We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Casa Cuencana

Booking.comUS$10*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$10*
US$10*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
La Casa Cuencana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Casa Cuencana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

It was perfectly good given the low price. We arrived very late at night and they were accommodating and helpful, and then kind in storing our bags after we checked out. It was basic - no towels etc - but we had no complaints. The kitchen area is well stocked with cooking implements and there was a good sized fridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickLondon90
Martha T, Propietario at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice comment, we are glad you enjoyed our lodging. Wish you the best. La Casa Cuencana Family

Cotacachi, Ecuador
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We were shown two options in two of their three hostel buildings. We selected a quiet inside room ($13.44/person) on the second floor. Very comfy beds. We cooked in the kitchen and ate on the third floor terrace. Evenings were spent drinking wine and listening to music on the little terrace- very relaxing place to stay. There was some mold...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wordfarrier
Martha T, Propietario at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice review We are sorry about the little mold in the wall, we had restored 2 years ago that building in order to replace the plumbing, so our guest can drink tap water, because of that we had minor leaks, we are working on that. We will be more than happy if you stay with...

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 21 April 2015

Great place to advice. Nice location and very good breakfast. The staff, Martita, Miguel and his sister are very welcoming and helpful. Place is clean and the room as spacious. Make sure to have a room in the back and not facing the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vincentgosuin
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

Great hostel location within walking distance from all attractions, nice cafes and bars and the market. Martha, Alexia and Andreas were so welcoming and clearly take pride in maintaining their wonderful hostel. We got the three bed attic room which was spacious and bright and, like the rest of the hostel, clean as a whistle. Small number of bathrooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ailbhe H
Loja Province, Ecuador
Reviewed 6 April 2015

They gave us no soap. The next morning, as we were leaving, I mentioned this in a very cordial manner, not complaining, just giving feedback. The daughter replied, in a very snooty manner, that this was our fault, because we should have run the doorbell next door and asked for soap if we wanted it. I said I thought that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sam D
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and the girl who welcomed us was really nice and helpful. The room she put us in was extremely small and there were no windows! The walls were super thin and we didnt get to much sleep during our stay... In the ceiling was a glass stone, which lighted up the room everytime the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smauky
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 23 February 2015

My girlfriend and I came in to Cuenca for two nights and three days on a bus from Guayaquil, Ecuador. We had a little mix up in our reservation with a neighboring hotel. And needed we needed another place to stay. One of the owners, a young man named: Adreas..., I think was his name..., .met me on the sidewalk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny P
Reviewed 7 December 2014 via mobile

We moved here as we had a horrible experience in a hostel. This place was amazing. The beds were so comfortable, the room had everything you need; table, chairs, hangers and wardrobe. The bathroom was new, the shower is the best we've had in South America, good power and constant hot water. The breakfast was prepared as soon as you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sticks2004
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014 via mobile

We moved here after a bad experience in a nearby backpacker hostal and was so glad we switched. We had a lovely double room with excellent furniture and comfy bed. They'd thought of everything with a small desk and a comfy chair to relax in - and hooks for clothes on the wall which we love. The bathroom was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrFinn2000
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Reviewed 14 October 2014

If all that matters to you is having a bed to sleep in at night, then this place would be good, but in my opinion it is really not worth the money. First of all, when we made a reservation for a room with 2 beds and a private bathroom, we had to jump through about 50 hoops to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard D
Martha T, Gerente at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Richard we are a family run hostel pretty proud of our service, we are committed to our guest by offering the best experience possible on a warm family environment, that´s why we are unique and people love the way we manage our 3 buildings. since we are located in the historic district, it was very difficult to build and...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 km away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.5 km away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
425 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#5 of 71 in Cuenca
103 reviews
0.8 km away
El Cafecito Hostel
El Cafecito Hostel
#36 of 71 in Cuenca
87 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
#7 of 71 in Cuenca
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Cssa Cuencana Hostal, the original since 2005, We are a Ecuadorian family-run hostel. We proudly offer accommodation in a warm environment, cozy, comfortable and diverse rooms and common areas. We are located in the heart of historic district(El Centro) the best place to enjoy the local culture, history, nature and the lovely scenario of a city named Cultural Heritage of Humankind. We offer dorms and private rooms in our three buildings among great restaurants and bars, museums and the Tomebamba River and only a few blocks from the main square. Here in a safe neighborhood, you can relax and enjoy the warm hospitality of the Ecuadorian culture. Contact our email to check for availability and room options, room rates and large groups. We welcome to you to your home in Cuenca. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Casa Cuencana

Address: Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez | Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez, Cuenca, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Price Range: $14 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Cuencana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Casa Cuencana staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Casa Cuencana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Options for all size groups and some rooms include bathrooms.”
maryhJ6296LE, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We used the 'suite familiar' (huge with 3 beds/balcony) plus one smaller room and were very comfortable”
jennyg919, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Street rooms can be noisy due to bars in the area and street traffic.”
Wordfarrier, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Read the reviews.....!”
johnnyp742, 22 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The hostal is split into two sections, which are a few doors down from each other on the street. If you book a dorm room or a private room with shared bathroom then you stay in one (which has a kitchen), and if you book a private room with a bathroom you stay i the other (which doesnt have a kitchen, but you can go down the street to use the other one).”
460staceyl, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$10* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$10
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates