walk around at night). I did not have a good time there - I felt like my money was welcome but not me. They serve breakfast on the terrace for 2$ (1 croissant, scrambled eggs, fruit juice and tea/coffee). WiFi is available but very very slow from the room. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timoguic
chavi7, Manager at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review

I see you have be changing your comment, that’s weird because you had a total different opinion one week ago so this suggests that your comments are not credible Quito is big city is not a small town anymore and become dangerous and is not only San Blas neighborhood is anywhere in the city but even in the area where...

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The owners of this place are VERY helpful and friendly and will give you lots of information. I loved the view from the roof top terrace! Rooms have good rate and have WIFI, only the WIFI connection is terrible in room and terrace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robske

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 km away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 232 in Quito
218 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostal Margarita 2
Hostal Margarita 2
#26 of 232 in Quito
30 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#6 of 232 in Quito
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
1.0 km away
Hostal Rincon Familiar
Hostal Rincon Familiar
#30 of 218 in Quito
131 reviews
0.1 km away
Nature House Quito
Nature House Quito
#152 of 232 in Quito
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chicago Hostel was founded in 2003 in a modern building with modern structures and strong bases. These facilities were created to be a hosting business from the beginning. The rooms and bathrooms were not improvised so that they have adequate ventilation, adequate natural light and the system pressure and water temperature was set to supply a large number of people. Chicago Hostel is a family business with friendly and helpful staff, we are located in the heart of the city, inside a traditional neighborhood Quiteño considered part of the Old Town. It also has a good level of security and there is a police station two blocks away from our hostel. Privileged location, very close to the beating heart of Quito within walking distance to the main tourist attractions. We are located one block away from a main avenue where there is a lot of public transportation which could drive you to the rest of the city as La Mitad del Mundo, Teleférico, Airport, Interprovinciales bus stations, local bus stations, etc. We work hard to provide you a spectacular stay, help you with directions, information about transportation, safety tips and several recommendations that travelers need to have a nice and quiet visit to our city. We offer a place where you can rest and recharge your energy for a new day. We offer you a lot of tourist information, besides we can help you with tours inside and outside the city, we offer you a top terrace which has a wonderful view of the city, its surroundings and the idyllic Pichincha mountain. Hostal Chicago is home for tourists from around the world. Enjoy a friendly, fun and intimate atmosphere. Our facilities include spacious and comfortable rooms, full private bathrooms, showers with hot water 24/7, daily housekeeping service, free WIFI, general security lockers, covered and decorated top terrace, free use of kitchen, a Coffee-Bar with a wide range of drinks accompanied by cable TV , good music, WiFi signal and a pool table. Do not expect a five star service, expect a service where our staff strives to help you to get your way and get there safely. This is a spectacular place to relax and unwind in a great environment where prevails cleaning , companionship , friendship and respect among everyone. Do not hesitate ! Looking forward to your pleasant visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chicago Hostal

Address: Calle Los Rios N11-142 y Calle Briceno | Sector San Blas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Price Range: $17 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chicago Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Hotel Quito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chicago Hostal staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chicago Hostal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the back of the property may be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles rassindaw, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the dorms but they were excellent - the wifi was a bit sporadic but overall they were great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles YasmineSAN, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The rooms on the street side are pretty noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Balage74, 12 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Rooms that face the street may be a bit noisier, but the view is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonm973, 16 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Just remember there isn't an elevator so you may have to walk up three flights of stairs to your room this is Quito at nearly 10,000 feet/3,000 Meters elevation.”
 of 5 bubbles kraor, 6 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay