We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Mamallena

507 reviews
Save
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“san blas”(56 reviews)
“private room”(46 reviews)
“free pancakes”(21 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Kitchenette
Rooftop Bar
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (507)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Hostal Mamallena
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
202
133
60
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
202
133
60
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan blasprivate roomfree pancakescommon areasair conpancake mixpancake breakfastovernight buswell equipped kitchencentral americagreat vibequiet at nightgreat place to staycinta costeraold cityhosteldorm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
191 - 195 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the hostel for a total of 5 nights over our 2 week stay in Panama. Our private double was perfect for what we needed-and aircon is an added bonus! Staff are always on hand 24/7 which is great and they always have...More

Thank Robyn_Ldn
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We arrived in Panama City right after Carnival and chose the Mamallena Hostal as the first place for us to stay. The staff was really friendly, warm, and very helpful. The hostal itself was very clean. You always saw people around cleaning something. We got...More

Thank Kate C
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked a double room for our family of 4 ahead of time via email but were disappointed to arrive and find it was the only room that didn't have A/C (even though the website lists that all the rooms have AC). Panama is very...More

Thank DillyDesigner
Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostal MamallenaResponded 30 March 2014

I do apologise about you guys not being placed in a room with Ac, unfortunately the only room that could accommodate you doesn't have AC. It is our policy that we obviously tell you that when making the reservation but unfortunately that didn't happen, I...More

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Good location, extremly friendly, helpful staff, good tv room and lots of places to use wifi + free internet of communal computers. Lots of nice places to sit and hang out. Near a very good supermarket and ability to cook for yourself which was nice....More

Thank HMaudP
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I've stayed in many hostels around the world including the Hostal Mamallena in Boquete and unfortunately the Hostal Mamellena in Panama City ranks towards the bottom. Our room was very small - not much bigger than the very worn out mattress that was sitting on...More

Thank Martin W
Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostal MamallenaResponded 30 March 2014

We must be doing pretty bad to be rated near the bottom of most of the world!! I do apologise though, its not our intention to be like that. I am pretty sure we don't have a mattress on the floor though, and if it...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1373839404186
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$12 - US$33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$12 - US$33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hostal Mamallena staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"reserve during hi season"
Read review
"Dorm D1 is nice, don´t take D3"
Read review
"Downstairs dorms have private bathrooms"
Read review
"I stayed in a private room and it was nice."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing