We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Casa Cuencana

140 reviews
Save
Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez | Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez, Cuenca, Ecuador
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (5)
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good33%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
23 Oct 2017
“Not a bad place to stay”
7 Jun 2017
“Not recommended when arriving at night!”
Free Wifi
Kitchenette
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (140)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for La Casa Cuencana
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
42
23
4
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
42
23
4
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We were assigned a private room on the ground floor with a door and window that open onto the interior courtyard--that is, the dining area, which is also adjacent to the front entrance. The room lacked any benefits of being "private." Staff and guests woke...More

4  Thank Bryan M
Response from Martha T, Gerente at La Casa CuencanaResponded 1 March 2016

Dear Brayan As I just wrote to your girlfriend, We apologize for such an awful experience. Unfortunately, You booked the room via booking.com, which We have been offering our hostel for few months now, at the time You two stayed with us I was not...More

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

For $10 per night in the dormitory, this hostel nearly ticks all the boxes. Keys to the front door so you can come and go as you please, well equipped kitchen, pleasant staff who will help you with planning your stay, museums etc. The only...More

Thank 10_Downing_St
Response from Martha T, Gerente at La Casa CuencanaResponded 20 August 2015

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice comment, we are getting lockers for our dorms, one of them actually has it, all our funiture comes from a pine tree environment friendly plantation located in riobamba, so it takes a while to get more. Nonetheless, because we...More

Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

It was perfectly good given the low price. We arrived very late at night and they were accommodating and helpful, and then kind in storing our bags after we checked out. It was basic - no towels etc - but we had no complaints. The...More

Thank RickLondon90
Response from Martha T, Propietario at La Casa CuencanaResponded 20 August 2015

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice comment, we are glad you enjoyed our lodging. Wish you the best. La Casa Cuencana Family

Reviewed 27 May 2015

We were shown two options in two of their three hostel buildings. We selected a quiet inside room ($13.44/person) on the second floor. Very comfy beds. We cooked in the kitchen and ate on the third floor terrace. Evenings were spent drinking wine and listening...More

2  Thank Wordfarrier
Response from Martha T, Propietario at La Casa CuencanaResponded 20 August 2015

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice review We are sorry about the little mold in the wall, we had restored 2 years ago that building in order to replace the plumbing, so our guest can drink tap water, because of that we had minor leaks,...More

Reviewed 21 April 2015

Great place to advice. Nice location and very good breakfast. The staff, Martita, Miguel and his sister are very welcoming and helpful. Place is clean and the room as spacious. Make sure to have a room in the back and not facing the street.

Thank vincentgosuin
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345616
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Details
Price range
US$14 - US$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$14 - US$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (5)
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Bathroom (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from La Casa Cuencana staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Options for all size groups and some rooms include bathrooms."
Read review
"We used the 'suite familiar' (huge with 3 beds/balcony) plus one smaller room and were very..."
Read review
"Street rooms can be noisy due to bars in the area and street traffic."
Read review
"Read the reviews.....!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite